Home » Cameras » Camera Accessory » Genius G-Pen M609X pen tablet » Genius G-Pen M609X pen tablet

Genius G-Pen M609X pen tablet - Genius G-Pen M609X pen tablet

By Cliff Smith
Reviewed:

Summary

Our Score

8/10

Review Price free/subscription

Like the M712 the M609X has a resolution of 4000 lines per inch, compared with 5080 lines per inch for the latest Wacom Intuos 4. The pen has 1024 levels of pressure sensitivity, compared with 2048 for the Wacom, and it doesn't have the Wacom pen's angle sensitivity. Nonetheless the pen draws very smoothly, and the pressure sensitivity is good enough to produce realistic airbrush effects, or to mimic the action of a painting or calligraphy brush.

When I reviewed the M712, I noted that the driver supplied on the accompanying CD-ROM was very slow, and that downloading a new driver from the Genius website markedly improved the tablet's performance. It seems that Genius has learned by its mistake, because the driver supplied with the M609X is much improved, and indeed is the same version (v3.42) as is available for download from the website. It's still not quite as slick as the instant response you get with the £400 Wacom Intuos 4, and there is a small but noticeable lag when drawing or painting with fast long strokes, but in most situations, and especially in delicate photo editing, it's barely noticeable, and the tablet performs smoothly and effectively.

There's no question that the Wacom Intuos 4 is a much better pen tablet than the Genius M609X, but then the M609X costs about one fifth of the price of the Wacom, and for the money it performs extremely well. For general photo editing and graphics work, as well as for any handwriting applications, it's fun to use and an absolute bargain.

Verdict

For just £80 the Genius G-Pen M609X pen tablet offers good build quality, stylish appearance, a useful range of features and surprisingly solid performance. It's not as good as the expensive Wacom Intuous 4, but you're not going to find anything to beat it for the price. It's a real bargain and ideal for general graphics work.

----

Scores In Detail

Value
10/10
Build Quality
8/10

Our Score

8/10
Previous page

Chocoa

August 27, 2009, 2:21 am

I have an (early) A4 Wacom. They are well made and it still does what it says on the tin - So no replacement needed here. Cheap sometimes is just that!

needlegun

August 27, 2009, 10:39 am

Note - don't rely on the Genius UK website, it's hopelessly out of date. Click on the countries link on their website and choose Global HQ if you want to see the currently available models.

hankb6d

August 28, 2009, 3:13 am

The deal breaker for this tablet would be the battery pen - 2009 and still the humble magnet is ignored by some.

Sean Groarke

August 28, 2009, 11:12 am

Good review - thanks. In fact so good I decided to pop off and buy one. And failed. A supplier I use lists the M609 (not M609X) Hmmm thinks I, probably the same. Pop off to Genius web-site to check. What a terrible site. Turns out they list M609 and M609X but do not tell you if there is any difference, and if so what it is.





So Genius: your products seem good, and I've got cash on the hip waiting to go. But your ability to sell me something is pathetic. Epic fail.

Geoff Richards

August 28, 2009, 12:11 pm

@Sean - I haven't tracked down the exact difference, other than to uncover that the M609 was announced in May 2008, whereas the M609X reviewed here dates from just last week (August 2009). So the X version is clearly the latest model. Sorry I can't be of more help.

Nick 2

August 28, 2009, 3:04 pm

How does this compare to the M172 ? The prices are very similar.

Kevin Tarrant

September 3, 2009, 2:57 pm

@Sean - You can order the Genius M609X for £83 inc vat from www.lambda-tek.com , or pick one up from any High Street Maplin for £119.99 inc vat.


I hope this helps.

Sean Groarke

September 3, 2009, 4:30 pm

Thanks Kevin. I've just emailed Lambda-Tek to ask if they deliver to mainland Europe. Here's hoping! Looks like Maplin know it's in short supply and are hiking the price appropriately. :-)





I went to the Genius web-site again. Leaving aside the useless technical information, I wanted to find out where I could buy their stuff. Another epic fail.





The Genius marketing folks in Europe should be taken outside and quietly left there. You wonder how some firms stay in business.

Fireshade

September 3, 2009, 6:26 pm

@hank:


The reason why Wacom is the only one without batteries in their stylus is because that technology happens to be patented by them.





Great review, by the way. I have been a long time user of Wacom tablets, pure out of necessity - there simply was no usable competition for professional drawing and painting.


This offer from Genius seems to be a first serious alternative to Wacom for occasional home users. Don't get fooled by the lesser resolution of the Genius: it really is plenty high.

richard keel

December 9, 2009, 7:03 pm

is the M609x compatible with windows 7

Nabajit

October 16, 2013, 12:47 pm

Good Review! I need nibs for the pen of Genius G-Pen M609X. I am based at New Delhi, India. If anyone here has any idea how I can acquire the nibs, kindly mail to movingcanvas@gmail.com. Thanks!

comments powered by Disqus