• Recommended by TR
Google Nexus 10


Our Score


User Score

Review Price £389.00

Google Nexus 10 - Display

One of the Nexus 10’s biggest selling points is that, at 2560 x 1600 pixels, it offers the highest resolution screen of any tablet currently on the market. Expressed in pixels-per-inch terms the Nexus 10 delivers a razor sharp 300dpi – slightly higher than the 264ppi offered by its nearest rival, the 2048 x 1536-pixel iPad 4. While the Nexus 10 wins out on paper, we should point out that in actual use the difference in sharpness and detail between the rival tablets is all but non-existent with both screens scoring an easy 10/10 in this respect.

The Nexus 10's display is so sharp even the text under the app tiles pops out of the screen.

While Apple claims that you’ll be unable to discern individual pixels on the iPad 4’s so-called ‘Retina’ screen, exactly the same thing can be said of the Nexus 10. Text is especially crisp, which makes browsing web pages or reading eBooks and eZines much easier on the eyes – make no mistake, as far as tablets go the Nexus 10 delivers a peerless reading experience. Individual characters and words remain distinct even when you’ve zoomed right out and text size has been minimised. As ever, there are a few caveats though, which is to say the Nexus 10’s gorgeous screen can make apps that haven’t been optimised for HD look pretty rough around the edges. Low-res images on the web also look pretty ropey, as does standard definition TV channels when viewed through apps such as TVCatchup. This is hardly the fault of the Nexus 10 though, and no doubt the situation will improve over time as more HD tablets are sold and more website/app developers cater more specifically for them.

Google Nexus 10

Reading websites or eBooks is easy on the eye, thanks to the crisp text displayed by the Nexus 10.

So then, aside from sharpness and detail, how does the Nexus 10’s display fare in other respects? Well with our Nexus 10 review sample placed side-by-side with a Retina iPad we were able to spot a number of subtle differences between the two displays, most notably in terms of saturation, contrast and colour temperature. We’ll list our observations in more detail in a moment, but for now the bottom line is that the Nexus 10’s screen is probably the best we’ve yet seen in a tablet.

Google Nexus 10

The display offers good levels of colour saturation and contrast, without overdoing things.

After about an hour of comparing web pages, graphics-intensive games and professional-grade photographs from the website we found that we preferred the Nexus 10’s display to that of the iPad 4. Not by much, but just enough to declare it the winner. The main difference between the two displays is that the Nexus 10’s screen offers much more accurate white balance; in other words whites are whiter and colour temperature is more accurate, if a tad on the warm side. The iPad’s screen, for all its undisputed excellence, has a slightly pink hue about it and while you won’t necessarily notice this using the iPad on its own, place it next to a Nexus 10 and you’ll spot it immediately. This pink hue is especially noticeable on plain white web or eBook pages, while black and white photographs also take on a slight magenta cast. The Nexus 10 by comparison is much more faithful, and also reproduces skin tones much more accurately.

Google Nexus 10

HD movie content (left) is sharp with excellent skin tones, but standard def (right) can look a bit iffy.

Google’s device doesn’t quite have it all its own way though. The iPad’s display does offer more colour saturation, and also reproduces greens and blues more accurately – the latter having a fairly big impact on the reproduction of blue skies in photos or movies. The iPad’s screen also offers a shade more contrast than the Nexus 10’s does. That’s not to say that the Nexus 10’s screen is lacking in either colour saturation or contrast – on the contrary, it delivers both in abundance, just not quite to the same degree as the iPad does.

Google Nexus 10

Graphics intensive 3D games like Dead Trigger look fantastic on the Nexus 10.

Of course, at this point you might well be asking why we didn’t prefer the iPad’s screen overall then, and the simple answer to this is that we found the iPad’s slight pink hue to be ever so slightly more distracting overall than the Nexus 10’s slightly more muted colour palette. Like we said, we’re talking really small margins here – both displays are excellent in their own right.

Previous page
Next page


November 5, 2012, 6:23 pm

What's the point of this me-too "preview"?
You've just re-hashed a press release.

"Trusted Reviews" not "Trusted we read the press release too".



November 5, 2012, 7:37 pm

"It won't cause Apple fans to abandon ship. . ."

I think this isn't quite true. I'm sure there are *some* Apple fans that might consider switching considering the higher resolution, lower price, and added flexibility provided by the Nexus 10. However, if you said something like "It won't cause those Apple fans that are heavily invested in the Apple ecosystem to abandon ship", I think that'd be more accurate.

I used to own a first generation iPad. I sold it and switched to the Nexus 7. I'm never going back to an Apple tablet.


November 6, 2012, 4:45 pm

@PheasantPlucker Agreed. The recent gluttony of re-worked press releases aren't exactly bathing this reviews site in glory. How many frivolous Apple 'news' stories recently?! Especially when they have to them stick them in the 'Reviews' section. The 'back-end limitations' line is too long in the tooth now. As is the inability to log in with FF. Grrrrr TR, please sort these niggles out.


November 6, 2012, 9:16 pm

@PheasantPlucker, @ElectricSheep. I may be in the minority with this opinion, but I'll share it anyway - I use sites like TrustedReviews to give me information on tech/gadget news, not just reviews, so I have no problem with previews. Okay, this isn't a review, it's a distillation of the press release with some opinion thrown in - but it does openly state it's a preview, so surely that's okay? IMHO, I still think TR is the best tech/gadget site out there, despite it's foibles.

Martin Daler

November 7, 2012, 3:32 pm

Maybe they should not call it a Preview, when it is, as you say, essentially a re-hashed press release. The 'News' section would be a better home for this kind of stuff - that is where I would expect to find press releases - assuming they are at least newsworthy. Like you, I like to be kept informed, therefore I look for a clear demarkation between value-added editorial and simple news reporting, or even PR/advertorial.

When you are called TrustedReviews it does you no good to dilute your reviews proper with this sort of nonsense.

As to logging in using Firefox, I can log in no problem, but it is very irritating that TR does not allow you to remain logged in beyond the browsing session, or even allow the browser to remember the login details. It's not like they are a bank.


November 7, 2012, 5:58 pm

Any news about a cellular 3G/4G version?
Next year ?


February 6, 2013, 1:07 am

I love how youre giving it a 'con' about connectivity. Are you joking? the iPad can only connect Apple hardware so by comparison this thing is a godsend!

Polly Ripley

February 6, 2013, 3:47 am

I'd guess it's a case of apples and oranges - they're comparing it to other Android devices rather than the iPad in this regard. Although I must say as much as a micro sd slot would have been welcome, the fact that for a small additioal cost you can access media from a USB stick makes this a huge step up from the very limited Nexus 7. So I was pleased to read that.


February 6, 2013, 12:09 pm

You can access media from a usb stick from the Nexus 7 too using an app from the play store.


February 6, 2013, 12:15 pm

sorry its actually the same app Nexus Media Importer - been using it for 6 months - Makes the N7 very un-limited in my view...

Polly Ripley

February 6, 2013, 11:21 pm

It's the first I've heard of it - no reviewer has mentioned it so far. Thanks for the heads up. Being able to access a larger song library from a USB stick is very helpful (although not as convenient as a micro SD slot). That still doesn't address the lack of HDMI output though. Is there any way to connect it to a TV that you know of?

Matt Green

February 7, 2013, 4:02 pm

Yes, it has a micro HDMI port


February 7, 2013, 5:49 pm

She's talking about the Nexus 7 in that instance - which doesn't have HDMI or MHL. That's something Google need to address the next time they refresh the N7. It's the only reason anyone would consider a Kindle over a Google 7 inch tablet.


February 15, 2013, 9:25 am

This just doesn't look like £300-400 worth of product. It looks like a thick lump of inelegant plastic.Whatever others may say, Android really is a miss-mash of competing styles and layouts that don't seem to gel together well.

I'm sure, at a technical level this is the superior device to an iPad, but when you compare the two it's a no brainer. Most people are going to buy the iPad.

Michael Parkes

February 26, 2013, 6:26 pm

My only problem with this unit is it's made by Samsung. Besides myself I know 3 people who have purchased Samsung products only to have them die shorty after warranty deadline. My 30 inch monitor died 3 times, twice under warranty. If they had stuck with Asus it would be a no brainer, for me at least.


March 12, 2013, 5:51 pm

I am one of those that has abandoned the Apple empire for the freedom of the Android world.

Nick Jones

March 16, 2013, 4:08 pm

My Nexus 10 is brilliant & there is no problem with the software after the latest automatic update. I'm an ABA fan, "Anything but Apple"!

id ,

March 22, 2013, 6:30 am

get out of here , you keep complaining . in fact , you're not the one who invented any of these . go get a life !


April 20, 2013, 5:37 am

It's the first I've heard of it - no reviewer has mentioned it so far.
Thanks for the heads up. Being able to access a larger song library from
a USB stick is very helpful (although not as convenient as a micro SD
slot). That still doesn't address the lack of HDMI output though. Is
there any way to connect it to a TV that you know of?


April 21, 2013, 3:29 am

I'm browsing from an iPad 1 that is now constantly crashing and next to useless unless just casually browsing or checking email. It's a perfectly good piece of hardware that's been rendered obsolete so they can make more money. I'm switching to android and not looking back. GFYS apple.


April 22, 2013, 7:29 pm

Here is my review on Nexus 10 by Google.

Poor battery life. Takes day to charge. If you use it and charge at the same time it won't. Or will do, but very, very slow.

Screen / Color.
This high PPI (300) doesn't make any difference you can see.
Totally agree with CNET pro reviewer: Where the iPad beats the Nexus 10 is in black level, contrast, and color accuracy. The Nexus 10's blacks just aren't as deep nor its whites as bright as they should be, and its colors aren't as full.
Colors are poor, not contrast.

No so many apps to install.

You will be surprised but Google will charge 15%

Customer Service.
Awful experience. Tried to reach them for an half an hour, then lost another 30 min in transfers to hear Dean a poor informed, without any customer service skills Google representative. Then I spoke to his manager Matt K. who is more unprofessional than Dean. I guess this is how you get the carrier in Google Customer Service department.
Well this dude even could not tell me where it says in my receipt about 15% restocking fee. Before he said he's "pretty sure". I can say they pretty crooks.

The restocking fee is just another way to rob you on selling bad product to resell this product again!

Google do the good product and change your Customer Service bots to the new ones.

Bottom line: check it first, compare to other devices. Remember you won't be able to return it and get the full refund, if you just opened the box.


June 25, 2013, 9:08 pm

That seems awfully ignorant. You're going to swear off of Samsung (largest tech company in the world, mind you, and for good reason) because they eat different food than you?

There has to be more to the story. My family has owned a tremendous variety of Samsung products over the last 3-5 decades and I can't come up with any issues with any of them, from an early 80's TV that STILL WORKS to my Galaxy S4 to my sister's Refrigerator. The Koreans have learned from the Japanese in recent years and have started pumping out a lot of quality products (and cars).


July 19, 2013, 12:54 am

Nexus 10 has serious battery flaw. When the power is fully used, which can happen extremely fast on the huge screen, we average less than 4 hours, the tablet can crash internally and is unusable until ...... 14 hour charge and google support has instructed me to insert the power cord at the exact moment pressing the power button for 30 seconds. This caused my Nexuxs 10 to reboot, but without battery power it can still not start. Waiting now 14 hours of charging to try again. Meanwhile, Google is allowing me to buy another unit and pay for shipping back their defective device. I am Developer who has purchased 7 google devices, but I am treated like all other customers BADLY. This product is defective. The simple fact that you can not restart from a power cord makes it unusable in emergency situation. Other 10" tablets have the same flaw, but it is no excuse for BAD ENGINEERING - BAD CUSTOMER SERVICE - BAD DEVELOPER SUPPORT. Google does not have a telephone number for Developers and when emailing responds with a message "We are too busy to Answer" Google is become one the most arrogant companies in the computer Industry, after Microsoft, and Apple.

Paul Yew

July 21, 2013, 6:13 pm

The Google Nexus 10 has a micro HDMI port on its right side... you can definitely connect it to a monitor or TV screen.


August 9, 2013, 1:34 pm

Hey, I do have the similar issues and experiences I am little lucky than you victim of one Piece.

comments powered by Disqus