Read the full Canon Legria HF20 review

So the Canon LEGRIA HF20 doesn’t top the quality charts like previous Canons, although it is still very good. This would be fine if it was a lot cheaper in compensation. Canon’s 2008 models didn’t translate their technical excellence into total sales dominance, thanks to cheaper models from competitors, in particular Panasonic’s HDC-SD9. Unfortunately, the weakness of the pound has foiled Canon’s plans. The LEGRIA HF20 is no cheaper than the HF11 was at launch, and the latter will shoot better video in low light. For this reason, if you can find the HF11 for less than the HF20, or the HF100 for considerably less, both would be better value.

More Camcorder Videos

Ken Dublin

April 18, 2009, 8:56 pm

Thanks James for telling it like it is!

First review that's answered all my questions...HF11 here I come!!

James Morris

April 19, 2009, 2:08 am

Glad to be of service!


April 20, 2009, 10:05 pm

I'm been considering camcorders at around 𧽂 and narrowed my search to ...

Panasonic HDC-SD200

Canon HF10

With low light performance being important your Canon HF20 review makes it clear the Canon HF200 is not an option.

Buying 16GB Class 6 memory for the HDC-SD200 at 㿅 I don't see as an issue.

Which camera would you recommend?

James Morris

April 21, 2009, 7:31 pm

@Derek Have you considered the Canon HF100? You can still pick that model up for a very keen price. The Panasonic HDC-SD200 should beat it (just) in low light, but it's also more expensive.


April 27, 2009, 8:42 pm

Hi James, and thanks for the really helpful reviews. I have been sitting on the fence for a while now, but need to get on with making a purchase. I must confess to finding the naming hierachy confusing so don't always end up comparing like for like, but got to the point of choosing the HF11, working on a budget of 𧾦. Is there anything else I should consider (particularly Sony as I can get a friends and family discount that amounts to around 20%)

Many thanks

James Morris

April 28, 2009, 4:58 am

Well, if you can get 20% off Sony, hold off until Saturday. I finally have something to show you! It might change your mind.


May 1, 2009, 8:53 pm

OOOOhhhhh - do tell. It's nearly saturday.......

James Morris

May 2, 2009, 9:14 pm

It's Saturday now!

comments powered by Disqus