Home / Cameras / Camera / Canon PowerShot SX210 IS / Test Shots - Detail and Lens Performance

Canon PowerShot SX210 IS - Test Shots - Detail and Lens Performance

By Cliff Smith



Our Score:


User Score:

A range of general test shots are shown over the next two pages. In some cases, the full size image has been reduced for bandwidth purposes, and a crop taken from the original full resolution image has been placed below it to show the overall image quality. Some other pictures may be clicked to view the original full-size image.


No cathedral window picture today on account of the awful weather, but here's the shot of Sidmouth seafront that I normally use for DSLR tests. Click on the image to download a full-size version, but be aware that the file is 3.2MB.


Canon PowerShot SX210 IS test photo

It's interesting to compare this with the same shot taken on a Canon EOS 550D. As you can see the level of fine detail isn't as good, and there's a general overall softness.


Canon PowerShot SX210 IS test photo

Not too much barrel distortion at wide angle...


Canon PowerShot SX210 IS test photo

...and centre sharpness is fairly good...


Canon PowerShot SX210 IS test photo

...but there is significant blurring ant chromatic aberration in the corners of the frame.


Simon Hall

March 28, 2010, 3:31 pm

This Camera fails for me at the first hurdle.

The pop up flash is exceptionally ugly, so in my case it would even get to the stage of being tried out.

Call me shallow if you like, but there are far better looking camera's out there.


March 28, 2010, 10:44 pm

@ Simon

I agree. The pop-up flash looks ridiculous.


March 29, 2010, 3:58 am

"Call me shallow if you like, but there are far better looking camera's out there"

So obviously you value more what other people think about you, with your 'ugly flash', than have a great camera that takes great pictures?! Nuts. Do you own Apple products by any chance?

Kevin Gordon

March 29, 2010, 5:24 pm

The pop up flash may be pugly, but when the advantage is that you can take pictures with flash that have less or no red eye and shadows, then who the hell cares if its fugly. Most people take shots during the day anyway, and you can close the flash in that case.

I'm more concerned about the ridiculous mega pixel count (who, in all seriousness, needs to print up to A0? Come on, if you need that, then you'll probably buy a higher end DSLR?), and the price. You can get DSLRs for not a lot more.

I'll stick with my Ixus 120.


March 29, 2010, 8:42 pm

Cliff, you rated the Panasonic TZ10 an "8" for image quality, the same image quality rating as this Canon SX210 IS. Judging only that aspect of each camera, how would you choose between them?


April 2, 2010, 9:41 pm

I can't see the front of a camera when I'm using it, so that aspect is immaterial. How come Canon saw the light with the G11, didn't go "headline hunting" and reduced the MP count to get the best IQ, and then went "headline hunting" with this one and its irrational zoom numbers, softening off the focus right the way through all the focal lengths? Panasonic get one sigh of relief, with one competitor not making the most of the botched development of the Panasonic TZ10.

Simon Hall

April 4, 2010, 9:42 pm

@ lifethroughalens I don't own any Apple products actually. I just think that manufacturers in this day and age should be able to make asthetically pleasing products that also perform well.

Why should you have to put up with an ugly camera if you want one that performs well?


April 10, 2010, 2:52 pm

in how mode i burn on a normal DVD (not blue-ray)

this movie into a DVD ?

i have the old Nero6 and i think not support this new MOV format video ?

a freeware software to convert MOV HD file in AVI or burn on dvd this hd file ?

how to use freeware to burn on dvd this HD movie ????

help me .... kiss by Mery


June 3, 2010, 7:22 pm

I prefer to take pictures without flash, by increasing the ISO setting or Dynamic Ratio etc to get a better looking natural photos to be proud of. That flash is not for taking good photos. I find it is only suitable for snapshots.


September 24, 2010, 10:13 am

Hi, im looking for some help getting a new camera, im torn between this one and the Panasonic Lumix TZ8, i love the features of this one and the 14mp etc and zoom compared to the 12 of the Lumix, im on a tight budget of around £210 ans seen these both on amazon for under that... im just a point and shooter for concerts, parties and some of the wonders i see outside on hols, the Lumix has such a better review, so I really cant decide... am i just being greedy with the extra 2 mp and zoom this one offers ??

I would appreciate amyones expert opinion to help my final purchase :)


December 12, 2010, 8:38 am

Neophyte about to buy his next P&S, wants as much zoom as possible, and to be able to zoom and record, for the wife to use while I'm surfing.

I didn't even know this cam had 14x, and was about to buy the Fujifilm FinePix

F300EXR but have held back due to wildly varying reviews.

Any recommendations?


February 3, 2011, 5:25 pm

A few days back i bought a new canon SX210is,but i am unable to capture the moving objects.The pics seems to become blurred.can anyone please tell me how to capture the moving objects on canon sx210is.


June 30, 2014, 12:51 pm

Hello everyone! Have you tried - TOST ZON DISCOUNTS (Have a quick look on google cant remember the location)? Ive heard some extraordinary things about it and my BF saved a lot of cash with it. They used that small gold box, that you can find on the website, to find a 70% discount on a coffee maker from Amazon. You may be able to find an unbelievable item(s) on Amazon at a unbelievable price using this tool.Just checked and there are a few deals on this product

comments powered by Disqus