Read the full Dell Inspiron M101z review

Dell has produced an outstanding portable laptop in the Inspiron M101z. It doesn't quite match Intel-based systems for battery life, but it's not embarrassed by them and the build quality, features and usability of the M101z is a cut above.

More Laptop Videos


August 19, 2010, 7:28 pm

Just looked at the Dell site and it doesn't appear to come with the graphics card on the one you've reviewed. All 3 spec options have the 'AMD Integrated ATI RS880M Graphics'.

Andy Vandervell

August 19, 2010, 7:57 pm

That's a mistake on Dell's part I believe. That's the name of the chipset that has the HD 4225 graphics integrated onto it. It's listed in the Device Manager on the M101z as ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4225.


August 19, 2010, 10:03 pm

I recently purchased a Dell 11z with their infamous single multi-touch "ELAN" touchpad. I think it works brilliantly, but due to negative reaction, it's been removed from future models. What it allows you to do is multi-gestures with up to 3 fingers. For instance a 3 finger swipe takes you "back" in a webpage or explorer windows. Covering the pad with your palm minimises or maximises all windows, whilst 2 finger scroll either min/maximises or scrolls the page.

It's a pity this isn't on their newer laptops, but hopefully they introduce a better version of the pad by the time I upgrade.

Plus, it seems common sense to me, but why don't they put the laptop buttons on TOP of the touchpad? This might actually make the touchpad easier to use, and particularly in games since it's natural for our fingers to click above the touchpad


August 20, 2010, 3:25 am

But what happened to Della? Is the pink one for her?


August 21, 2010, 5:16 pm

No gigabit ethernet ?

Doc. Caliban

October 16, 2010, 4:24 am

Cliche, I agree... not having gigabit ethernet these days is like getting a non FAX-capable modem in 1998.


December 10, 2010, 3:40 am

I really don't understand which plant these laptop designers live on. Why they keep using the glossy screens? If they can't hear the users' complaint, surely they see the reviewers': "Regrettably it does have a glossy, reflective finish...". Will the reviewers have to keep apologising for the designers for otherwise excellent machines?!


December 16, 2010, 3:07 pm

Anyone know if the £50 9 cell battery upgrade is worth it? Battery life is important to me but if it adds too much extra bulk (in terms of size and weight) then I wont bother.

And if anyone does have it how much life does it add? :)


December 28, 2010, 10:23 am

They could easily squeeze a 12" screen or even 13" screen in to the frame. I wish laptop manufacturers would learn to utilise the maximum area available. Also, why don't they offer a Momentus XT upgrade option?

comments powered by Disqus