Home » Home appliances » Fan » Dyson Hot + Cool

Dyson Hot + Cool review

Luke Johnson



Our Score


User Score


  • Stunning design
  • Powerful air multiplier technology
  • 1 to 37 degree temperature range


  • Expensive

Review Price £349.99

Key Features: Air multiplier technology; 1 to 37 degree temperature range; Tough ABS construction

Manufacturer: Dyson

Update 30/07/15: Dyson recently released the Dyson AM09, which is an updated version with new features. Should you buy the new one, or is the AM05 still worth considering?

The first big difference is the price. Dyson's 'air multipliers' are already expensive, but the AM05 is £100 cheaper than the £400 AM09. The basic design is similar and they both offer cool and hot air modes, but the AM09 adds some more advanced features.

The main one is called Jet Focus, which allows you to direct the air in a more concentrated direction – i.e. straight at you rather in your general direction. This means it can warm and cool you more quickly, while also ensuring it doesn't disturb anyone around you who doesn't need or want the fan on.

If you just want a general purpose option for around the home, however, the AM05 is still a very good option so don't rule it out.

What is the Dyson AM05 Hot + Cool?

The Dyson Hot Cool has touched down as a heater turn fan tasked with keeping your desired temperature needs abated no matter what the season.

An amalgamation of the company’s past individual fan and heater offerings, the Dyson Hot Cool, also known as the Dyson AM05, is capable of tackling both heating and cooling elements with equal aplomb. The latest device to utilise Dyson’s Air Multiplayer technology, the Dyson Hot Cool works in much the same way as its predecessors, such as the Dyson Air Multiplier AM01, with improved features and added efficiency thrown in for good measure.

Watch the Dyson Hot Cool video review:

The latest device to come from the company renowned for producing premium vacuum cleaners, the Dyson Hot Cool allows users to heat, or indeed cool, a room to their desired temperature, anywhere on a scale from a chilly one degree Celsius to a balmy 28.

Improving safety with low surface temperatures and helping reducing heating costs with a reduced 2kw maximum energy consumption, the Dyson Hot Cool ticks all the boxes for a consumer appeasing all-round heater turn fan. With a lofty £349.99 price tag, however, the multipurpose machine could be a hard sell.

We take a closer look at the Dyson Hot Cool to see if it is simply a jack of all trades, master of none device, or a true collaboration of the company’s hugely popular and brilliantly effective past heating and cooling products.

Dyson Hot Cool

Next review to read: iPad Air

Dyson Hot Cool Design

In classic Dyson fashion, the new Dyson Hot Cool is extremely easy on the eye, playing host to a lusciously curved form factor that, through a range of colour options, will sit comfortably in most home or office decors, from the ultra-modern to more traditional, taking in all stopping points along the way.

Crafted from tough, hardwearing Acrylontrode butadiene styrene, a type of thermoplastic used in riot helmets, the Dyson Hot Cool is a solid piece of kit. Measuring in around knee-height, the air multiplying oval stood up, without a mark, to a selection of our bump, knock and drop tests designed to see how the device would cope with passing pets, children and unavoidable accidents.

With new, stunningly futuristic black on nickel and nickel on nickel colour schemes being added to the iron on blue and white on silver options that were offered with the original Dyson Hot, the new, all-purpose machine is more attractive than ever and a device that would remain a talking point with visitors long after purchase.

Playing host to no visible heating elements, motor or fins, the now familiar hole in the centre of all of Dyson’s air multiplier fans and heaters features one again on the Dyson Hot Cool. Asking to be explored by curious minds, pleasingly, despite the unit’s ability to kick out heated air, it is perfectly safe to stick your hand straight through the middle without concern of being burned, perfect for those with small children in the house.

Weighing in at a comfortable 2.57kg, the Dyson Hot Cool can easily be moved around your room, flat, office or house with a dead spot at the very top of the unit’s arched design remaining cool enough to handle even after lengthy periods of heavy usage.

As an added nod to the company’s design prowess, the Dyson Hot Cool remote features a compact, ergonomic form factor that has been curved to the same angle as the top of the fan. With magnets fitted into the top of the heater unit, the remote can be stored without concern on the fan itself, sitting perfectly as an extension of the main device.

Dyson Hot Cool

Dyson Hot Cool Features

Featuring a brushless motor with 33 per cent more output performance that the original Dyson Hot, the new Dyson Hot Cool is capable of pumping out a staggering 28 litres of unbuffeted air per second.

Channelling this output through 2.5mm apertures set within the loop amplifier, air is then passed across an airfoil-shaped ramp (angled to precisely 5-degress) allowing the unit to offer improved, more efficient output that is not diminished by buffeting, gaps in airflow or fluctuations in temperature.

Although this might not sound like the sexiest of features, when compared with a standard blade fan or bar heater, the instantly noticeable difference is immeasurable. What’s more, it quickly becomes a feature that once experienced will deter you from ever returning to the less technologically advanced options.

Unlike basic electric heaters which simply kick out a patch of warmth directly in front of the machine, which then quickly dissipates before reaching the far corners of the room, the Dyson Hot Cool is capable of evenly heating rooms, covering every nook and cranny with equal warmth. Optimised to achieve this even spread of heat in spaces up to 6m x 6m in size, a good size living room, bedroom or study in real world terms, the Dyson Hot Cool, even turns itself off once it senses rooms are at the optimum temperature.

What surprised us most when setting up this four season friendly heater turn fan, however, was the projection achieved by such a compact device.

With either kicking the fan to the max or setting the heating elements to high, the Dyson Hot Cool was capable of projecting is multiplied air over an almost 10 metre range with ease, when in direct line of sight. Move to the periphery of the unit’s output and the instant effects of less noticeable. However, on heater mode the gradual build-up of temperature quickly becomes clear.

Next page


March 8, 2013, 7:38 am

Where exactly does this device dump the heat to when it is, supposedly, cooling the room?

edit - PS, for the sake of clarity, was this supposed to be an impartial review, or one of your "feature" advertorials?


March 8, 2013, 8:11 am

I have no idea what you mean by "feature" advertorials, We never get paid for reviews, news or features. Advertorials (when they existed) were clearly marked as such and sat in a separate area of the site, but we've got rid of these entirely now as we don't think they're relevant to our readers.


March 8, 2013, 10:36 am

"money saving energy efficiency" - please explain: in what way does this improve on the efficiency of a standard fan heater?


March 8, 2013, 10:40 am

... and please do answer toboev's question too: if this device does cool a room then it must dump heat somewhere (as an air-conditioning unit or a fridge does). If it doesn't, and the "cool" feature is just blowing around room-temperature air like a fan does, then is the marketing of this device deceptive?


March 8, 2013, 12:22 pm

To answer your questions, the unit does not work in the same way as an air conditioning unit or fridge. The cooling effect is created in much the same way as a standard fan just to a far greater effect with air flow multiplied 18 times before being kicked out across the room. This generates a cooling sensation rather than reducing the overall temperature of the room. That said, the heating elements pass the air over ceramic heated stones to produce a warming airflow that is distributed evenly throughout the room.

In terms of the energy efficiency, the Dyson Hot + Cool uses a maximum of 2kw of power when being pushed to its upper limits. This is lower than the 2.3kw attributed to many other heaters. When being used as a fan, this consumpution drops to just 40w with standby mode taking just 1w of power.


March 8, 2013, 4:42 pm

This doesn't sounds very convincing. So the "cooling" feature is basically just a fan. What does "air flow multiplied 18 times" actually mean? Compared with what?

Energy efficiency of an electrical heater doesn't really make any sense. For electrical such as a TV/computer/PVR the efficiency goal is to consumed as low power as possible. For such items "inefficiency" means energy dissipated as "heat". For an electrical heater, where the goal is to generate heat, what does efficiency mean?

In the context of a heater, being rated at 2kw rather than 2.3kw or 3kw means "low powered" not "efficient". If a hair dryer is rated at 1kw does this mean it is more efficient than this Dyson?

Regarding energy consumption in "fan mode", 40w is not particularly small compared with a typical fan heater, nor is 1w in standby mode.

All this product is is an exceptionally expensive fan heater. The article should say so. I agree with toboev that the article reads like an advertorial, far too uncritical and far too swayed by Dyson press releases.


March 8, 2013, 5:13 pm

The reviewer used the product for a week. We compared it to conventional fan heaters and found it provided more even heat distribution than conventional heaters. In addition the thermostat means it turns on and off when the required temperature is reached again improving efficiency. Finally many cheap heaters, much like log fires, tend to make whichever part of you is facing them uncomfortably hot while leaving every other part cold. This was not the case with the Dyson which created a much more comfortable environment.

I agree the Dyson is very expensive and it wouldn't be something I'd consider purchasing but it is the Rolls Royce of fan heaters and the reviewer quite rightly points out that eventually you will claw some money back from your electricity bill. If I had a conservatory which needed extra heating in the winter I'd consider this over a conventional heater, especially because of the thermostat and remote features.

The "Cool" element I'm more concerned about. The Dyson does not actually cool, no fan actually cools. It provides a cooling effect but the name suggests it can lower the room temperature like an air-conditioning unit can and this is not the case.


March 8, 2013, 6:41 pm

Um, where to start?

"The latest device to come from the company renowned for producing premium vacuum cleaners...
"...a true collaboration of the company’s hugely popular and brilliantly effective..."
Strap in dear reader, we're in for a mesmerisingly impartial review...

"Crafted from tough, hardwearing Acrylontrode butadiene styrene, a type of thermoplastic used in riot helmets...
(sorry, that one just has to be a cut and paste from Dyson's spiel)

"...reducing heating costs with a reduced 2kw maximum energy consumption..."
You are spinning nonsense into some kind of a virtue - no simple heater,
not even a Dyson, will pump out more in heat than it consumes in
electricty. If it is using less electricity it is because it is
producing less heat.

"skimping on the energy consumption to offer maximum heating potential for the minimal outlay..."

There you go again...

"Having dramatically improved the cooling elements of the device..."
More tosh. What "cooling elements"? Is this some kind of a heat pump?

"...the new, all-purpose machine is more attractive than ever and a device
that would remain a talking point with visitors long after purchase."
Is that the salesperson speaking again?

"...allows users to heat, or indeed cool, a room to their desired
temperature, anywhere on a scale from a chilly one degree Celsius to a
balmy 28."
Un-Huh... and you witnessed this thermodynamic alchemy? The fan cooled your room to 1 deg C? An icy blast streaming from its orifice causing the room temperature to plumet below ambient. No, I thought not. Truth is, only way this fan is going to push out 1 deg C air is if it is pulling in even colder air on the other side. It won't cool squat, it won't shave even a tenth of a degree off the room temperature. On it's 'coldest' setting, it still heats the room, by the amount of its electrical consumption.

Sorry to be so unremittingly critical, but this 'review' deserves to be panned. As to the Dyson fan, I'm sure it is a fine device, but this review damns it with sycophantic praise and misconceptions.


March 8, 2013, 8:03 pm

It more evenly distributes the heat in a room therefore you don't need to have it on as much. Also the thermostat means that it turns off once the required ambient temperature is reached, as opposed to always on or always off.


March 10, 2013, 4:48 pm

Well done, 'Trusted' Reviews. With a single review, you have completely wrecked your credibility. At the very least, can you remove the nonsense about cooling a room to 1 degree celcius?


March 12, 2013, 4:21 pm

"...Whilst considerably quieter than you would expect a device kicking out 28 litres of heated or cooled air per second..."
You still don't really get that the only number of litres per second of "cooled air" the fan will 'kick out' is zero, zip, nada, none, nought. It does not cool the air.

What I don't really get is how you can purport to use and review a device and not notice that isn't doing half of what you claim it is doing.


April 17, 2013, 3:01 pm

I bought new model and I am happy with the speed of warming up the room

The Mighty FV

May 31, 2013, 12:07 pm

This is hilarious, and a common trait on this site, jealous people who come on, don't understand things work, and proceed to slag down and discredit a review.

I urge, make that beg, you to wind your necks in and curb your bitter and jealous comments about things you may not be able to afford or fully understand.


July 17, 2013, 7:51 pm

I notice you don't actually enlighten impoverished and embittered jealous numpties like me with your understanding of how this device cools a room down.

Zak James

July 23, 2013, 11:38 pm

'Cooling affect' it's a con. Your review is nothing more than a sponsored advertisement which your company is obviously pocketing proceeds from Dyson. If you were genuinely in it for the consumer you would have emphasised the mis-representation to the consumer not only from the fans complete inability to cool air but its grossly misrepresenting thermostatic control essentially hinting to the consumer that it is going to cool room temperature to 1 degree. Then to add insult to injury at the end of the review you repproach your original 'advert' essentially saying you think the properties of the product are in no way in correlation with the manufacturors claims. It's nothing short of false advertising and Dyson along with your site should be reported to the Office of Fairtrading for misleading the consumer. Your a joke, there must be to many people out there listening to your tosh!

Art Faucett

July 31, 2013, 11:36 pm

They were probably bribed

Art Faucett

July 31, 2013, 11:36 pm



August 4, 2013, 1:41 am

Moving 27 liters per second will cool you down for sure. Enjoy the blast of air just as you would outdoors on a windy day.
Placing the fan in a cooler air volume 'source' than the room you are in can cool your room more.
Tilting the fan allows air to be circulated from a room's top to bottom or vice-versa.
Pity the site has no temperature vs. time graph showing the cooling/heating effect in real world room - a simple thing to do - as it is the review's subjective and hence attracts critique.


September 5, 2013, 10:25 pm

i bought this as a gift and have been horrified to hear that a 330+$ dyson product is no better than a 40 fan or space heater. don't waste your money. product is falsely advertised. don't take my word for it- look at their owners manual for yourself and realize there is NO cool. there is only fan and heat. for what it's worth the air projection is also inferior. it's so much a thorn in my side that I'm boycotting all dyson products for life. save your money, time, and energy!

Ross Allen

October 5, 2013, 4:24 pm

Living in Dallas Texas I was most interested in the cooling function. After purchasing the device I find it is only a high speed fan for "personal cooling". It is an attractive heating device but somewhat misleading in its description in that it is nothing more than a fan

Simon Harris

October 21, 2013, 2:57 am

Those remarks are subjective, why not add 'IN MY OPINION' and you bought it and then were horrified to hear this opinion? You can't evaluate your own item yourself?

amit kerai

October 29, 2013, 10:07 am

I assume its an opinion when anyone makes a comment (even TR) unless they say otherwise . You should get "Guest" to name the gift recipient so we can get them to prefix their attitudes with "in my opinion" unless they have a degree in reviewology.


November 3, 2013, 12:45 am

Wow! Don't be so negatively critical!
MY OPINION: If you sit in front of a regular fan, it will cool you. If you sit in front of the AMO5, it will cool you, too, just better. When I first considered the purchase, it was obvious to me that this is not an air conditioning unit.
The heater is amazing, much better than any space heater I have ever owned. It heats my living room in no time, then shuts off until it needs to heat again. I live in the mountains of Pennsylvania, so I consider myself somewhat knowledgeable on how to stay warm. It is November 2nd, and I have yet to turn on the whole house heat.
I got mine from HSN, for $300, hoping it would help lower my winter time electric bill of nearly $200. It's still too early to tell, though.
If I could afford it, I'd have one in every room. But it's light enough to move from room to room, even with a bad back.
I love mine :)


November 3, 2013, 7:18 pm

Glad to have read the reviews here. I think I will pass on this "fan". $400 will buy a whole more comfort than this will ever save, especially since the warranty is so limited.

Tracy Carroll-Grygiel

November 3, 2013, 11:13 pm

You're like the comic book man on the Simpsons. Lighten up. It's a heater/fan. Just don't buy it.

comments powered by Disqus