Home / Computing / Printer / Canon PIXMA iP7250

Canon PIXMA iP7250 review

By

Reviewed:

1 of 6

Canon PIXMA iP7250
  • Canon PIXMA iP7250
  • Canon PIXMA iP7250 - CD/DVD Tray
  • Canon PIXMA iP7250 - Trays
  • Canon PIXMA iP7250 - Cartridges
  • Canon PIXMA iP7250 - Feature Table
  • Canon PIXMA iP7250 - Speeds and Costs

Summary

Our Score:

8

User Score:

Pros

  • Neatly stowed CD/DVD carrier
  • Fast photo prints
  • Trouble-free wireless setup

Cons

  • No front panel USB socket
  • Slow duplex mode
  • Random housekeeping

Key Features

  • Wireless connection with direct print
  • Low profile design
  • Plain and photo trays
  • Works with iOS, Android and AirPrint
  • Duplex print
  • Manufacturer: Canon
  • Review Price: £55.00

Introduction

The market for single function, desktop photo printers may be shrinking, but Canon still has a good range including of course the one we're looking at here, the PIXMA iP7250. In many ways it's merely a redesign but nonetheless it comes at a low asking price and can produce high-quality prints from a variety of sources.

Canon PIXMA iP7250 - Design and Features

Canon has shaved around 25mm off this printer's height, but in the process has added to both its width and depth, in comparison with its previous generation of printers. To make the reduction, the company has had to redesign many aspects of the machine, and there are lots of clever little tweaks to make life easier.

Canon PIXMA iP7250

For example, when you press the button to the right of the front panel, the panel folds down and at the same time a support swings out from its front edge. This technique for paper support has been used before, but it’s usually a two-stage, manual procedure to open it.

Then there are the two paper trays, squashed together to take up little more space than a single tray in other machines. You can fit 125-sheets of plain paper and 20 photo blanks in these two trays but, when you flip over the photo tray, there's a CD/DVD carrier clipped to its underside, where you won't lose it. This slots in above the paper trays, when you want to print directly on coated discs.

Canon PIXMA iP7250 - CD/DVD Tray

The five ink cartridges are very easy to get at, by flipping up the full-width cover forming the front section of the printer's top panel. There's a photo black ink cartridge, as well as the pigmented black one for plain paper and Canon uses its clever LED indicators to show when a cartridge is correctly inserted and when an empty one needs replacing.

There are both USB and wireless connections and the WPS setup on this machine is very quick; press a button on the front panel and the button on your router and it's all done in a few seconds. Connecting from an Apple or Android device is very quick, thanks to Canon's Easy-Photo Print App.

Brian Jones

August 8, 2013, 10:15 am

But with cartridges at £10 each - and it takes 5 then assuming a new one comes supplied with cartridges then when the ink runs out just buy a new printer!!!!

here

September 11, 2013, 11:07 am

Don't see why you don't test papers size ie, its rated at 300gsm but can it actually do it? who know!

Tim Woodier

September 17, 2013, 10:42 am

New ones come with quarter full cartridges.

jandee

October 15, 2013, 10:28 pm

It takes forever before it actually starts printing (God knows what it's doing, wasting ink, I suppose), so I don't know how you actually measure the printing speed? It's the worst printer I ever had... I just printed ONE page and it took about 3 minutes.Yes, 3 minutes.

petja

December 23, 2013, 5:21 pm

The range of envelope formats is very limited for European users; e.g. there is no C5 or C6.
Further, the associated Easy-Photoprint EX application's function for designing CD/DVD labels has an unwelcome mind of its own: it crops imported pictures of non-standard format without asking the user if that is what (s)he wants.

Ozzy

January 11, 2014, 12:51 am

This machine is like a diva prepares herself forever and ever for a simple performence. It's unbelievable all these noises and actions to get a single page. It takes forever to reach to "I'm ready boss" situation. WiFi performance? Trouble! It's easier to get a cable and print conventionaly.

toboev

January 31, 2014, 8:55 pm

"there are the two paper trays, squashed together to take up little more space than a single tray in other machines" - is that supposed to be a good thing? It only happens because the lower tray only takes half the paper of previous models like the ip5200R, whilst the upper tray takes no paper at all, at least not if we are talking about A4.
Other downsides of this printer compared to my ancient ip5200R, recently deceased:

> if networked, it won't go to sleep.
> noisier on normal setting, slower on quiet setting
> no top feed for heavy paper stock
> smaller A4 paper tray
> costlier ink, in smaller cartridges (The XL cartridges are smaller than the regular ones for the old printer)
> wifi only, no ethernet connection
>regularly drags through multiple pages
>in normal domestic use it spends more time on housekeeping than on printing, chundering away for ages spinning its wheels (and doubtless filling its sponge)
>anodyne design - it's just a black box with 'Canon' plastered on the front

As to progress - Android printing App (Pixma Print), of course not available 10 years ago. But it is a sad joke. PrintShare Premium is miles better.

Honestly I can't think of a single advantage over the decade old ip5200R. Oh, but of course, there is the flippy-out output tray thingy. Not much to show for 10 years R&D at Printer HQ.

I'm at a loss as to how you justify your conclusion: "Canon has put a good bit of design thought into the revamp of this mid-range photo printer and the PIXMA iP7250 benefits in several areas". Compared to their own decade-old equivalent there are no benefits evident at all, and several major steps backwards.

Lets at least hope it proves as long-lasting.

Tim

June 24, 2014, 1:49 pm

This is the worst printer I've ever had. I had a pixma 5200 before hich was a workhorse and a dream to use. This rubbush printer is a nightmare I have had it 2 months and never I mean never had touble free print form it. Do NOT buy this printer ! Why oh why can't cannon just keep it simple.

Giorgio Costantino

August 24, 2015, 7:40 pm

I wonder how can someone rate 8/10 this piece of rubbish?! It takes ages for warming up and ink consumption is just unbearable! Don't make my same mistakes. Do not buy this printer. Do not trust this site.

Kristóf Aczél

September 12, 2015, 11:07 pm

When you actually get this piece of garbage working, it makes quite nice images. BUT!

It takes about 3 minutes from power-on to actually start printing, because it "cleans itself". After that it is indeed fast, but this annoying housekeeping defeats the purpose...

Also, colored inks run out even without using them!!! In about 1 year I printed only 5 colored pages, and it tells me that my colored inks have run out. Probably it wastes ink when doing the 3-minute-long cleaning process. This never happened to me with my other inkjet printers.

toboev

December 11, 2015, 8:42 pm

I would echo your comments. The printer is noisy, and wastes more time and ink doing its housekeeping routines than it does actually printing. Ink costs are extortionate, so I have always used compatibles. Whether that is what has caused it to become faulty after less than two years I'll never know, but it is academic since there is no way I'll try paying hundreds of pounds a year on Canon inks to find out.

A whole new printer costs less than a new print head. This is totally stupid. On the one hand they boast of their green credentials, on the other they make you bury a whole printer in landfill instead of selling you a small and very easily replaceable part. Idiots.

toboev

December 11, 2015, 8:47 pm

Some hope. It just died, under two years old.

Kenneth Nordin

January 19, 2016, 11:09 am

In fact a great photoprinter. High quality prints. For it's price I can live with that the first when print (when it's been idle for a while) takes it's time to warm up. After that it's pretty fast when you run prints after print. Oh yes it's a bit noisy. Easy and stable wifi setup on the plus side. But and don't agree that it consumes much ink. In the end, the most important thing: Does it deliver high quality photo prints? YES ip7250 does that - for a great price!

Emanuel Hodut

March 17, 2016, 12:30 pm

The worst canon printer I ever had. Green tint to the pictures even with the cartridges that came with it, the first 3 cm (1 inch) of an A4 prints correctly, after that, all the colors shift towards green. It's a total train wreck. Wouldn't recommend!!!

Mihael Tominšek

May 31, 2016, 3:43 pm

What to buy than?
I have Konica Minolta Bizhub C220 - it is cheaper on "ink", but does not print CD/DVD's.

Mihael Tominšek

May 31, 2016, 3:43 pm

What problems for instance?

Peter Wood

May 31, 2016, 4:10 pm

I was also looking to replace my 2 good (decade old) ip4500's, that have
now packed up, and was considering this printer, however after reading
all the reviews I'm not so sure now ... just 11/2 (shallow) trays,
noisy, small (expensive) cartridges! Shame they discontinued the
earlier IP ranges, with two 50-100 sheet trays (and so convenient to
change papers being top loading), fairly quiet, reasonable priced inks
and less than a min. to start-up.

Might try to find still
working s/hnd versions on auction sites now, as just don't build them as
good now, and as Toboev says, should build them as they used too,
charge more for the unit, and less for inks. Rant over !

comments powered by Disqus