Home / Computing / Printer / Canon PIXMA MG3150 / Performance and Verdict

Canon PIXMA MG3150 - Performance and Verdict

By Simon Williams

Reviewed:

Summary

Our Score:

7

Canon rates the PIXMA MG3150 slightly faster than its sibling, at 9.2ppm black and 5.2ppm colour (the PIXMA MG2150 is specced at 8.4ppm and 4.8ppm). Under test, we did see slight increases, with our five-page black text print returning 7.1ppm, rising to 7.5ppm on the 20-page test.

The five-page colour test gave just 1.8ppm, though, with the print pausing for up to 12 seconds, half-way through each page. This is what the PIXMA MG2150 did, too, so it’s not an isolated problem.

The PIXMA MG3150 offers duplex print, but we can’t see many people using it, because of the speed at which it crawls. Our 20-page document, printed as 10 duplex pages, took 10:27, or 0.96ppm.

Other times were more reasonable, though still not quick, with a colour copy taking 45s and a 15 x 10cm photo on A4 coming through in 54s.

Canon PIXMA MG3150 - Trays

The quality of prints on both plain and photo paper is above average. Black text is clear and largely free of fuzziness caused by ink run. Draft text is also good, the main difference being a lighter print, rather than offering the dotty, unpleasant fonts of some rivals.

Colour graphics are smooth and reasonably bright, with good registration of black text over colour fills. Colour copies are less vivid than originals, but maintain most of their clarity. Our sample photo print was not that good, though, with overemphasis of primary colours and considerable loss of detail in darker shades.

Canon PIXMA MG3150 - Cartridges

The two ink cartridges, are available in standard and high-yield versions and using the higher capacity consumables should give you ISO page costs of 3.9p for black and 8.5p for colour. These are both reasonable for the class of printer and maintenance is very simple, just clipping in a couple of cartridges every few months.

Verdict

There are a lot of good things in this sub-£50 all-in-one, such as its wireless support and mobile access. Overall however, the PIXMA MG3150 is let down by the annoying pauses during colour print and the sloth-on-beta-blockers speed of its duplex provision. The single LED display is very awkward, too. Canon really needs to get the basics right, before adding new features.

J.G.

January 2, 2013, 10:00 am

Quite the noisiest printer I have used........excessively noisy.

Joshua David UK

February 12, 2013, 4:24 pm

Hi..Does it have double sided printing?

graham taylor

February 19, 2013, 2:25 pm

can I set up not useing cd rom as my computer has no where to insert it

Nick George

February 25, 2013, 4:58 pm

Yes ... that is what reviewer means by "duplex peovision". It works though it is slow, albeit not cripplingly so.

disqus_v774baBDt5

February 26, 2013, 6:54 pm

printing too red can this be altered ?

rinfrance

March 13, 2013, 9:19 am

Good value for money, (I paid less than €50), ink is dear and pattern inks are not readable for fill, however they work OK. Wireless worked without problem and runs from 2 computers.
Knocks tons off of crappy HP, we had 3 in 6 months and none worked cost more in ink waste than the canon in over 1 year including purchase and inks.
Really go for this if you want a cheap machine. You can almost afford to throw it away if the machine fails. But DO look around for price. Loads of places sell below €50 but there are some trying to sell at almost double or even more!

rinfrance

March 13, 2013, 9:20 am

You will have to get a plug in cd player

Lorraine Patrick

March 19, 2013, 10:57 pm

I have found this too and so far can't find a solution which is disappointing as I expected half decent quality from Canon

Sophie

April 3, 2013, 4:47 pm

Cant see to connect my printer to my windows 8 laptop

DotMan

August 8, 2013, 9:36 am

Does anyone have any feedback on scanning. I'm trying to cut back on paper docs cluttering my home office so will be scanning 3-4000pages immediately then hope to scan 10-15 items per month. The talk and reviews seem to be about printing mainlty.

Sheelagh Hanly

October 2, 2013, 5:14 pm

I just bout this printer in Tesco and it cost me 64 Euro! Obviously I paid too much for it. However I have it now and cant get it to work. I'm not a very technical person but when I plugged it in there is a yellowish light (paper light) without actually switching the on button. When I press the on button it does nothing. I haven't yet succeeded in installing it as I cant get the ink cartridges in - I expected that the place where the cartridges go would move to position but they are at the side with no movement. When I push down the case to put the cartridge in, there isn't enough room! Any help? shouldn't there be some noise from the printer when turned on?

DCG

November 16, 2013, 2:43 pm

Purchased one from PC World early November '13 ..Easy to set up and install. However it prints a greyscale screaming red and needs an over ride of -25R to produce acceptable neutrals throughout the scale. I note others have experienced this also.

Not had this problem with any other printers (2 Epson and 1 HP Desk Jet).

Maybe this is a common fault!

comments powered by Disqus