1 of 21 pictures

Google Nexus 4
Google Nexus 4

21 Pictures - Google Nexus 4

  • Google Nexus 4
  • Google Nexus 4
  • Google Nexus 4
  • Google Nexus 4
  • Google Nexus 4
  • Google Nexus 4
  • Google Nexus 4
  • Google Nexus 4
  • Google Nexus 4
  • Google Nexus 4
  • Google Nexus 4
  • Google Nexus 4
  • Google Nexus 4
  • Google Nexus 4
  • Google Nexus 4
  • Google Nexus 4
  • Google Nexus 4
  • Google Nexus 4
  • Google Nexus 4
  • Google Nexus 4
  • Google Nexus 4


November 7, 2012, 4:46 pm

Great to read a review in the review section! ;)

I am having to fight the impulse to buy one of these even though I have just bought a Razr i XT890 a couple of weeks ago. (Which I absolutely love using, v.good camera & fantastic battery life & construction).

The only downside is the lack of MicroSD card which, even I will forgive Google for at this price. I have been banging on for years about how mobile phone hardware is massively over priced, ZTE & now Google are really turning the industry on it's head.

I think Google's aggressive move into hardware will result in a win-win for the consumer, forcing other manufacturers to revise their margins, and maybe app developers will benefit too? If the hardware's cheaper, I am more prepared to pay higher prices for the quality apps that I want to use.

Anyway, I think Google has done everyone (consumers) a favour here.


November 7, 2012, 6:21 pm

@ ElectricSheep "Great to read a review in the review section! ;)" as opposed to a preview in the review section? I agree! It's always confusing to click into a review only to find it's a two page preview instead of a definitive review. :)

This phone at this price is almost enough to tempt me to go for a bigger handset (Can't say I'd really want one more than 4", really), plus an unlimited data plan on a 30 day contract on Three or Giffgaff (with HSPA+ up to 42Mbps)....who needs Apple and EE with their extortionate prices (says an iPhone 4 user disappointed at the boring iPhone 5 and the data caps of EE)?


November 7, 2012, 8:21 pm

What's the sound quality like for music playback through earphones...especially high-end ones like Shure SE535?

iPhone 4 is pretty good, I read that the S3 has a slight hiss....

Would buying a Nexus 4 mean a return to carrying a separate music device (I've got a Cowon S9 which does sound better than the iPhone, but the latter is good enough that I can't justify carrying both)?


November 10, 2012, 5:31 pm

"the 320ppi offering of the new Nexus is topped only by the 326ppi image density of the iPhone 5's Retina display. "

Bested again by the Nokia Lumia 920 at 332ppi, does that not count as a current phone?

Steve 28

November 11, 2012, 7:30 pm

The battery-life issue is a real problem for me. Suppose I'm out all day in London using maps and making a few calls. The battery runs out at 7pm say: what do I do? I can't put in a spare battery because it's not user-replaceable. That's a deal-breaker - shame because otherwise it's a good phone. Why can't they make it 1mm thicker and fit a bigger battery? Sorry Google, I'll stick with my Samsung Galaxy Nexus for a while longer.


November 12, 2012, 5:47 pm

3. Battery - if it doesn't last as long as I would like I will purchase a battery booster, many options available from 2200mAh to 1000mAh

The plus points for me far outweigh any of these with the primary pluses being Pure Google experience and price

Uriah Romero

December 26, 2012, 6:34 pm

I bought a Nexus 4 a few weeks ago and I love it. It was nice that I
didn’t have to sign a two-year contract. One of my favorite things about the
phone is the beautiful screen. For example, I use the DISH Remote Access app on
my phone so that I can stream live TV through the Sling Adapter that I have
connected to my receiver at home. I use the app most when I can’t be at home to
watch my shows, which is often, and the gorgeous display only helps. One of my
DISH coworkers also bought a Nexus 4 and they love theirs just as much as I do.


December 28, 2012, 6:33 pm

"due to the rather plasticy feeling glass backing of the Google Nexus 4"
How does glass feel like plastic? I can't seem to wrap my head around it as I feel the back of this phone feels quite slick and solid, like glass.

"features one of the most visually impressive smartphones screens currently available at a mid-range price point."
Not to be nit-picky but what other mid range phone goes toe to toe with this screen that this is not THE most impressive at this price point?
I've had the phone over a month, must say it was an excellent buy, especially with the whole selling out thing. Best phone I've ever used by far.


January 15, 2013, 1:05 pm

Best phone I've owned!

It looks and feels like a much more expensive phone than the iPhone, the UI is massivley improved, and it's very slick to use. The screen is a bit big for one handed use, but it's actually big enough to do a lot of things I could only do on my tablet before, so it's well worth the sacrifice. It fits very easily into a pocket as it's so slim.

The only two problems are the battery life and the slippery back. The battery will last just about a whole day, but I find myself using it more, particularly leaving the GPS running and switching of Wi-fi more, so it probably would actually beat my old SE Neo V if I was more careful. The glass back looks and feels very classy, but it constantly slides off any suface that isn't completely flat.

A pretty minor irritation for a very good phone. The first time I can convincingly say an Android device is better than an iPhone, and if Google Cards became more comprehensive and a bit slicker, then it would even further ahead.

Tania Jones

January 24, 2013, 11:20 am

purchased this phone direct from Google, waited 7 weeks for delivery and when the phone arrived the wifi would not work! Had a similar problem with the Galaxy S3 which was sold as soon as the fault was repaired (the fault occurred within 3 weeks of purchase and it took 6 weeks to be repaired) Interesting that both have quad-core processors. Never had this problem with any other phone irrespective of OS. The phone is being returned for a refund.


May 29, 2013, 2:33 pm

Google Play sucks on there shipment I order a phone on the 25th pay for 1-2 day shipping $13.99 and the 29th received on e-mail saying they were going to be ship soon. I called the support someone answers the phone out there house, asked me several questions then told me that I should be receiving a tracking number soon.
This is ridiculous not only violate Florida laws for deceptive trading practice but bad customer relation. This whole thing is costing me stress & money since my work depend on a good phone. VERY BAD CUSTOMER SERVICE !!!!


July 8, 2013, 5:07 pm

And the HTC DNA, and J Butterfly.

Jeffrey Michaels

July 17, 2013, 5:41 pm

Do not buy this phone. It has issues getting and maintaining a strong signal with the carrier. Read the Android forums for additional info on this problem that Google has not fixed. I'm on my 2nd phone with the same problem. Google will not refund my purchase after 14 days. It is not worth the risk to purchase this phone.


July 22, 2013, 10:13 am

Have been using Nexus regularly for last 3 months. Pros & cons.

Pros - Battery backup lasts for a day under normal usage with 2G network. WIFI or 3G usage consumes more battery. Processor is fast enough to run my daily apps(nova launcher/weather forecast/browser/outlook client/gmail apps/reminders/alarm/pdf reader) without any lag.

Cons - Ear phone speaker is placed on the top most edge which makes if difficult to hold and talk. If i hold speaker close to ear then mouth stays far away from mic(placed in bottom side) which makes the sound less audible to the receiver. Another major drawback is power button. It is getting worse day-by-day and does not turn off/on easily without a hard press. Camera quality is so bad. Even HD images look so average. I guess these are one-off issue with my mobile. Kindly confirm if anyone else face the same issues.


July 26, 2013, 11:09 am

Hi, I am using Google Nexus 4, recently i am facing a problem 1 out off 2 calls i am able to here the opposite voice, but they are unable to here my voice. hope mic problem, some times if i press load speaker only i am able to here incoming voice calls or else speaker is also not working its only happening some times.


July 26, 2013, 5:53 pm

best phone I've ever had but the slightis drop will crack it and will unable you to use touch screen. I've broken 2 within 3 months one time I feel out of a lawnchair (2 feet from ground) second time I was walking back form the beach and it was in my towel and fell out and drop about 2 1/2 feet.

I'm going to have to go back to the samsung galaxy :(

Kell Spade

August 2, 2013, 5:06 am

Is this phone suppose to heat up? Lol like its hot, hope I don't blow up!


August 20, 2013, 10:44 am

I am really very disappointed with LG Google Nexus 4, as I had the same problem with Kell Spade, then my phone died within less than 3 weeks after purchasing it. Recently when I was using whatsapp, my phone died all the sudden, I thought the phone ran out of battery, but tried to charged it there was no charging sign. Tried to switch on couldn't get it back on this time. This problem has been going on for sometime now. I have to go to LG service center which takes up quiet a lot of time getting stuck in traffic and they have no idea what's the problem. No doubt is still under warranty, but is kind of time consuming going up and down just to fix the phone or get it replace. Plus I don't even install a lot of apps.


August 28, 2013, 9:22 am

Google have reduced both versions of the Nexus 4 by £80. So now £159 for the 8GB and £199 for the 16GB. Unbeatable value.

David Smythe

August 28, 2013, 3:10 pm

I get the logic (kind of) behind Google's choice to slash the price of the Nexus 4, but I don't know whether it will really tempt buyers. The competition is just too tough. Have a look at this comparison with the Galaxy S4. The Nexus has some serious competition. It's going to be interesting to see how it does!


August 29, 2013, 10:41 am

Comparison with the S4? You obviously aren't talking about price as the S4 is wayyyy more expensive. Nexus 4 has to be the best bang for your buck. Like everything else in life, while the S4 is better, you pay a large premium for the few extra benefits it gives.

An SD slot and it'd be hard to most people to justify getting a different phone. I'd still like a radio on a Nexus phone myself.

Abhishek Gupta

August 30, 2013, 12:51 am

Google Play support is very very poor , you may need to wait more than 1 hr and if there is any issue with shipping (damaged or device stolen). you will be in great mess. Think twice before placing order.............

Qiaoling Huang

August 30, 2013, 3:49 pm

It is the worst phone I ever used. it have all kind of problems. It keeps shutting down for overheating or no reason. They sent me a replacement which is another broken phone. Also the google play support sucks!I have never been so pissed off!


September 9, 2013, 1:17 am

I just bought a Nexus4 Friday. It cut out on conversations after 1-2 minutes. Fully charged but just went dead. I hope this is not an omen.


September 9, 2013, 4:57 pm

Errm, only 5 homescreens isn't a con. Just download nova launcher and you can have 9, or 1.

comments powered by Disqus