Our Score


Review Price free/subscription

One reason that Canon needs a new entry-level model is that the 450D simply can’t compete on price with the base models from the other manufacturers. With Sony’s Alpha A200 available for under £300 with an 18-70mm kit lens, Nikon’s D60 selling for around £350 with lens, the Olympus E-420 available for around £360 with a high-quality Zuiko 14-42mm lens, and even the weatherproof Pentax K200D selling for around £370, the £450 EOS 450D looks rather pricey.

The bit I don’t understand is that the EOS 1000D is currently selling for around £420 with the Canon’s much-criticised 18-55mm kit lens. Given that it seems to be built out of the parts bin I would have expected Canon to price the camera much more competitively. It seems to be a strange decision to launch a new entry-level camera that’s around £100 more expensive than the rival cameras against which it will have to compete. Admittedly the price will probably fall once the 1000D has been on sale for a few more months, but in that time more and more people will buy Nikon, Sony, Olympus and Pentax, and Canon’s market share will fall even further. If they could have launched the 1000D at £350 with a lens, even that dire 18-55, then they’d have cleaned up, but as it stands the 1000D is simply too expensive.

Another problem is that the EOS 1000D just doesn’t feel like £420 worth of camera. Instead it feels light and slightly flimsy, especially when compared to the robust build quality of models like the Olympus E-420 and Pentax K200D. The body is very small, the handgrip is too thin and too close to the lens barrel, at least for my hands, and the viewfinder is narrow and tunnel-like. While I have no doubt that the usual Canon fans will highly recommend it, I was not as impressed as I usually am by Canon DSLRs. The 1000D feels like a stop-gap measure, something that was rushed out of the factory to fill a gap in the market rather than the usual well-designed and well made products for which Canon has a deserved reputation.

Previous page
Next page


August 7, 2008, 1:36 am

Where are the shots of Simouth ?

Another good assessment Cliff, will be interesting to see the price point settling down a bit and know that future viewers of this piece should take 'value' under consideration.

Build quality should a concern for Canon, (and others) there a survey result today showing 'waterproofing' as a paramount desire among prospective purchasers.

Want it all, don't we ?


August 7, 2008, 6:12 pm

What a disappointment. Questionable build quality, overexposed shots and a high price is not the way Canon is going to attract DSLR newcomers. One look at your overexposed test shots is enough to convince me to stay far away from the 1000D.


March 27, 2010, 11:49 am

I don't agree with this review all too much. When I tried it out in Currys, it felt great and the handling was easilly the best amongst the others I had a look at including the Nikon D3000 and the Sony A230. In addition, the viewfinder is not small. The review seems rather biased and stands out from every other review of the camera I have read to date. Finally, in Currys, the camera now retails for £369.99, £10 less than the Nikon. For a combination of these reasons, I will be purchasing the Canon EOS 1000D mid-April.


March 27, 2010, 1:16 pm

@Charlie: The viewfinder is small compared to other SLRs. I think you'll find most reputable sources that reviewed this camera at launch thought it over priced and under specced (we're talking UK prices, here). Now, nearly two years down the line, of course the situation is going to have changed as it's dropped in price. That's the nature of reviews; they're a snapshot of opinion and have to be judged accordingly when read a long time after they were written. In an ideal world we would update them regularly but when you've over 5,000 reviews, that's a lot of updating.


April 8, 2010, 2:59 pm

@Ed. I do not blame you for not updating the price, I just wanted to make it apparent for readers that the price situation has changed to ensure that it did not discourage them from buying the camera. I was not criticising Trusted Reviews, I just wanted to illustrate how the situation has changed since the review. As with the viewfinder, it is up to opinion whether it is too small.


January 3, 2011, 4:08 pm

I also found this review rather harsh on the 1000D (maybe because I bought one before I read the reviews). I would like to read the reviews on the Nikon, Pentax and Olympus equivalents as well, just to see the slant. I purchased my 1000D Bundle for ZAR4200 (South African Rands) converts to about £400. This includes the "dreadful" 18-55mm lens, 4Gb memory card as well as a camera bag the can accomodate an additional lens. This review made me feel like I had been ripped off though I really do enjoy the 1000d and its features.

joseph airis 1

January 8, 2011, 9:56 am

Canon 1000D. Perfect! Love it!! Can't go wrong with this one. It now really all depends on who is the photographer.


May 13, 2012, 12:05 pm

This is only my second slr (digital) along with a Sony A290, purchased from Canon and has latest firmware installed, no issues and for the price paid a bargain (£290 inc 2 x lens), great pics and love the handling, finish is fine for me as careful with my gear. Selling the Sony as imho the Canon is far better and I achieve better results despite the lower resolution. Perhaps the updates have addressed some of the issues as I experience no exposure problems whatsoever, still learning settings parameters and feature set acceptable for my use. Print up to a4 and all good, overall a great camera for the price paid and now eyeing up a 550d!!

mahendra sharma

September 30, 2013, 7:17 am


Md.Habib Ullah

October 5, 2013, 5:35 am

i want to buy a SLR camera but my price range is maximum BDT 30,000 which model is better for me?

Ashraf Ali

January 25, 2014, 10:42 am

i have a problem in canon camera 1000d (E99 bettery error

comments powered by Disqus