Home » Cameras » Camera Accessory » Genius G-Pen M609X pen tablet

Genius G-Pen M609X pen tablet review

By
Reviewed:

Summary

Our Score

8/10

Review Price free/subscription

Back in January I reviewed the Genius G-Pen M712 pen tablet, a useful low cost peripheral for graphic artists and digital photographers. Today I'm taking a look at another Genius pen tablet, the G-Pen M609X, a medium-sized 9.5-inch model. The pen tablet market is virtually a monopoly, almost completely dominated by Wacom with its Bamboo, Intuos and Cintiq products. There's no question that Wacom's tablets are exceptionally good, but they are also very expensive, with prices for the new Intuos 4 range starting at £200, and one about the same size as the M609X costing around £400. For those of us on tighter budgets the Genius range provides a viable alternative at a fraction of the price.

The M609X is part of a new range of Genius tablets that have seen a number of improvements over the previous models such as the M712. The overall appearance is much the same, with a glossy black surround, two large rotary zoom/scroll controls at the top with a row of buttons in between, and 26 pen-activated hotkeys around the drawing area. The M609X is a smaller model than the M712, with a widescreen-format drawing area measuring 13.6 x 22.8cm, slightly wider but not as deep as the A5 paper size, although it can switch between 16:9 and 4:3 aspect ratio at the press of a button. It's a nice looking gadget, and the build quality and finish is much better than the budget price would suggest.

Like the M712 the drawing surface has a paper-like matt texture, and is very pleasant to draw on with the hard-tipped pen. One of the changes for the new model is that the surface of the drawing area is actually a flexible plastic sheet which lifts up at the front. It is semi-transparent, so drawings or photos can be slipped underneath it for tracing.

Next page

Chocoa

August 27, 2009, 2:21 am

I have an (early) A4 Wacom. They are well made and it still does what it says on the tin - So no replacement needed here. Cheap sometimes is just that!

needlegun

August 27, 2009, 10:39 am

Note - don't rely on the Genius UK website, it's hopelessly out of date. Click on the countries link on their website and choose Global HQ if you want to see the currently available models.

hankb6d

August 28, 2009, 3:13 am

The deal breaker for this tablet would be the battery pen - 2009 and still the humble magnet is ignored by some.

Sean Groarke

August 28, 2009, 11:12 am

Good review - thanks. In fact so good I decided to pop off and buy one. And failed. A supplier I use lists the M609 (not M609X) Hmmm thinks I, probably the same. Pop off to Genius web-site to check. What a terrible site. Turns out they list M609 and M609X but do not tell you if there is any difference, and if so what it is.





So Genius: your products seem good, and I've got cash on the hip waiting to go. But your ability to sell me something is pathetic. Epic fail.

Geoff Richards

August 28, 2009, 12:11 pm

@Sean - I haven't tracked down the exact difference, other than to uncover that the M609 was announced in May 2008, whereas the M609X reviewed here dates from just last week (August 2009). So the X version is clearly the latest model. Sorry I can't be of more help.

Nick 2

August 28, 2009, 3:04 pm

How does this compare to the M172 ? The prices are very similar.

Kevin Tarrant

September 3, 2009, 2:57 pm

@Sean - You can order the Genius M609X for £83 inc vat from www.lambda-tek.com , or pick one up from any High Street Maplin for £119.99 inc vat.


I hope this helps.

Sean Groarke

September 3, 2009, 4:30 pm

Thanks Kevin. I've just emailed Lambda-Tek to ask if they deliver to mainland Europe. Here's hoping! Looks like Maplin know it's in short supply and are hiking the price appropriately. :-)





I went to the Genius web-site again. Leaving aside the useless technical information, I wanted to find out where I could buy their stuff. Another epic fail.





The Genius marketing folks in Europe should be taken outside and quietly left there. You wonder how some firms stay in business.

Fireshade

September 3, 2009, 6:26 pm

@hank:


The reason why Wacom is the only one without batteries in their stylus is because that technology happens to be patented by them.





Great review, by the way. I have been a long time user of Wacom tablets, pure out of necessity - there simply was no usable competition for professional drawing and painting.


This offer from Genius seems to be a first serious alternative to Wacom for occasional home users. Don't get fooled by the lesser resolution of the Genius: it really is plenty high.

richard keel

December 9, 2009, 7:03 pm

is the M609x compatible with windows 7

Nabajit

October 16, 2013, 12:47 pm

Good Review! I need nibs for the pen of Genius G-Pen M609X. I am based at New Delhi, India. If anyone here has any idea how I can acquire the nibs, kindly mail to movingcanvas@gmail.com. Thanks!

comments powered by Disqus