Home » Computing » Peripheral » DrayTek Vigor 2860n Plus » Setup, Performance & Verdict

DrayTek Vigor 2860n Plus: Setup, Performance & Verdict

Gordon Kelly

By Gordon Kelly


Our Score


Review Price £229.99

DrayTek Vigor 2860n Plus – Setup

With far more going on than your usual router, setup is understandably more involved, but it isn’t well implemented. The smartest option is to run the bundled CD, but it is disappointing that DrayTek doesn’t offer a web-based wizard like most modern consumer focused routers and toggling WPS when it doubles as a WiFi on/off switch is needlessly fiddly.

DrayTek 2860NP ui

We also have some security complaints for such a business orientated router. Most concerning is the default username and password for its settings are admin/admin – the most common default settings in the history of routers. Users are not prompted to change this so for smaller less tech-savvy businesses this poses a significant risk and it is something most consumer orientated routers addressed years ago.

DrayTek won’t win many awards for its user interface either. The interactive diagram of active router ports is helpful, but the left hand column of settings was seemingly ordered by hitting ‘shuffle’ and sections only expand on at a time which makes jumping between them laborious. There are also no integrated user guides which means the complex UI is even more impenetrable and there is no option for remote management, again something already addressed by the consumer sector with Linksys’ Smart WiFi and D-Link’s mydlink.

DrayTek Vigor 2860n Plus – Performance

DrayTek 2860NP 5ghzGiven DrayTek makes a song and dance about its strict adoption of wireless standards and the optimisations its provides, our hopes for genuine breakout 802.11n performance were high. Sadly they were not met.

At our standard test distances of 2m and 10m line of sight and 15m behind two standing walls the 2860NP delivered 802.11n 5GHz speeds of 18.7MBps (149.6Mbit), 18MBps (144Mbps) and 7.27MBps (58.16Mbps).

Peak throughput here is a big disappointment with speeds around 25MBps not unusual from rivals while the BT Home Hub 5 and Linksys EA6900 topped 30MBps and 40MBps respectively. The 2860NP holds up better at range, but still performs well behind the best in the sector with the EA6900 topping 20MBps and the Asus RT-AC68U topping 15MBps.

DrayTek 2860NP 2.4ghzIt was a similar story for 802.11n 2.4GHz where the 2860NP recorded speeds of 7.92MBps (63.36Mbps), 7.61MBps (60.88Mbps) and 4.41MBps (35.28Mbps). Here peak performance is even lower than the competition where speeds in excess of 10MBps are standard. It does put up a reasonable showing at 15m, but here we found speeds inconsistent between file size tests.

A further point of frustration is the 2860NP does not auto detect a clean wireless channel like most modern routers. Consequently, while these speeds are disappointing, they were still only achieved after a lot of manual adjustment.

Finally, USB network performance (something which must be manually enabled in settings) was nothing to write home about, coming in at 3.3MBps (26.4Mbps), though it will be acceptable for standard file access. Still there is another caveat: the 2860NP only supports FAT32 formatted drives up to 1TB, again this is out of date.

DrayTek 2860NP 3

Should I buy the DrayTek Vigor 2860n Plus?

Time was we’d ask: ‘Are you a business?’ If the answer was yes, then we’d suggest you buy a DrayTek router. For some companies this will remain the case. Once setup the 2860NP has more extensive security features than any consumer-orientated router and those with particularly savvy networking teams will be able to offer a level of customisation and specialisation rivals cannot match.

That said the significant rise in the quality of consumer routers and the commonplace adoption of features like WPA2 security, guest modes, VPNs, QoS and Gigabit LAN mean that for most small and medium businesses they no longer need pay vastly more for a DrayTek product. It is worth noting that most of these routers are also much easier to setup and have intuitive settings so casual users may actually get more from them.

A further kicker is wireless performance. We respect DrayTek’s decision to hold off on 802.11ac until ratification, but its 802.11n performance over both bands is substantially behind most consumer-focused rivals and requires manual adjustment. With 802.11c speeds topping 70MBps (580Mbps) a product which cannot top 20MBps (160Mbps) is well off the pace, notably when its business focus means it will share its bandwidth with many more simultaneously connected users.


In many ways the 2860NP maintains the DrayTek standard. Is it very well built, features a vast array of informative activity lights and physical ports and more security options than any consumer router. This tends to be enough for most reviewers to give DrayTek products maximum marks and move on, but the issue is not so simple.

Quite frankly the gap between what DrayTek routers supply and what is now standard on many premium consumer routers has shrunk considerably while most also provide far better 802.11n performance with 802.11ac available at a fraction of the price. We’re also disappointed in the DrayTek setup process which is outdated, needlessly complex and – more surprisingly – insecure in places.

Make no mistake for many businesses with complex security needs DrayTek will remain the only option and its differentiators are worth the extra expense. That said we’d suggest you look carefully at your needs because if you’re not sure you need a DrayTek router, these days we’d suggest you probably don’t need one.

Scores In Detail

Build Quality

Our Score

Previous page

Prem Desai

January 23, 2014, 10:23 pm

Very surprised (and frustrated) by this offering from DrayTek.

They're usually a step behind the competition in terms of new technology, but then again they do implement it correctly and are consistently reliable.

I have owned more than 20 routers in the last 5 years and I know that I will only be buying DrayTek in future (unless their ethos changes).

I don't mind the 'aged' interface - allows me a lot more options than the 'flashy on the surface but nothing underneath' interfaces sported by many recent routers.

Also, this is aimed at a different market than the routers found in Currys / PC World type of establishment.

Not disputing this review - merely expressing my frustration at DrayTek.


January 23, 2014, 11:17 pm

I'm like you Prem Desai, I got fed up of replacing SOHO routers, and would never buy anything else now. Netgear / Belkin etc, can make there fancy speed claims / slap on some fancy GUI, but at the end of the day the internals will overheat & likely in a years time when the warranty has run out.

Saying all this, @Gordon has made some valid points, DrayTek need to get there software R&D working overtime, it's OK having good hardware, but in this day and age software also sells the device.

Also worth noting, Draytech has hardware VPN, IOW: so working from home, or connecting multiple offices is built in. No need to set up tunnelling on all your devices.


January 24, 2014, 9:24 am

Love Drayteks because they always work but the configuration options are antediluvian and responsiveness (e.g. rebooting) can be slow.

A real shame because on the fundamentals they walk all over the better-known brands.

Prem Desai

January 24, 2014, 9:34 am

I'm with you on this. DrayTek routers have some awesome functionality but the interface could be better.

This is a hard thing to do without losing the power and hence my frustration at DrayTek for not rising to the challenge.

Having said that, a score of 6/10 does not reflect the power and reliability of this product.

Anonymous User

January 24, 2014, 10:31 am

I think the reviewer is used to reviewing more consumer level routers which can make everything warm and cosy but would not provide the flexibility that a professional product needs... and if the interface changes, users who have used it for years and know it inside out are upset so evolution on the interface has to be subtle and only where necessary. Of course the setup is complicated if you want to do complicated things; make it all too easy and you kill the flexibility. And WCF does not cost £89!


January 27, 2014, 10:20 am

I would be inclined to agree. Although the review states quite clearly that it's aimed more at the advanced user or small businesses, I would like an alternative score for people who are in the market for this type of router. As a longterm owner of a DrayTek 2820n, I would certainly look at buying another DrayTek should the need arise.

Gordon Kelly

January 27, 2014, 10:34 pm

An interesting discussion. Apologies for the late reply.

I believe I went into some detail explaining the differences in audience and functionality for this router. Making something usable is not to be sneered at as a 'warm and cosy' consumer option. Intuitive, well designed UIs should be in every product aimed at every sector in 2014.

You'll find most people who buy DrayTeks have bought DrayTeks for the last 10 years because "consumer routers are so unreliable and I just want the reliability and consistency of a DrayTek."

This is like choosing a Nokia in 2014 because in 2004 Microsoft Windows Mobile phones were sooooo unreliable. Times have changed and given that I test and live with many consumer routers over the course of a year it is frustrating to see the same outdated arguments made time and time again.

By all means buy a DrayTek if you truly need its advanced functionality - many large corporations do, but do not justify spending 3-4x the price for a router with an outdated UI, insecure setup process and aged wireless performance because "it's more reliable" to justify some antiquated dogma.

FYI the score is for both business and consumer. It is a 6/10 router. Just because it has virtually no competition in the business side does not mean it deserves 9/10 by default. The setup and UI are poor, the wireless technology under performs, the limited USB drive support is poor. 6/10 is purely earned because of its advanced functionality.

PS baffled by the comment above. At no point do I say WCF costs £89, I said: "‘DrayTek GlobalView Web Filtering’ software, which runs from £24 to £85 per annum".

Julian Wilkinson

February 12, 2014, 7:36 am

Hi Gordon -
I deploy Draytek's to all the businesses I support - But I think that the decision to drop the third antenna has affected wireless performance - As I found that the performance from the 2850n gave better throughput.
I have yet to find any other router that gives me tools like the bandwidth tracking and a data flow monitor that are invaluable for doing IT support though, and certainly, I have Draytek 2800's that are still going 6-7 years after being deployed and haven't skipped a beat.


February 15, 2014, 10:41 pm

sincerely, I do not find a modem router better than draytek vigor, I possess the 2820vn the 2850vn and I just ordered the 2860n if you have an alternative modem router ......

Anonymous User

February 17, 2014, 12:21 pm

Well, you appeared to consider the Vigor2860 a "consumer-focused router" - you called it that three times and used the phrase another 5 (though sometimes as distinction, which is fair enough), whereas it's quite obviously not. If you had that so embedded in your mind, no wonder you came to the conclusion you
did. I do use a Vigor 2830 as a consumer at home but I do use it for work related stuff. It's primarily a business/professional router. Most domestic users are happy with a cheap and cheerful ISP supplied device which they never access or use because they're just using it for facebook/iplayer/ebay etc. They're not going to use 80% of what a professional product can provide, and a simple user would find the simple stuff (that said, the WCF is tedious to set up and should be improved).

I simply disagree with you about the UI, or at least the quantum of your objection. It's your opinion but I can't see how it could be dumbed down without losing the flexibility, nor do I see many users on the forums asking for that.

I would suggest that the mass of real-world users' opinion (not
scientifically measured, I accept) is more or just as valid in this respect that a reviewer who quickly dips his toes in for the purposes of a review,

having not used it before. I expect things could be improved ( it's hard to know what you didn't like or didn't find intuitive). Actually, the Vigor2860 UI seems to have changed quite. I don't have that control panel on my Vigor2830, but it still has a familiar style to avoid annoying experienced users (evolution not revolution).

I don't agree with your Microsoft/Nokia analogy; that's not what I was suggesting at all.. More like Windows 8 getting rid of the start button to

make people happier who say that Windows 7 was outdated. We all know and love the Windows start button - it does what it should, why change it (that's as far as the analogy works). Sure, I have a vested interest, I'm not impartial so will defend it, but I'm also trying to be objective because the products certainly aren't perfect and I wish them to be, so constructive criticism with specific explanation is probably the best way to get improvements.

The USB support isn't high; that's true - it's a chipset limitation I believe but it's really only there for convenience, not a serious NAS tool and to be honest things like dropbox have made its usefulness far less these days. It was added years ago when it was more useful. I don't think anyone would miss it (well, someone would and it's not doing any harm!).

Personally, I use a Vigor2830 not a Vigor2860 (I will when I move) so if you consider the wireless performance not as good as you'd expect, that is of concern to me. Mine is fine (on the Vigor2830) so it would be useful if you gave more testing info (client device, chipset, drivers) so that they can respond or fix.

WCF costs between 40 and 45 depending where you get it


Why do you describe the setup as insecure? (It might be in the article but I couldn't find it just now).... why do sites have to spread reviews over so

many pages - is it just to sell more banner ads ?


February 24, 2014, 3:07 pm

The 2860 does support automatic wireless channel selection. It's in the channel list Instead of selecting 1-12, you select 'Automatic' and then it (presumably) just selects whichever has the least traffic or clients or weakest signal etc.


February 24, 2014, 3:13 pm

" most people who buy DrayTeks have bought DrayTeks for the last 10 years because [they] just want the reliability and consistency of a DrayTek." "

This is an incorrect (made up) and misinformed prejudice. Sure reliability and consistency is important, but the product also needs to be usable and perform adequately! To assume that most users only bought a DrayTek product ONLY because it's reliable, ignoring all other usability and performance is just plain silly, and insulting. My wireless is fine too but also not a 2860. Were you using an ipad?


February 25, 2014, 1:00 am

Strange review... its a review of a router, but there are no router throughput benchmarks, no VPN encryption benchmarks, or discussion of features such as SSL VPN. The Draytek is an excellent product. The interface could use some improvements, but that's not why you buy a Draytek. You buy it for the features that make a difference.


July 11, 2015, 1:40 am

Terrible review. Whats hard about setup? if you're a simpleton, click the wizard and fill in username and password?

The GUI interface is fantastic, particularly when you look at it remotely, the dashboard gives you a virtual view of whats plugged in etc. Traffic graphs and bandwidth monitoring give you an instant snapshot of performance.

Features such as smart bandwidth management crap all over competition... and one of the few router you can setup intelligent bandwidth control and VLANing on different SSID. Amazing for limited bandwidth or multi-tenant situations. Set and forget.

Consumer? no.
Prosumer/Light enterprise - absolutely. 8/10. if you were reviewing the non-wireless model 9/10.

the only thing i can agree with, the Draytek wireless is generally poor across all their range. i tend to deploy a non-wireless Draytek and separate wireless access point


September 21, 2015, 6:09 pm

Who gives a fuck what it looks like?

I don't buy a router to put on my mantle piece.

"Still looks never sell a DrayTek router"

Well you laboured on an entire paragraph worrying about it.

Nothing wrong the UI either. Unless of course you can't read or don't like horrible texty things.

Gavin Cole

November 21, 2015, 12:25 pm

Curious, what separate wireless access point do you use?


November 21, 2015, 1:22 pm

depends on the application/range. on serious and large areas i would go Ubiquiti UniFi... home/small business maybe a mid range dlink or even apple airport extreme. im a big fan of cabling as much as possible and wifi is for convenience and mobility only.

Gavin Cole

November 21, 2015, 1:56 pm

Thanks. My thoughts exactly. WiFi is only for mobiles and tablets.

comments powered by Disqus