specs
Quick Glance
LCD Screen Size 3.5 in
Lens Features
Optical Zoom 12
Digital Zoom 200
Video Recording
Recording Media Memory Card
Video Capture Format HD, AVCHD
Max Video Res 1920x1080
Minimum Lux Rating 0.3 lux
Image Stabilisation Optical
General Features
LCD Screen Size 3.5 in
Image Processor
Image Sensor Quantity 1
Image Sensor Size 0.38", 9.65 mm

Ripsnorter

July 26, 2010, 2:02 pm

@James Morris - Excellent review and you had me biting my nails down to the wire as to how the Canon stacks up against the Panasonic HDC-TM700!

Mike337

July 26, 2010, 11:59 pm

A few questions:


1. Is it true that the LEGRIA HF S200 and HF S21 are completely identical apart from the HF S21 having inbuilt memory and a viewfinder? If thats the case I would probably buy the HF S200 as its slightly smaller, lighter and £300 cheaper!





2. Does the HF S21 (and/or HF S200) do 1080p on the highest quality "MXP mode" by default or does it do 1080i and we have to switch on "CINE mode" or something to get progressive video?





3. Are you 100% certain that HF S21 (and i guess HF S200 since they're meant to be identical) support SDXC cards? It doesn't mention it at all on canons website. It would be a definite deal breaker for me if they don't support SDXC.





Thanks.

James Morris

July 27, 2010, 2:59 am

@Ripsnorter Thanks!





@Mike337





1: as far as I know, the S200 is as you say the S21 minus the viewfinder and on-board memory.





2: No Canon camcorders record "native" 1080p. Instead, they record 25PF to a 1080i signal. So you have a signal which can be read by 1080i equipment, but internally the lines are scanned progressively. The 25PF mode can be selected independently of CINE mode, unlike most Panasonic HD camcorders.





3. Good question. There have been a lot of reports that the S21 and its siblings do in fact have SDXC-compatible SD card slots, but Canon lists them as SD/SDHC. I will have to ask Canon to clarify and get back to you, as although I still have the camcorder until Friday I don't have any SDXC cards to try in it!

Mike337

July 29, 2010, 7:31 pm

@James Morris


Thanks for answering those questions. Were you able to get any word from Canon clarifying the situation regarding SDXC card support in the S21 and S200?

supersalva

September 22, 2010, 5:17 pm

Hi all,





I checked a lot on the intenet in order to solve the SDXC compatibility dilemma and I found this page of the Canon USA site:





http://www.usa.canon.com/cusa/...





Here you can download a firmware update for the VIXIA HS S21 in order to make it compatible with SDXC cards.





Now, the question is still open, because I suspect that all of us here in Europe cannot install such firmware, since VIXIA and LEGRIA differ for all the PAL 50i/NTSC 60i issues, and such firmware may be SPECIFIC for the VIXIA model...





I tried to ask to Canon Italia but they are not able to even understand my questions. I would appreciate if TrustedReviews can solve the firmware update enigma with Canon UK or USA and getting some declaration about if/when such firmware will be available for Legrias in Europe...





Best regards!

supersalva

September 22, 2010, 5:32 pm

I want to add to my comment that, to my knowledge, SDHC and SDXC are perfectly compatible slots (they are the SAME slot). The difference just lies in the operating system software: drivers for SDXC cards read file names and directories in a different way with respect to drivers for SDHC cards (SDXC drivers can addres a whopping 1 Terabyte of data so they allow for larger directory structures than SDHC drivers), so the entire problem is related to the possibility to have a firmware update, because the whole physical/electronics is the same.





You will notice that the software update for VIXIAS has been released on 8/31/2010, so it is really a fresh novelty... just 22 days ago! If you click on the filename you get this description: "Allows commercially available SDXC memory cards to be used". Let's wait for the European version!

supersalva

September 23, 2010, 7:18 pm

Hi,





I want to share with you that I have contacted Canon USA in order to ask them if their firmdate supprots just the VIXIA version of the HF S21 camcorder or both the VIXIA and LEGRIA variants.





I am so happy to report you that the answer is YES: we old-world Europeans can get our SDXC memories on the LEGRIA, too!!!





Here is their answer, verbatim (I just erased email headers and Canon representative's name):





"Thank you for contacting Canon product support. We value you as a Canon


customer and appreciate the opportunity to assist you with the firmware


update for your Legria HF S21 (Vixia HF S21).





Actually, this firmware supports both the Legria and the Vixia


camcorders. The link you had would be the one to use to update your


camcorder.





I hope this information is helpful to you. Please let us know if we can


be of any further assistance with your Canon HF S21.





Thank you for choosing Canon."

comments powered by Disqus