D-Link DIR-868L Cloud Router pictures

1 of 9 pictures

Hover to zoom

D-Link DIR-868L Cloud Router
D-Link DIR-868L Cloud Router

9 Pictures - D-Link DIR-868L Cloud Router

  • D-Link DIR-868L Cloud Router
  • D-Link DIR-868L Cloud Router
  • D-Link DIR-868L Cloud Router
  • D-Link DIR-868L
  • Mydlink
  • Router UI
  • 802.11ac performance
  • 5GHz 802.11n performance
  • smartbeam

David Horn

July 29, 2013, 12:15 pm

Yeah, the new designs *look* funky, but they also make it absolutely impossible to wall-mount the router or stuff it in a small wiring cabinet. And, to be honest, once there are 8 cables dangling out the back of it, all funkiness is gone anyway.


July 29, 2013, 9:28 pm

Hi, thanks for adding the new transfer rate graphs for all speeds & distances. I'm just wondering if you could explain the halving in speed in the 10M 802.11.ac graph and the general unevenness of the graph (compared to 2M) - is this normal?

Also, thanks for all the router reviews on TR, and I hope they will continue.


July 30, 2013, 9:11 am

This could be a great companion to the Sky router (which I have....sigh).

If it supports that special linux OS (can't remember the name of it for the life of me right now) it could also completely replace your sky router. Which would be nice if you have fibre and already have the Sky router and OpenReach modem.

Gordon Kelly

July 30, 2013, 1:22 pm

It's a fair point. I do say it stops wall mounting, but if it is placed in the centre of your home the practicality of the cylindrical design is probably worth it.

Gordon Kelly

July 30, 2013, 1:25 pm

Pleasure - we feel routers don't tend to get the attention they deserve given the vital role they play for all our tech gadgets so we're looking to methodically test all the major new routers and those from major ISPs.

We run multiple tests at every distance so we try to grab shots which are representative in terms of the average speeds we have been getting. Typically as distance increases performance will fluctuate more, but as ac transfers files so quickly even a dip for a few seconds can look huge on the graph. Performance is solid at all distances and we will be sure to comment on erratic graphs if it is a factor - as we did with the Sky Hub.

Gordon Kelly

July 30, 2013, 1:27 pm

There's no built in modem to most third party ac wireless routers (including this one) so you'd need the Hub but yes it should solve your range troubles (though obviously your actual broadband speed is a separate thing). Given WiFi is a standard all routers should work with any platform.


July 30, 2013, 1:32 pm

That's a fair one Gordon - I forgot it doesn't have a modem.

I've found that the cabled speed for my broadband is absolutely fine - I've got 40mb so it doesn't max the 100mbs ethernet. The lack of gigabit ethernet really annoys me due backing up to my NAS.

Gordon Kelly

July 30, 2013, 4:56 pm

The lack of Gigabit was a real penny pinching decision. I'd personally be upgrading for that alone. There's a review of Asus ac router (RT-AC66U) going up in the next 24/48 hours and it is right up there with the D-Link and Linksys so wait for that then make a decision from those three (we have other reviews coming, but they are the stand out trio).


July 31, 2013, 9:11 am

I see what you did there ;-)

I think I'd go for d-link as I trust them, my NAS is d-link too and I've got the myCloud thing setup reasonably well. It is a handsome looking thing as well, it'll sit on my desk (the Blue Lounge Studio Desk) so something small and cool like the d-link is a bonus.


August 4, 2013, 8:58 am

Gordon Kelly - for the sake of completeness, when I mentioned earlier about putting a custom Linux OS on the router, I was thinking off DD-WRT. Couldn't remember the name for the life of me (obviously this is moot because this router doesn't actually have a modem).

Seeing as the Sky router is a bit pants, it would be cool if TR did a review of modem routers that could be a viable alternative to the Sky one - as long as you don't tell people how to work around Sky's "you must use our router" policy then I'd imagine you would be in the clear?

James Steer

August 4, 2013, 9:54 am

Could you please soak test the wireless routers you review, as I often find they perform well over short periods of time, but overheat and slow down or even crash after 4-5 hours of sustained streaming to multiple devices.


October 28, 2013, 8:23 am

I bought a DSL-2890AL which I believe is just an DIR-868L with a built-in modem. According DLink this model will be released soon in the Europe. Btw I'm in Australia


August 20, 2014, 6:24 pm

I have had nothing but issues with the DIR-868L which I bought about 4 months ago as it has AC-Wireless speed. There is NOT a better wireless coverage, I used to have 3 year old DLINK DIR-825, same dropouts as with 868L as with DIR-825, no extended wireleass coverage . Now having issues with Firmware, where 1.07 revision was giving out multiple IP address to the same "wireless DHCP" client, and then all of sudden as I've configured to give only 50 DHCP IP address on the router (for security reasons), the IP address are given out to the same devise 10+ times as thus no Valid client/device can attach, here is an example
(unknown) Minutes
So upgraded to 1.08 as per the release notes states

DIR-868L Revision A Release Notes
Firmware 1.08B07
Date: 07/30/2014
Release Notes:
-Fix CE adaptively issue with updating Broadcom Patch
-Fix WAN DHCP Renewal bug

Still not fixed, called up DLINK support and got escalated to Level 3- still no resolution, DLINK support actually suggested downgrade to 1.07, clearly a Language Barrier as the calls get routed to Manila or Philippines, they state in Southern California, asked about the weather its nice did not mention it actually rained the much needed rain ..

Please consider another product, and not of DLINK, even when on Support or when you are trying to set it up it will time out after like 60 seconds and there is no way to change the time out - during setup I was typing in "mac" reservations and it would time out - very OLD configuration interface with little updates - the MAC reservations would be great to get around this issue, but the table is only able to hold like 30 entries - that has not been updated in the last 5 years, same table as in DIR-825 or even the older DIR-655
Buy a different Vendors product as with this you will have issues and no one on DLINK side understands Networking and or DHCP - and Firmware 1.08 was to fix this issue .. clearly very complicated for DLINK (again firmware 1.07 has the same issue, don't know if downgrading to 1.06 will help or introduce more issues ... )

(unknown) 00:00:00:00:00:00 16 Minutes
(unknown) 00:00:00:00:00:00 16 Minutes
(unknown) 00:00:00:00:00:00 17 Minutes
(unknown) 00:00:00:00:00:00 19 Minutes
(unknown) 00:00:00:00:00:00 17 Minutes
(unknown) 00:00:00:00:00:00 19 Minutes
(unknown) 00:00:00:00:00:00 55 Minutes
(unknown) 00:00:00:00:00:00 17 Minutes
(unknown) 00:00:00:00:00:00 17 Minutes
(unknown) 00:00:00:00:00:00 16 Minutes
(unknown) 00:00:00:00:00:00 16 Minutes
(unknown) 00:00:00:00:00:00 16 Minutes

comments powered by Disqus