Our Score


User Score

Review Price £124.99

Here are some general test shots to help evaluate the camera's overall image quality, including dynamic range, colour rendition and the zoom range of the lens. Some pictures may be clicked to download the full size original image.





Scores In Detail

Build Quality
Image Quality

Our Score


User Score

Previous page


June 11, 2010, 1:07 am


I am still using a Fuji F31 FD. I spent months reading about it's low light performance before purchasing. Was great when travelling over the world and taking night shots. How does this one fare compared to the F31FD on that aspect ?

Also I take it most of these cameras don't have any image stabilisation ?


June 11, 2010, 2:51 pm

@cliche: Also I take it most of these cameras don't have any image stabilisation ?

They have, Matt even mentions it on page 2.

I have the F70 EXR, and I'm very impressed with the stabilisation. During holidays I used the F70 at full zoom, hand held, taking pictures of our little lad playing, and they were crystal clear, better than my old camera on a tripod. :)

alen bih

June 11, 2010, 11:22 pm

I also have the F70 EXR, and at first the pictures didn't came out that good, but when I took the time and learned about different settings, the pictures were really awesome.

The only downside is the battery, it runs out fairly quickly, but I ordered 2 more on e-bay and they cost only about 10 dollars, whit shipment and everything.

All in all,great camera.


June 12, 2010, 4:49 am

sorry I meant video image stabilization !


June 12, 2010, 8:27 am

Great review Matt.

I think Fuji really packed too many pixels in that same 1/2" SuperCCD EXR sensor, they should've increased the sensor size to at lease 1/1.7"(That's what Canon use for thier G9 and A650IS cameras).

Without any significant improvements, I dont expect the Fujfilm FinePix F80 EXR will be selling to well.

After all we are smart consumers.


June 24, 2010, 6:46 pm

The review rating for image quality is most definitely incorrect. The Fuji F80 to me, and most other revewers, produce consistently the best images of any camera I have seen. Certainly significantly and noticably better than the TZ10 - not as good as the Ricoh CX3 in normal daylight but easily much better in very bright and dim lighting conditions. Yet the CX3 is in a much higher price bracket. I have easily produced much better photos than review photos. It needs a bit of basic photography knowledge though because there are different options to achieve similar results.


September 20, 2010, 7:22 pm

Hi Fiqqer,I want to add some more to your comments.When F70 was reviewed by cliff he gave 9 rating.when Matt review F80,he gave the image quality only 7.How it can happen F80 is a predecessor of F70 .so It must be better.Again when I read about EXR technology it quite different and unique technology,i am really fascinated about the i can't agree the review rating.

What we can do ,let ask Cliff Smith about the review.Again In market F300 EXR also launched,any body got chance to handle that?I request editor to publish the review of F300 soon.That will be more help full.


November 14, 2012, 4:56 pm

I now own the F80 EXR, along with the F70 EXR which I bought on special offer from the Fuji online shop and can find little difference between them.

Perhaps the rabid pixel-peepers may find a tad more noise and a gnat's less detail in the F80 EXR depending on sample variation but as I only view my pictures on-screen can't detect any difference.

comments powered by Disqus