Dell Inspiron 17R Special Edition pictures

1 of 6 pictures

Dell Inspiron 17R Special Edition
Dell Inspiron 17R Special Edition

6 Pictures - Dell Inspiron 17R Special Edition

  • Dell Inspiron 17R Special Edition
  • Dell Inspiron 17R Special Edition
  • Dell Inspiron 17R Special Edition
  • Dell Inspiron 17R Special Edition
  • Dell Inspiron 17R Special Edition
  • Dell Inspiron 17R Special Edition


June 6, 2012, 1:50 pm

Is the i7 quad core? and running at useful speed? Not the 1.6ghz(!!!!) you see in the ultrabooks.

I have a vostro 1710 and it has a 1920 x 1200 (17 inch) screen with a 2.4ghz dual core cpu and its still a usable desktop replacement. The large screen makes its possible to have multiple apps open and use visual studio on a 'laptop'.

This could be a (near) perfect replacement. Shame the screen's 1920 x 1080 not the more developer friendly rez of 1920 x 1200.


June 6, 2012, 4:13 pm

Is there any chance of a "Previews" section on the site's front page? For those of us who get confused when we click on a link listed under "Reviews" expecting a definitive review and score, only to find a product preview with a 'watch this space for the review' - there seem to be a lot of these lately! :)

Maybe it's because I'm lazy and if I see anything less than an 8/10 at the top I don't see a point in reading further ;) But would seem to make sense to keep reviews and previews separate.


June 7, 2012, 6:06 pm



June 7, 2012, 8:12 pm

Thanks for your feedback @gdawg304.
Yep, quite a lot of previews atm as all the manufacturers have new laptop ranges out but samples haven't been sent yet. Don't worry, we'll be updating with full reviews as soon as we get them.

As to keeping the two (reviews/previews) separate, unfortunately that's not something we can do with the site the way it is at the moment, but it's definitely something we're considering in the future, so please bear with us.

P.S. We would still consider a 7 a good/decent score, so it may well be worth reading the review to see if the reason we're downgrading it affects you :)


July 12, 2012, 11:23 am

has anyone tried diablo3 on this beast?


September 24, 2012, 1:47 am

Hi. I want to ask about screen finish on this laptop. Is it definitely matte or glossy? I phoned Dell UK to buy it and they told me it has glossy screen and that stopped me from buying it. I checked several different websites with reviews and everywhere it says matte screen. Dell USA say it has matte screen if it says Anti Glare and on Polish Dell website it clearly says matte screen. Did you test some special version of this laptop? Please help. Regards


September 27, 2012, 3:40 pm

Hi Lukasz,

Thanks for your comment.
I have contacted Dell about your inquiry, and apparently the model with matt screen which we previewed is not currently available in the UK market in that configuration...

Will let you know more details in the full review coming soon.


January 16, 2013, 1:31 am

No, but I'm sure that it can handle it on medium, if not high settings.

Joel Kobitz

May 31, 2013, 10:57 am

Yes, the i7 in the Special Edition is a physical quad core. I have seen in multiple reviews though that it also has 4 virtual cores which means that windows recognizes it as having 8 cores instead of only 4. It can also turbo boost to a whopping 3.4 GHz, which is more than enough to surpass any desktop built from 2010 or earlier, (Such as my HP 2010 Model which runs with a Pentium processor at 2.4) It is more than enough to sustain web browsing or sustainable gaming.


August 29, 2013, 3:51 am

This laptop doesn't have Gigabit ethernet, the wireless adapter is Wireless G and N 2.4 GHZ only. :(


February 24, 2014, 2:51 am

To be honest, it runs a majority of games that range from 2009 to 2011. After those years it can't run anything else. Tried to run Black Ops 2 early last year (2013) and I could barely play it on High settings. Can't even run Battlefield 3 on this PC.

If you are a true gamer who likes to stay up to date with games that come out the anticipated years, do not choose your Gaming PC to be a Laptop, just make some room to wherever your room is or even have a computer room and fit the Desktop in there. Better to spend over 1500 dollars rather than spend 1000 dollars for something that can't even run 2012 and '11 games.

Sources on this PC include personal usage on behalf of my usage on the PC.

comments powered by Disqus