Home / Computing / Laptop / Dell XPS 15 / Pictures

Dell XPS 15 pictures

1 of 10 pictures

Hover to zoom

Dell XPS 15 1
Dell XPS 15

10 Pictures - Dell XPS 15

Enlarge
  • Dell XPS 15
  • Dell XPS 15 1
  • Dell XPS 15
  • Dell XPS 15 1
  • Dell XPS 15 2
  • Dell XPS 15 3
  • Dell XPS 15 4
  • Dell XPS 15 1
  • Dell XPS 15 2
  • Dell XPS 15 3

toffeefoofoo

February 16, 2017, 4:16 pm

'Apple has gone its own way in terms of specifications and price'..

Not sure what you mean by this - the implication is that Apple is in a different (better) league than Dell with these flagship laptops.

The new XPS 15 is far superior to Macbook Pro in terms of specifications: £2099.00 will buy you the top of the line XPS 15 with i7 Kaby lake, 1 TB SSD, 32 GB RAM and 4K touch enabled screen . A maxed out but still inferior specced Macbook Pro based on i7 Skylake, with 1 TB SSD, only 16 GB RAM and questionable touch bar will cost you £3329.00. The graphics cards are comparable - reviews I can find give Dell's GeForce GTX 1050 the nod over Apple's Radeon Pro 460.

So, notwithstanding the OS debate, that 50% price hike for the Macbook Pro gives you inferior specs. And the albeit beautiful unibody aluminium.. but that is it. Durability and longevity opinions for the Dell's carbon fibre and aluminium construction however are extremely positive after 24 months constant use.

Apple has gone its own way in terms of price.. agreed. But it has been completely left behind in terms of specs here.

I thought the Apple fanboys left TrustedReviews years ago?!

Gavin

February 19, 2017, 9:30 am

I was looking to buy either the DELL XPS 13 or DELL XPS 15 to run Hyper-V and spin up a few VM's for study purposes. A quick google search has a few complaints about the 9550 models having un-fixable screen flicker when running Hyper-V

Does anyone have any experience with the new DELL XPS 9560 models and running Hyper-V? are there any issues? or can I safely buy one knowning I can spin up my homelab?

tipoo2

March 5, 2017, 5:25 pm

We're calling 4.4 pound laptops "a little heavy" these days o_O ?
That's as much as my 2015 rMBP 15 weighs, and heck, it's what the pre-retina 13 inchers weighed. Now in a quad core laptop with a 1050. My every day college laptop was 6 pounds and I carried that 20 minute walks between bus stops.

High Velocity

March 6, 2017, 12:30 am

You sir are making an excellent point. I myself as a fan of apple products has chosen the dell because of it's near apple level quality and far superior value. After looking at the options for both the xps and macbook 15, it was a no brainer for me to get the XPS. I feel that the gtx 1050 though is far more powerful than the radeon pro 460. Even the gtx 960m was neck and neck with the radeon.

Alfred Zanini

March 6, 2017, 4:10 pm

I do think that being in another league does not always mean a better league....
Specwise, you cant really compare a dual-core to a quad-core so im guessing that that is what the author meant

Robert Poole

March 10, 2017, 6:34 am

What specific problems have you and your friend encountered?

mateman

March 10, 2017, 9:58 am

I bought the previous version of the Dell XPS 15 9550 when it was first released having read similar reviews about it's amazing specs. I had read user reviews about the version before the 9550 being terrible, but it seemed as though Dell had fixed errors in the updated XPS 15 9550 so I splashed out and bought the top of the range version of it. Unfortunately they had not and a year + on, I am stuck with a laptop that just does not work properly. To be fair Dell did send out a technician to try and fix the laptop but once I got talking to him he simply told me that the laptop was just poorly built and pointed out numerous build faults. When I told Dell this, they cut off all communication and now their customer service is all but unreachable. If you have a look at reviews for the 9550 you might notice that the website reviews are high but user reviews highlight issues and rate the average user rating is very low. I see the same story being repeated here with the 9650, brilliant specs and great initial reviews by websites. It will be interesting to see what the user reviews bring up after some time. I hope Dell has stepped up its game and made a good product for the sake of anyone that might have bought this, but I would not recommend it given my experiences

Tim Hinton

March 19, 2017, 10:12 pm

I've had 2 9350's and got a 9550, its been nothing but problems. They've "repaired" it 10-12 times. Its had 4 screen and its still wrong (flashing, flickering) as well as one lid fell apart, hinges broke, next one broke touch screen, next one the screen fell out. Constant wifi issues, 2 mother boards, 2 chassis's, lots of blue screens...... customer service has been nothing but a nightmare

HawthorneRidge

March 23, 2017, 6:57 pm

I think you should just do all your Hyper-V stuff in the cloud, no?

Gavin

March 23, 2017, 7:32 pm

I don't always have access to the internet, but still need to spin up some VM's to test/troubleshoot problems. So I kinda need a lightweight portable laptop that can meet these requirements, so cloud is not an option unfortunately.

eric

March 24, 2017, 7:36 am

if you run the 4K model at 1080p, how does that affect performance and battery life?

comments powered by Disqus