Home » Home appliances » Fan » Dyson Hot + Cool » Performance, Value and Verdict

Dyson Hot + Cool Review - Performance, Value and Verdict

Luke Johnson

By Luke Johnson


Our Score


User Score

Review Price £349.99

Dyson Hot + Cool Performance

Whilst considerably quieter than you would expect a device kicking out 28 litres of heated or cooled air per second to be, the Dyson Hot + Cool is far from whisper quiet.

Located in a sizeable living room, the multipurpose device managed to warm us to around the 20 degrees mark with little effort, only requiring us to increase the volume on the television two clicks, an increase that saw the hum produced by the Dyson Hot + Cool disappear into almost soothing background noise.

Although with first use there was a slight electrical odour to the air kicked out by the machine, this soon passed and the Dyson Hot + Cool left us with a room filling heater that offers instant effects in an otherwise chilly environment.

Despite being able to heat a room to up to 28 degrees, this process takes a considerable amount of time, pushing the device to its limits. Although offering noticeable increases in temperature from the off, hitting these higher limits felt more of a strain, especially when tested in a somewhat drafty bedroom with extremely high ceilings.

When attempting to catch the machine out, the Dyson Hot + Cool really showed its true potential. Having heated our room to beyond 20 degrees, we quickly shuffled the device’s temperature down into full-on cooling fan mode. Despite this slightly unlikely use, the unit offered instant response, switching its heated airflow to a refreshingly cool output in surprisingly spritely fashion.

Having dramatically improved the cooling elements of the device over the original Dyson Hot, the Dyson Hot + Cool is more than capable of being a sole cooling fan, producing a smooth, even stream of air that, thanks to its brushless motor is clean and refreshing.

Pushing the fan hard, returning home from a sweat-inducing run, the fan elements of the multiuse device produced instant reprieve from the discomfort of carrying excessive warmth.

As well as producing strong results, the Dyson Hot + Cool is brilliantly simplistic to use. Paired with a compact remote control that features a sensible layout, the device’s temperature, intensity and oscillation can also be altered by a selection of controls built into the unit’s base. Adding to this, the oscillation and tilt mechanisms of the Dyson heater turn fan allowed us to be more precise when directing our airflow stream, perfect for when trying to cool down fast (directed tilt) or add some instant heat to a larger space (wide angle oscillation).

Building on strong foundations, Dyson has added a selection of sensible safety features to the Dyson Hot + Cool which help offer piece of mind when leaving the heated unit unattended. As well as having no external heating elements, if knocked over the device turns itself off. Although in practise it took a couple of seconds to recognise the fact that it is no longer upright, the air multiplier was relatively prompt in sensing the potential danger and finding a solution to the issue in shutting down.

Adding to the safety elements, even after almost an hour’s heavy usage, the exterior of the device was not too hot to touch, again perfect for those with young ones who could otherwise be hurt.

Dyson Hot + Cool Value

With a Dyson Hot + Cool price tag seeing wannabe owners tasked with forking out a hefty £349.99, there is no getting away from the fact that this is one extremely expensive luxury fan.

Although in being paired with a two year parts and labour guarantee, the Dyson Hot + Cool helps justify its steep price tag, it is impossible to avoid the fact that this is a premium device designed for those with a premium budget.

That said, once the initial outlay has been made, the Dyson Hot + Cool does much to help save users money, skimping on the energy consumption to offer maximum heating potential for the minimal outlay. Ideal for those who spend a lot of time at home in a single room and are deterred from using central heating to unnecessarily warm the entire building, the unit’s inbuilt intelligent thermostat helps maintain a desired temperature.

Cutting out when a set temperature is achieved evenly throughout the room, the Dyson Hot + Cool uses just 1w of energy whilst on standby mode, further helping to save the pennies, before kicking in to top up the heated airflow if temperatures once again dip.

Dyson Hot + Cool Verdict

Aside from the obvious £349.99 pricing constraints, the Dyson Hot + Cool is a strong performer that handles its dual heating and cooling capabilities with equal, user satisfying aplomb.

Heating our high ceiling, spacious rooms quickly, relatively quietly and with a welcome lack of fuss, the Dyson Hot + Cool is brimmed with performance enhancing safety features and money saving energy efficiency that make it a more viable option than its lofty price tag might first suggest. What’s more, there is not getting away from the fact that it looks fantastic.

Although not an option for everyone, the Dyson Hot + Cool will be a much loved addition to the gadget arsenal of anyone who buys it and, with the ability to satisfy the temperature demands of users all year round, could potentially just about justify its price tag, eventually.

Scores In Detail

Build Quality

Our Score


User Score

Previous page
Video Review


March 8, 2013, 7:38 am

Where exactly does this device dump the heat to when it is, supposedly, cooling the room?

edit - PS, for the sake of clarity, was this supposed to be an impartial review, or one of your "feature" advertorials?


March 8, 2013, 8:11 am

I have no idea what you mean by "feature" advertorials, We never get paid for reviews, news or features. Advertorials (when they existed) were clearly marked as such and sat in a separate area of the site, but we've got rid of these entirely now as we don't think they're relevant to our readers.


March 8, 2013, 10:36 am

"money saving energy efficiency" - please explain: in what way does this improve on the efficiency of a standard fan heater?


March 8, 2013, 10:40 am

... and please do answer toboev's question too: if this device does cool a room then it must dump heat somewhere (as an air-conditioning unit or a fridge does). If it doesn't, and the "cool" feature is just blowing around room-temperature air like a fan does, then is the marketing of this device deceptive?


March 8, 2013, 12:22 pm

To answer your questions, the unit does not work in the same way as an air conditioning unit or fridge. The cooling effect is created in much the same way as a standard fan just to a far greater effect with air flow multiplied 18 times before being kicked out across the room. This generates a cooling sensation rather than reducing the overall temperature of the room. That said, the heating elements pass the air over ceramic heated stones to produce a warming airflow that is distributed evenly throughout the room.

In terms of the energy efficiency, the Dyson Hot + Cool uses a maximum of 2kw of power when being pushed to its upper limits. This is lower than the 2.3kw attributed to many other heaters. When being used as a fan, this consumpution drops to just 40w with standby mode taking just 1w of power.


March 8, 2013, 4:42 pm

This doesn't sounds very convincing. So the "cooling" feature is basically just a fan. What does "air flow multiplied 18 times" actually mean? Compared with what?

Energy efficiency of an electrical heater doesn't really make any sense. For electrical such as a TV/computer/PVR the efficiency goal is to consumed as low power as possible. For such items "inefficiency" means energy dissipated as "heat". For an electrical heater, where the goal is to generate heat, what does efficiency mean?

In the context of a heater, being rated at 2kw rather than 2.3kw or 3kw means "low powered" not "efficient". If a hair dryer is rated at 1kw does this mean it is more efficient than this Dyson?

Regarding energy consumption in "fan mode", 40w is not particularly small compared with a typical fan heater, nor is 1w in standby mode.

All this product is is an exceptionally expensive fan heater. The article should say so. I agree with toboev that the article reads like an advertorial, far too uncritical and far too swayed by Dyson press releases.


March 8, 2013, 5:13 pm

The reviewer used the product for a week. We compared it to conventional fan heaters and found it provided more even heat distribution than conventional heaters. In addition the thermostat means it turns on and off when the required temperature is reached again improving efficiency. Finally many cheap heaters, much like log fires, tend to make whichever part of you is facing them uncomfortably hot while leaving every other part cold. This was not the case with the Dyson which created a much more comfortable environment.

I agree the Dyson is very expensive and it wouldn't be something I'd consider purchasing but it is the Rolls Royce of fan heaters and the reviewer quite rightly points out that eventually you will claw some money back from your electricity bill. If I had a conservatory which needed extra heating in the winter I'd consider this over a conventional heater, especially because of the thermostat and remote features.

The "Cool" element I'm more concerned about. The Dyson does not actually cool, no fan actually cools. It provides a cooling effect but the name suggests it can lower the room temperature like an air-conditioning unit can and this is not the case.


March 8, 2013, 6:41 pm

Um, where to start?

"The latest device to come from the company renowned for producing premium vacuum cleaners...
"...a true collaboration of the company’s hugely popular and brilliantly effective..."
Strap in dear reader, we're in for a mesmerisingly impartial review...

"Crafted from tough, hardwearing Acrylontrode butadiene styrene, a type of thermoplastic used in riot helmets...
(sorry, that one just has to be a cut and paste from Dyson's spiel)

"...reducing heating costs with a reduced 2kw maximum energy consumption..."
You are spinning nonsense into some kind of a virtue - no simple heater,
not even a Dyson, will pump out more in heat than it consumes in
electricty. If it is using less electricity it is because it is
producing less heat.

"skimping on the energy consumption to offer maximum heating potential for the minimal outlay..."

There you go again...

"Having dramatically improved the cooling elements of the device..."
More tosh. What "cooling elements"? Is this some kind of a heat pump?

"...the new, all-purpose machine is more attractive than ever and a device
that would remain a talking point with visitors long after purchase."
Is that the salesperson speaking again?

"...allows users to heat, or indeed cool, a room to their desired
temperature, anywhere on a scale from a chilly one degree Celsius to a
balmy 28."
Un-Huh... and you witnessed this thermodynamic alchemy? The fan cooled your room to 1 deg C? An icy blast streaming from its orifice causing the room temperature to plumet below ambient. No, I thought not. Truth is, only way this fan is going to push out 1 deg C air is if it is pulling in even colder air on the other side. It won't cool squat, it won't shave even a tenth of a degree off the room temperature. On it's 'coldest' setting, it still heats the room, by the amount of its electrical consumption.

Sorry to be so unremittingly critical, but this 'review' deserves to be panned. As to the Dyson fan, I'm sure it is a fine device, but this review damns it with sycophantic praise and misconceptions.


March 8, 2013, 8:03 pm

It more evenly distributes the heat in a room therefore you don't need to have it on as much. Also the thermostat means that it turns off once the required ambient temperature is reached, as opposed to always on or always off.


March 10, 2013, 4:48 pm

Well done, 'Trusted' Reviews. With a single review, you have completely wrecked your credibility. At the very least, can you remove the nonsense about cooling a room to 1 degree celcius?


March 12, 2013, 4:21 pm

"...Whilst considerably quieter than you would expect a device kicking out 28 litres of heated or cooled air per second..."
You still don't really get that the only number of litres per second of "cooled air" the fan will 'kick out' is zero, zip, nada, none, nought. It does not cool the air.

What I don't really get is how you can purport to use and review a device and not notice that isn't doing half of what you claim it is doing.


April 17, 2013, 3:01 pm

I bought new model and I am happy with the speed of warming up the room

The Mighty FV

May 31, 2013, 12:07 pm

This is hilarious, and a common trait on this site, jealous people who come on, don't understand things work, and proceed to slag down and discredit a review.

I urge, make that beg, you to wind your necks in and curb your bitter and jealous comments about things you may not be able to afford or fully understand.


July 17, 2013, 7:51 pm

I notice you don't actually enlighten impoverished and embittered jealous numpties like me with your understanding of how this device cools a room down.

Zak James

July 23, 2013, 11:38 pm

'Cooling affect' it's a con. Your review is nothing more than a sponsored advertisement which your company is obviously pocketing proceeds from Dyson. If you were genuinely in it for the consumer you would have emphasised the mis-representation to the consumer not only from the fans complete inability to cool air but its grossly misrepresenting thermostatic control essentially hinting to the consumer that it is going to cool room temperature to 1 degree. Then to add insult to injury at the end of the review you repproach your original 'advert' essentially saying you think the properties of the product are in no way in correlation with the manufacturors claims. It's nothing short of false advertising and Dyson along with your site should be reported to the Office of Fairtrading for misleading the consumer. Your a joke, there must be to many people out there listening to your tosh!

Art Faucett

July 31, 2013, 11:36 pm

They were probably bribed

Art Faucett

July 31, 2013, 11:36 pm



August 4, 2013, 1:41 am

Moving 27 liters per second will cool you down for sure. Enjoy the blast of air just as you would outdoors on a windy day.
Placing the fan in a cooler air volume 'source' than the room you are in can cool your room more.
Tilting the fan allows air to be circulated from a room's top to bottom or vice-versa.
Pity the site has no temperature vs. time graph showing the cooling/heating effect in real world room - a simple thing to do - as it is the review's subjective and hence attracts critique.


September 5, 2013, 10:25 pm

i bought this as a gift and have been horrified to hear that a 330+$ dyson product is no better than a 40 fan or space heater. don't waste your money. product is falsely advertised. don't take my word for it- look at their owners manual for yourself and realize there is NO cool. there is only fan and heat. for what it's worth the air projection is also inferior. it's so much a thorn in my side that I'm boycotting all dyson products for life. save your money, time, and energy!

Ross Allen

October 5, 2013, 4:24 pm

Living in Dallas Texas I was most interested in the cooling function. After purchasing the device I find it is only a high speed fan for "personal cooling". It is an attractive heating device but somewhat misleading in its description in that it is nothing more than a fan

Simon Harris

October 21, 2013, 2:57 am

Those remarks are subjective, why not add 'IN MY OPINION' and you bought it and then were horrified to hear this opinion? You can't evaluate your own item yourself?

amit kerai

October 29, 2013, 10:07 am

I assume its an opinion when anyone makes a comment (even TR) unless they say otherwise . You should get "Guest" to name the gift recipient so we can get them to prefix their attitudes with "in my opinion" unless they have a degree in reviewology.


November 3, 2013, 12:45 am

Wow! Don't be so negatively critical!
MY OPINION: If you sit in front of a regular fan, it will cool you. If you sit in front of the AMO5, it will cool you, too, just better. When I first considered the purchase, it was obvious to me that this is not an air conditioning unit.
The heater is amazing, much better than any space heater I have ever owned. It heats my living room in no time, then shuts off until it needs to heat again. I live in the mountains of Pennsylvania, so I consider myself somewhat knowledgeable on how to stay warm. It is November 2nd, and I have yet to turn on the whole house heat.
I got mine from HSN, for $300, hoping it would help lower my winter time electric bill of nearly $200. It's still too early to tell, though.
If I could afford it, I'd have one in every room. But it's light enough to move from room to room, even with a bad back.
I love mine :)


November 3, 2013, 7:18 pm

Glad to have read the reviews here. I think I will pass on this "fan". $400 will buy a whole more comfort than this will ever save, especially since the warranty is so limited.

Tracy Carroll-Grygiel

November 3, 2013, 11:13 pm

You're like the comic book man on the Simpsons. Lighten up. It's a heater/fan. Just don't buy it.

comments powered by Disqus