Read the full Canon IXUS 500 HS review

The Canon IXUS 500 HS is a compact camera that impresses at first sight. Not only is the model one of the most stylish currently on the market, but it also features a weighty specification to match its eye-catching looks. The combination of 10.1MP CMOS sensor, Canon’s HS technology, DIGIC 5 processor and 12x optical zoom results in both excellent image quality and a versatility up there with more advanced compacts. All of this does come at a price, and there are similarly specified compacts available for less, but if you’re happy to pay the premium you’ll be the owner of an excellent compact camera.

More Camera Videos


April 10, 2012, 11:53 pm

Let me guess, is it designed by Marc Newson?
(just joking, but I was referring to Pentax K01)

I personally find it quite ugly, in a way it is similar to the Pentax K01. Some people love it, some hate it, but I think the overall feeling will end up being negative.


April 11, 2012, 2:38 am

It's not much of a looker, not that I care about that in a compact. What does put the kibosh on this, as far as i'm concerned, is the slow lens 'maximum aperture range of f/3.4 to f/5.6'.

I expect slow long end performance, but f3.4 @ 28mm is disappointingly poor. I wonder how the Nokia 808 pureview would compare to this in terms of image quality alone? Apples and Oranges, I know, but just out of interest.


April 13, 2012, 9:05 pm

Stunning design?? The boxy look is exactly the same as Canon used when it first brought out the Ixus cameras in the 1990s.

To me it just looks like a company going back to an old idea because it's run out of new ones.


April 14, 2012, 4:02 pm

It has 'Stylish' and 'eye-catching' looks according to Paul.
Sorry Paul but it looks a bit 'plain' to me and whilst I
actually quite like that look..... I don't feel that your
original description quite accurately describes it.
(But don't worry there will always be someone who takes
issue with whatever way you describe it...Just keep going)


April 16, 2012, 3:51 pm

The design is as ugly as the Pentax K-01, No imagination to it. The older generation Ixus range looked much better. For its poor specs, the camera looks cheap and toylike. Match made in hell!

Jerome Nolas

May 1, 2012, 12:58 am

Yes, stunning design! Where do you live guys? Or maybe got stuck in the 18 th century...


June 8, 2012, 8:45 am

I used the camera for about three weeks and agree with most of the review. However, unlike the reviewer, I strongly disliked the tiny buttons at the rear. For one thing the buttons are much too small unless your fingers are the size of child's. Secondly, the button arrangement makes navigating the menus difficult - a far cry from the simple and effective circular controller used in previous Canon cameras.

johnny come lately

March 5, 2014, 5:20 pm

It takes sharp close up images and it's easy to use. I didn't pay hundreds for it because I'm not a fashion victim. I bought it recently when silly people had all paid the silly price and sensible people got the real value of the product. I don't care that newer models are now on the market to fleece the fashion victims... yet again. I just wanted a camera whether it looks ''ugly'' or ''pretty'' isn't my concern. I'm not looking to fuck a camera.

comments powered by Disqus