Our Score


Review Price free/subscription

I have very few criticisms of the G-Pen M712, and even those are more like minor nit-picks than serious problems. Compared to the slim and lightweight Wacom pen, the M712's pen is a bit clunky. It contains a AAA-sized battery, and consequently it does feel a bit bulky, especially if you have small hands. Also the pen has no eraser on the back end, and the buttons do feel a bit cheap, but it does come with a couple of spare nibs and a tool for changing them, which is a nice touch.

My other nit-pick is the light that indicates that the device is powered up. It is bright blue (of course; isn't everything?) and flashes on and off in a very distracting manner. It's also completely unnecessary, since the buttons also have indicator lights that come on when the device is operating.I suppose I could just put a bit of black tape over it...


For a remarkably low price the Genius G-Pen M712 offers attractive and efficient design, good build quality, decent performance and a useful range of features. For about 25 percent of the price of a Wacom Intuos3 it offers about 90 percent of the features, and even adds a few unique features of its own, which is pretty spectacular value in my book.

Scores In Detail


Our Score

Previous page

Martin Daler

January 22, 2009, 2:54 am

nice to see a photo of the product in context, thanks. (looks like you hung on to a few of the other bits and pieces you reviewed too...)

hey you there

January 22, 2009, 3:43 am

Could you tell us what the active surface is like? I have a Genius Mouse Pen 8x6 and the drawing surface has no grip or texture whatsoever, it's like drawing with a ballpoint pen on glass.

Cliff Smith

January 22, 2009, 5:48 am

That's a good point, I should have mentioned that in the review. The drawing surface does have a texture; slightly rough but very fine grained. It's definitely a nicer drawing surface than my old Wacom Graphire 3 tablet, which is smooth and shiny like the one you describe.

Will Robinson

January 23, 2009, 3:56 am

Does it work with Vista 64? Can't find anything on the manufacturer's website to clarify this.

Cliff Smith

January 23, 2009, 7:03 pm

The M712 is a certified Vista compatible plug'n'play device, but I'm afraid I wasn't able to test it on Vista 64. I can't think of any reason why it shouldn't work though.


January 27, 2009, 5:48 pm

What's the catch ?

- as you said : the pen uses a battery. Wacom : no battery !

- the tablet supports only a pen, not a mouse. Wacom tablets support also a battery-less mouse, with same positional precision as the pen.

I have been using a Wacom tablet Intuos 2 since several years and I alternate mouse or pen on the tablet, depending on the work. The mouse is better for right-click or leaving the mouse cursor at a fixed position of the screen. The pen is perfect if you have to point-and-click repeatedly.


May 9, 2009, 3:31 pm

Well I don't know who came up first with this concept between and Genius but I might agree that having this is still way advantageous for modern graphic illustrators and artist.

For the comment on battery, well its ok having it the AAA ones at least there'll be no problem with technical-related-problems due to internal batterys over certain time.

As for the less-Wacom feel this tablet has, well thats just a way to practice beginners into properly controlling their pulse and hand pressure (it's part of the training into tablets and such... I guess)

And lastly, its really somewhat 90% on the pen user not the pen itself.

I would recommend this from Beginner to Intermediate level artist seeking cheaper pen tablet alternatives.

S Lewis

July 30, 2010, 8:42 pm

I add my vote to have the blue flashing light zapped! Very annoying and unsettling - it implies there is a problem. Can't be too hard to fix in a driver update.


October 25, 2013, 2:31 am

And the point of using a mouse on a tablet is? More of a pain than anything as it needs to be on the tablet to work, probably the reason why, unless mistaken, they don't bundle wacom tablets with mice anymore.

comments powered by Disqus