Denon AH-D2000 Headphones - Denon AH-D2000

By Jonathan Bray


  • Recommended by TR
Denon AH-D2000 Headphones


Our Score


User Score

Review Price free/subscription

Move to something a bit more populist, however, and the Denons really come into their own. A session with Muse's Absolution had me really tapping my feet. The bass these headphones generate is quite something: visceral, thundering and as unmovable as a stubborn elephant, yet it never becomes ill-defined or muddy. Nitin Sawhney's album Beyond Skin is littered with low, gut-wrenching bass that's almost subsonic at time. The AH-D2000s reproduce them in all their gut-wrenching glory.

Another strength of the Denons is that they're also extremely easy to listen to. I do occasionally feel with the Grados that they're almost too detailed - not so here. They're so laid back and smooth I felt I could listen to them for hours on end without wanting to take a break.


The Denon AH-D2000's are clearly highly capable all-round headphones, a fact backed up by their performance with all types of music. Whatever you play through them - be it Metheny, Metallica or Macy Gray - you'll be sure to enjoy it.

Granted, they may not be as pure, as detailed and dynamic, or as airy as my Grados, but I found myself reaching for the Denons more often. They're very comfortable, lovely to listen to and well worth £250 of your hard-earned cash. Buy a pair, match it with a decent headphone amplifier and they'll blow you away.

Scores In Detail

Sound Quality

Our Score


User Score

Previous page

Mikko Lahti

September 21, 2008, 4:44 am

Great review,

But.. "Worryingly, when I cranked the volume up during the louder choral passages, the AH-D2000s started to break up," > doesn't sound like something you should even mention, or do without any mention of proper burn-in, we're talking about true hifi cans here afterall.

Also, I would like to know what kind of setup you used to run these cans, because that really does affect the listening experience, otherwise the review, while good, still sounds a bit one-dimensional (I do know that the basic consumer doesn't need to know such details, but this isn't really the most basic consumer product is it?). cheers


September 21, 2008, 9:56 am

you know, some guy at a train station asked if he could swap these headphones for my grado sr80's a while ago...

i should have said yes

Mikko Lahti

September 21, 2008, 2:19 pm

Whoa 'ilovethemonkeyhead', why would somebody do such a swap? You really should have said yes :P


September 21, 2008, 6:29 pm

I got mine 2 weeks ago and I haven't noticed any break-up when playing them, which means they must be cranked up uncomfortably loud in order to expose this flaw. Only done about 24 hours worth of burn-in but it already sounds amazing. I've been using a pair of Sennheiser HD600 for the past 8 years and these Denons are the closest I have come to matching them. I would say that the HD600 still has the edge, it just sounds a little bit more natural and airy. The Denon's have a VERY smooth sound, and stonking bass. The bass is just a little bit on the excessive side, but it's great for rock music. Recently I've also owned a pair of Audio-Technica ATH-AD900 but the Denon wins easily.

Mikko, I've used the Denons straight out of my Sony mp3 player and they sound great. They're very low impedance so go loud enough easily. For more serious listening I have a Meier portable headphone amp connected to the line-out dock of an iPod (bypassing the iPod's onboard amp). The amp adds body and impact to the sound, and opens up the upper frequencies a little more. These 'phones have been discussed quite extensively on Head-Fi's forums:

By the way, I paid 200 pounds for mine at


September 22, 2008, 2:00 am


nice site - i'm currently eyeing the grado sr325i's - i love my grado sr80's, and do every activity with them. they're suprisingly comfortable, in my opinion, as they just seem to rest on my head (especially if my hair's grown a little), plus i remain sweat free. and the open endedness seems to make them feel lighter, most of the time i can forget they're there and believe i have a stereo system next to me. in fact, if i might find a few flaws, i don'y like the plastic construction, especially when i paid 𧴦 at richer sounds for them (high, but i got to try out a whole range of phones, too), and one cup has always appeared a little louder than the other.


September 22, 2008, 10:32 pm

I used to own a pair of Grado SR225i. The sound was too treble-rich for my taste, it got tiring very quickly. I really hated the construction too, and I found the ear-pads very uncomfortable. I haven't heard any other models of Grado so I don't know if the 225i represents the Grado house sound. I've heard many good things about the 325i, but my experience with the 225i has put me off Grado for good. A friend of mine is now using the 225i and he's very happy with them.


September 23, 2008, 1:56 pm

I've bought one a few days ago (for about 140 pounds) and altough I wouldn't rate the build quality and the cable that good, with a good amp+dac it really does sound wonderful, I just love it. And the review should have mentioned that there is a certain amount of sound leakage from medium volume. Overall (for that price) I think it is mightily good.


September 23, 2008, 8:31 pm

Where did you get one for 140 pounds??? That's a fantastic price!


September 23, 2008, 10:54 pm

yogi-comp (ebay, price includes shipping)


June 23, 2015, 12:05 pm

just dug mine out. man they rock. excellent bass.

comments powered by Disqus