Canon PIXMA MP990 – All-in-One Inkjet Printer - Feature Table

By Simon Williams



  • Recommended by TR
Canon PIXMA MP990 – All-in-One Inkjet Printer


Our Score:


User Score:


December 22, 2009, 6:15 pm

Why will photo black and grey inks enhance its wireless capabilities??


December 22, 2009, 9:01 pm

How is it different to the MP640, which seems to have the same spec at half the price?

Jay Werfalli

December 22, 2009, 11:39 pm

@Flatline - What? Haven't you heard about wireless inks..? (Cheers! Summary changed)

Jay Werfalli

December 23, 2009, 12:03 am


- The MP990 has 6 inks for enhanced monochrome printing (MP640 - 5 inks)

- 3.8in LCD screen, (3in LCD screen)

- The MP990 has a film adapter unit for scanning 35mm negatives and slides (CCD-based).

- It prints a little quicker than the MP640 (according to Canon).


December 23, 2009, 2:27 am

@Jay - that's alright then!


December 23, 2009, 4:24 am

I think you have to be really into your monochrome printing to make this worth it extra over the MP640.

Derek Davies

December 23, 2009, 3:32 pm

I've been looking forward to a Review on this product, although my interest started with its predecessor, and my particular interest was with the transparency and negative scanning capability but I was torn between sticking with my current Photo Printer and buying a replacement 6400dpi transparency and negative scanning-capable Scanner, or this All-in-One device, albeit at 4800dpi...but you don’t appear to have tested this functionality...or have you? or will you??...any thoughts or recommendations?


February 16, 2010, 11:03 pm

I'm very disappointed by the lack of review of the scanner unit, especially considering this is the major cause of the price difference with the MP640. CCD scanners are much better than CIS scanners, and the MP990 is the only one in the Canon range with such a good scanner. I have no doubt the resolution is excellent (considering it can be used to scan slides and negatives), I would have liked to know more about colour fidelity, etc.


May 16, 2010, 3:58 am

Lovely prints but drinks ink like you would not believe! Frequent automatic head priming make the ink levels plummet even when not printing. Went through first set of colour cartridges for only 35 pages of text and 2 small b&w photos.

Andrew 19

July 28, 2010, 6:22 pm

Shame on you for giving such a high rating to this machine. Yes it does give good prints and its scanner is excellent, but the running costs are ridiculous and much higher than quoted. When this machine performs a cleaning cycle, it uses an extraordinary amount of ink, so if you only use it once a day, then you can run out a whole set of cartridges within 8 weeks! That is a huge cost and not reflected properly in the scoring. Worse, you cannot disable this auto clean feature, which Canon say is necessary to keep the jets clear. Clearly this machine is only useful if you are doing high volumes - but in that case you would be better off with something else. So what is the point of this machine - absolutely none.

Again another case of TR not reviewing product properly.

Also where are the outputs so we can see the quality and compare it with other machines. This appears on other review sites, so why not here too.

There is also very little about the scanner itself. Again shame on you for not reviewing this properly.


December 21, 2010, 1:49 pm

Canon have let themselves down again by not providing support for Linux users with this printer.

In fact, it would be very handy if reviewers would remember to include which OS are supported in printer reviews (obviously you couldn't check every disto, but at least mentioning that the printer is or isn't supported in Ubuntu and OSX would be great).

comments powered by Disqus