Our Score


Review Price free/subscription

More control is provided for the remaining two members of PowerTools. Video Crop is essentially a motion control applet. You can crop and rotate video, and every change can be keyframed. So you can follow the action within a frame or pan and scan a photo. Annoyingly, however, like Video Rotate it can only be used on the primary timeline track. Video Speed lets you change playback rate, and has the option to resample audio so that pitch is maintained as the clip plays faster or slower, although only up to certain levels. The speed algorithm also interpolates frames to smooth the jerks out of slow motion.

The Video Crop effect within the PowerTools allows fully keyframed panning and scanning of video and photos

Particle Room is the other big effects addition. This goes much further than the particle filters included with previous versions of PowerDirector, which remain if you just want canned effects. If you need more customisation, however, Particle Room provides it in spades. This creates an animation you can add to a picture-in-picture track as a separate clip. Control parameters include the direction, emitter width and method, and style of the particles, although these are all global and cannot change during the animation. So if you want your emitter to move across the frame, you will need to apply further effects to the animation you have created.

The Particle Room lets you create particle animations to play over your video, which are user configurable but not keyframable

One area of PowerDirector which hasn't received quite so much attention as others is the output stage. However, the software was already pretty well endowed in this respect. Internet upload options now include Facebook as well as YouTube, with 720p high definition templates provided for both. The DVD authoring interface now includes a structure view, which illustrates the interactive flow of your disc menus. Most other areas remain the same as before, apart from the graphics card encoding acceleration we have already mentioned.


With every version, CyberLink PowerDirector creeps inexorably closer to the competition. Version 8 is now mature enough to be a serious alternative to Adobe Premiere Elements 7, Corel VideoStudio Pro X2 or Pinnacle Studio 12. In testing with a late beta release, we found the software very stable, too. So whilst it still lacks some of the special features we mentioned in our verdict for version 7, PowerDirector 8 is very much worth considering. However, note that there are two editions, with Ultra being the only one able to handle AVCHD and burn Blu-ray discs. This is similarly priced to the most fully featured versions of the competition, so may not be enough to lure users of other apps away from their current software.

Scores In Detail


Our Score

Previous page
Video Review

Latest Deals From Ebay

  1. CyberLink Powerdirector 8 Ultra - Disc only!

    0 bids View Item


August 15, 2009, 12:05 am

ive just tried this and I cant trim videos ive taken with my samsung NV8. The output has sound but the video is utterly screwed up. Any idea what im doing wrong? Kinda useless to me if I cant edit videos I take. Probably my fault though


August 30, 2009, 12:15 am

Excellent review format and detail in information. I'm evaluating several video editing software options and this review is the closest to the actual experience of trying out the trial version (which I am doing currently). The primary advantage of PD8 is it's ability to write high quality AVCHD DVD disc which Adobe still cannot do.


September 15, 2009, 5:57 am

Good visual method of assembling video, image, and audio into a finished project. BUT, the product crashes frequently even on the fastest PC running only 1 application, PowerDirector. The menuing system is very poor and a let down after the very good editing options offered for the project overall.

Howard Martin

October 6, 2009, 10:27 pm

On the face of it, this is an excellent program but in reality it has numerous bugs and problems. It crashes regularly and things don't work as they say they should.

What is worse, tech support seems to ignore you if their first suggestions don't fix the problem - and their suggestions seem much the same for all problems.

When it works it does an excellent job but be prepared for much heartache on the way.....

Robert H

October 30, 2009, 7:49 pm

First try it worked for 20 mins then I got the Blue Screen of Death. Uninstalled, contacted tech support who told me to edit registry and run MS clean up tool. Second try no blue screen of death, PC just froze and wouldn't even load Task Manager. System Restore in safe mode took 3 hours. I've Paid £49.99 for something that is completely useless - for the 20 mins it did work I did like what I saw, but this is unacceptable. No reply after 24 hours from Tech Support on pc crash caused by PD8. Very disappointed!!!


November 30, 2009, 6:56 am

If you're into state of the art HD video, this package will frustrate you. It cannot reliably edit true HD material without constant hangs - just check out their forum.


December 19, 2009, 6:19 am

I also agree with HDedit. But what is even worse I have been posting on their forums and watched them get deleted by the moderator. They dont like posts about crashing / hanging / messed up my PC. Tech support response is at best 3 7 days and they usually dont answer your questions or have no solutions at all. The only good thing I found when the program worked, is that it was fast encoding to H264 content from MPEG2 HD content. This is a waste of money until the program is stablized. Also watch there price promotions. When I first trialed the software the price as 99.95 with $15 off. total 84.95. 2 Weeks later the price went to $119.95 with $30 off. Looks like a better deal. Wrong you now paid $89.95. This stayed on for about 2 weeks. The price today is $25 off from 99.95. Best deal for the past 2 months.

Dave 24

June 14, 2010, 6:13 pm

I feel like I made a donation to Cyberlink ! I could not get this program to work at all. I am a very experienced windows user with a degree in computer service technology. I called tech support multiple times and spent a lot of time on hold and being handed off to different techs. I even had a hard time restoring my computer to normal working conditions after the suggested fixes I got from them. When I finally requested a refund they said, "Sorry, you are past the 30-day refund time period." What can I say, they conned me out of the price of this program. I think they deliberately dragged their feet to get past the 30 day refund period. I will never buy any Cyberlink program in the future.


August 6, 2010, 7:44 am

PowerDirector 8 performs very well on my Dell Core i7 with 8GB of memory and 1TB of disk. Unfortunately, on import, there is a limit of 2500 media clips (pictures, video, and audio) and I have over 15000 that I want to manage using PowerDirector. I stop receiving anything from Cyberlink after I sent them screen shots of there error and answered all there questions.

Al Swilling

August 24, 2010, 3:04 pm

I'm running a Pentium 4, 2.53GHz processor with a meager 512MB of RAM and two 180GB hard drives--probably the most modest machine of those represented here, and I had no problems running Powerdirector 8, even with other apps running. For example, I used a separate still image editor to alter some graphics that I was including in a video I was putting together and adding sound files, as well; and I had no problems whatsoever. No crashing, no stalling, no glitches at all. However, the menus are hard to get accustomed to, and the program lacks one of the most basic, and arguably the most used, feature of all: the ability to trim video clips. Still images can be adjusted any way the user pleases, but video clips cannot be trimmed--or if they can be trimmed, I haven't found the tools with which to accomplish that feat. A video editor/creator program worth its salt, not to mention its exorbitant price, should not require the purchase and installation of yet another video editor solely for trimming video clips.

There are other features that PowerDirector 8 should have but doesn't. Overall, it isn't worth the price.


August 30, 2010, 2:33 am

I agree with Dave (June 14 post). PowerDirector 8 is the worse software I have ever purchased. I am running it off my HP laptop (one of the latest from HP) with 6GB RAM and i7 processor and PD8 crashes constantly since day one (3 months ago). I too felt like I got conned from "good reviews". I also have an IT background and still cannot get this software to stop is so frustrating. Tech Support? don't even bother. Before PD8 I had Adobe PRemier and decided to switch to PD8 from reading reviews about special affect features - I should have stuck with Adobe Premier, it may not have many special affects but it works and rarely crashes or freeze. BTW do not trust Cyberlink Forum, you cannot post anything on that forum related to PD8 crashes or stop working error message anymore, it will not get posted.


September 20, 2010, 1:05 am

If this program actually worked, it would offer everything I am looking for in editing software. However, the program crashes so often, you can barely get any editing done. I agree that the money I spent was a donation to a company that could care less. I have video editing in my background and cannot figure out how to stop this program from crashing continuously. Can anyone recommend a better brand of software?


October 8, 2010, 11:44 pm

Seems a lot of people are having issues with this software, I would like to add negative experience as well. While most of it works, there are some major stability issues with this software. Adding new templates is the biggest issue I experienced. When attempting to download any template the system hangs at 89%. After closing and reopening, the system now crashes periodically and broke the menu bar (when clicking the menu button, won't open the menu items anymore). There is no help online and if you send them information, they just blow you off. Please look elswhere for this type of software, it's not worth the frustrations.


November 11, 2010, 3:44 am

My son, my neighbour and I have all been running PD8 for some months now and have not experienced any crashes. Far from it, we found it very stable and the only program that could import mpeg4 files direct from a Sanyo camcorder without crashing. We have tried various versions of Pinnacle, Corel Studio, Adobe and Movie Maker in an attempt to import files of various formats, stop crashes and be able to do voice overs. Pinnacle would not recognise a microphone (although Windows did)and their tech support eventually gave up. So far PD8 has been the answer to all of our problems experienced with numerous other editing programs. I found it very quick to burn a DVD from Fuji HS10 video files of various definitions including HD. Some features require a fair bit of searching to find but all work as I expected. We have had no problem whatsoever with clipping as Al Swilling reported and in fact were very impressed how you could zoom in to the exact frames you want to include or exclude. The first time I used it I made a short clip of just 2 seconds of a surfing move and used in sequentially several times, with suitable sound effects, into an example for my son. Having struggled with all sorts of problems with Corel, Movie Maker, Adobe and Pinnacle including system freezes, very slow speed and files unrecognised etc I found PD8 an absolute delight and have been more productive than ever before in a very short time. To me it seems that the above bad reviews are about a completely different program.


December 22, 2012, 10:12 am

I can hardly take this review serious. The software is very bad and works hardly without failures. My verdict: crap.
PS. The version i am talking about is 8. I don't know about version 11

Emma Foote

February 5, 2013, 12:37 am

Try powerdierctor 11, I have the free trial.. It's crappy when you produce it to youtube, but when it uploads your computer is fast again..

Emma Foote

February 5, 2013, 12:40 am

Power dierctor 9, 10 11 are better.


December 5, 2013, 4:54 am

is power director 8 compatible with windows xp??

comments powered by Disqus