March 8, 2012, 2:15 pm

"The original 5D Mark I was the first DSLR to offer 1080p Full HD movie recording".
- Excuse me? I havent yet found that feature in mine after abt 4 years... gosh :)


March 12, 2012, 11:25 pm

What an absolutely USELESS review! You're reviewing a CAMERA.... I kinda like to know how the images compare with the Mark II. And as the previous poster questions...HD movies on the original 5D...? What? Clearly, you have no business doing reviews for Canon products.


March 13, 2012, 12:43 am

Sorry, it should've more obviously said that this is a hands on preview not a full review.


April 20, 2012, 4:45 pm

I think it's about time you stopped these 'Hands on Previews'. In my opinion, they are not helpful & often inaccurate. You also have this 'story' listed under your 'Review' section. Misleading.

You do reviews, right? It's not called 'Trusted Hands on Previews'. Do your news article prior to release then do a full on, extensive, professional review with your perceived pros & cons and marks out of ten & verdict. (Preferably using a professional photographer's experience along side an enthusiastic technology writer, to give a more qualified opinion.)

Telling you how to suck eggs, I know...but things are slipping.


April 20, 2012, 5:03 pm

Hi electricsheep,

The full review is up. Just a minor technical niggle - the pages haven't updated from the hands-on yet. Should be fixed shortly.

We do hands-on previews to give you an earlier insight to products that we might not get to review for weeks, or even months. They are not meant to in any way replace full reviews.



April 20, 2012, 5:16 pm

I have to agree with the other commenters, this is a long way short of what I would expect when reviewing such a great full featured camera - you give it the same amount of copy as you do a point and shoot crapomatic. Referring to shooting JPG's on a 5D just makes me wince.

I actually have the 5D MK3 already and agree with the conclusion though. It is my first full camera and I am very impressed with the clarity jump from my 60D.


April 20, 2012, 5:39 pm

So this is the new "goto" DSLR for video recording ? Apparently it has kept ahead of the competition and held its "goto" status due to implementing (wait for it) 720p HD at 50fps.

Yet the Sony A65 for 5x less money implements 1080p at 50 and 60 fps with a superior autofocus (during video) system and even the ability (with stills) to take 24Mp images at 10fps.

Don't get me wrong, I appreciate the picture quality and the full frame format benefits. But these features are far from groundbreaking.


April 20, 2012, 6:14 pm

Thanks for the clarification Andrew.

I must admit that I'm not a fan of the hands-on previews on TR's. They so often just quote spec sheets and offer vague insights & very little else. But I know they are here to stay. Would like to see a separate 'Preview' column just to distance it from the full reviews.

Couldn't agree more with the sentiment of the review, although anyone who buys this camera and then shoots JPEGS, needs having a little chat with. I'm replacing my 5D2 with one of these and even thinking of buying a second to replace a 1D4 instead of a 1Dx. Canon won't be able to make these fast enough.


April 20, 2012, 7:00 pm

I'm not entirely sure that's fair. It's inherent to the nature of hands on previews that you can only observe so much when you have maybe 15mins with a product, and as much as possible we try to give you impressions on how a product feels in that first instance more than list its specs.

Also, we are planning to have the hands on articles retained as extra tabs in the final review, so there's less cause for confusion.

As to shooting jpgs... nothing wrong with shooting jpg on a camera like this. Primarily you're buying it for the full frame sensor and the inherent quality it brings. Whether you choose to use it for a few quick jpg snaps or professional shoots using raw is up to you.

Admittedly, if you're just after good bokeh and low light performance for more amateur snapping then you're better off spending the money on fast lenses and using a smaller APS-C body, but if you fancy taking a step up then a body like this is tempting.

Furthermore, there are plenty of professional situations where speed is of the essence so you'll shoot jpg+raw, firing off the jpgs asap and retaining the raw for later use if required.


April 20, 2012, 7:43 pm

Fairly bland review of a highly anticipated product from one the leading camera manufacturers known to man.

Your website is really going downhill, with skates on.

The MkII review a few years back was a great one and even managed to include some much needed humour into it.

No video footage for this? Why not? dontchathink some test footage using a variety of lens would have been relevant to this review? Especially low light footage, kinda critical when arguing for and against the competition.

Instead we get pictures taken on someone's lunchbreak and words befitting a bloggers'.

D- must try harder.


April 21, 2012, 5:21 am

Fair? Sorry Ed. TR's first posted the short 'hands on preview' under your review section, by accident, which was what I was commenting on initially. Most people can draw their own conclusions from the specs alone and I do remember a time (retrospective rose tinted glasses?) when the reviews were more thorough and more accurate. The full review is not much more than a listing of the camera features with a few sample JPEGs. Certainly nowhere near as detailed as it could / should have been. I think the other comments reflect this.

I guess it's tricky because as an old frequenter of this site, it seems as if a lot has changed. It's lost a fair bit of its mojo. Like I said, I would love to see semi & professional cameras reviewed by a pro-photographer with a lot more data, details, image samples, video samples & video reviews.

Speaking of video reviews, could you increase the bit rate and resolution? Any chance of being able to go full screen with them? Sorry it all sounds so negative! It's still one of the best tech sites on the web!


April 21, 2012, 6:54 pm

Sorry, think I muddled my replies up. Kind of ended up replying to everyone and noone at once.

With regards the hands on thing, we try to make it as clear as possible that these articles are just that. They're posted in the reviews section of the site because of how the structure of the site works. We're looking to make this less restrictive though so there should be less confusion in future.

Otherwise, point taken. We'll see what we can do.

As to video reviews, we can't increase resolution or add fullscreen yet, to my knowledge, because we need the dev team to enable it in the player but I'll bring it up again as a priority for those guys.


April 21, 2012, 6:59 pm

A very good point raised about video. I'll talk to Audley on Monday and see if we can sort out sourcing some footage - I don't currently know if we still have the camera.


April 24, 2012, 12:03 am

Unfortunately our review sample has gone back to Canon so we can't provide further image and video samples at the moment. We'll see if we can get hold of it again, though.


April 26, 2012, 4:08 am

Good stuff, appreciate the feedback. It's good to know that it's all being thought about.

Thanks Ed.

Suthap Klomrod

January 4, 2013, 10:42 pm

I will say that this is the consummate professional or professional amateur's Camera. It uses both the compact flash as well as the SD memory modules. Purchase a professional sped memory card for this Camera for high speed high resolution video recording. Go to for a full explanation of this unit's fun functions. Even I can take great pictures now! Special Offers Details

Reina Dan

May 29, 2014, 6:37 am

We provide convenient, cost-effective way to purchase your camera. you email us and obtain information about the latest products at a very competitive price.

Canon EOS 5D Mark III key specifications

22MP full frame CMOS sensor

ISO 100-25600 standard, 50-102,800 expanded

6 fps continuous shooting

Shutter rated to 150,000 frames

1080p30 video recording, stereo sound via external mic

61 point AF system

63 zone iFCL metering system

100% viewfinder coverage

1040k dot 3:2 LCD

Dual card slots for CF and SD

Brand new Canon EOS 5D Mark III (body only) cost $1250usd


Skype: techgalore

comments powered by Disqus