Garmin Dash Cam 20 specs

By James Morris

Reviewed:

Key Features

  • 2.3-inch display
  • 1080p recording at 9Mbits per second
  • GPS location for position tagging
  • G-sensor for incident detection
  • Still image capture
  • Manufacturer: Garmin
  • Review Price: £199.99
specs
Quick Glance
Weight 121
Lens Features
Optical Zoom 0
Digital Zoom 0
Video Recording
Recording Media SD card
Video Capture Format AVI MPEG-4 AVC H.264
Max Video Res 1,920 x 1,080
General Features
LCD Screen Size 2.3
On-board Storage 0
On-board Microphone Mono
A/V ports
HDMI No
USB 2.0 Yes
Audio / Video Out No
Audio / Video In No
External Microphone No
Physical Specifications
Weight 121
Image Processor
Image Sensor Quantity 1

Prem Desai

May 12, 2014, 8:09 am

Happy with the review but don't understand the comment about requiring an adapter to power another device - listed as one of its minus points.

Are you expecting this device to power another device? Not fair really. Or have I misunderstood something?

Anthony Bond

May 12, 2014, 12:48 pm

I fairly sure it means that it's plugged into the lighter socket so you won't be able to plug a sat bav in as well unless you have an adaptor as most cars only have one socket.

toboev

May 12, 2014, 4:45 pm

I appreciate your point about "not really fair", but the fact remains that this powerlead contention is a (not insurmountable) problem. Compare with the possibility of a combined sat-nav-cum-dashcam device, basically a traditional sat-nav with an orientable camera grafted on the back. That would have the advantage of not clogging up the cigarette lighter with two power leads. "Unfair" advantage? In the end, "un/fair" is not relevant, convenience is what matters.

Dr James Morris

May 12, 2014, 7:23 pm

I meant what Anthony Bond said - it takes up your lighter socket so you can't power a sat-nav at the same time (although you can get two-way adapters for this). The Mio MiVue has the same issue.

DougP

October 7, 2014, 2:44 am

I disagree. Seems unfair to me, unless all of the other standalone dashcams come with a dual cigarette lighter power cord to power/pass-thru.
Otherwise, that would be like marking down a vehicle (hauling) trailer for saying - "doesn't include a popup tent". Yes a popup tent trailer would take up the vehicle hitch, as would the hauling trailer, and can only use one at a time... it would be more convenient to "combine" them.
Of course, in the case of this Garmin, if someone wants to power more than one device from their cigarette lighter then can buy an adapter.
Otherwise, ANY device that uses cigarette lighter needs to be marked down for "taking up" that port.

Mark Scharien

January 8, 2015, 2:47 am

That's like giving any appliance in your house a Con for taking up and electrical outlet.

Rob West

March 8, 2015, 11:59 pm

I am looking at fitting the Garmin 20 into buses which are 24v.
Is there an adaptor available to reduce the power to 12volt

Dominique LaCroix

March 30, 2015, 11:22 am

Did I read this well? It's not Mac compatible? I just bought one for my daughter, but now I wonder if I should keep it for her as she is a Mac user. Can you please provide a little more information for me? Thank you.

Mark Thompson

December 6, 2015, 10:47 am

yes it does work on a mac

Jeff O'Connor

December 8, 2015, 9:31 pm

I think this device is pretty good, even though it's limited in functionality. I guess I'm only expecting a dash cam to do only a few things, and this one does them well. I like it. http://dashcamly.com/the-garmi...

comments powered by Disqus