Home / Cameras / Camera / Canon EOS 1000D digital SLR

Canon EOS 1000D digital SLR review

By

Reviewed:

Summary

Our Score:

8

Pros

  • Live view
  • Lightweight
  • Speedy operation
  • Good high ISO performance
  • Good image quality

Cons

  • Overpriced
  • Noticeably plastic build
  • Slow live view focussing
  • No video

Key Features

  • 10.1 megapixel sensor
  • 18-55mm lens
  • Live view
  • 7-point autofocus
  • Manufacturer: Canon
  • Review Price: free/subscription

A couple of weeks ago I reviewed the Canon EOS 450D, the latest in a successful line of consumer digital SLR cameras, and discovered that although it is a good camera it is too expensive to be considered an entry-level model. As I remarked in that review, Canon has been losing ground in the DSLR market recently, mostly to Nikon and Sony, thanks mainly to some very strong and well-priced entry-level models. Pentax and Olympus also have some excellent low-cost DSLR models, leaving Canon looking a bit exposed at that end of the market.

To answer this challenge, in June Canon announced the EOS 1000D, a new entry-level model designed to lure buyers into the EOS camera system. Since the new model has to fit into the EOS range below the 12.2-megapixel 450D it will come as little surprise that the 1000D is a 10.1-megapixel model, also featuring the latest DSLR must-have feature, live monitor view.

Of course Canon already has a 10.1-megapixel DSLR in its line-up, the EOS 400D, which is still available for around £340 body-only. So is the new camera just a 400D with live view bolted on? Not quite; in fact it would be more accurate to describe the 1000D as a cut-down 450D than an upgraded 400D, although it shares some features with both models. The body size and shape is a much closer match, and the control layout is also almost identical to the 450D, although the 1000D has the 400D’s 2.5-inch 230K monitor. At 450g the new camera is 25g lighter than the 450D and 80g lighter than the 400D.

In terms of specification the 1000D shares the same 22.2 x 14.8mm CMOS sensor as the 400D, but is equipped with the new DIGIC III image processor, the same as the 450D. The autofocus system has a seven-point sensor similar to the discontinued EOS 350D, rather than the nine-point system found in the 400D and 450D, while exposure metering is handled by the same 35-point TTL system that Canon has been using for several years. The Live View mode is taken straight from the EOS 450D, including the limited contrast-detection AF function.

Frankf9d

August 7, 2008, 1:36 am

Where are the shots of Simouth ?





Another good assessment Cliff, will be interesting to see the price point settling down a bit and know that future viewers of this piece should take 'value' under consideration.


Build quality should a concern for Canon, (and others) there a survey result today showing 'waterproofing' as a paramount desire among prospective purchasers.


Want it all, don't we ?

AndyfromVA

August 7, 2008, 6:12 pm

What a disappointment. Questionable build quality, overexposed shots and a high price is not the way Canon is going to attract DSLR newcomers. One look at your overexposed test shots is enough to convince me to stay far away from the 1000D.

Charlie

March 27, 2010, 11:49 am

I don't agree with this review all too much. When I tried it out in Currys, it felt great and the handling was easilly the best amongst the others I had a look at including the Nikon D3000 and the Sony A230. In addition, the viewfinder is not small. The review seems rather biased and stands out from every other review of the camera I have read to date. Finally, in Currys, the camera now retails for £369.99, £10 less than the Nikon. For a combination of these reasons, I will be purchasing the Canon EOS 1000D mid-April.

Ed

March 27, 2010, 1:16 pm

@Charlie: The viewfinder is small compared to other SLRs. I think you'll find most reputable sources that reviewed this camera at launch thought it over priced and under specced (we're talking UK prices, here). Now, nearly two years down the line, of course the situation is going to have changed as it's dropped in price. That's the nature of reviews; they're a snapshot of opinion and have to be judged accordingly when read a long time after they were written. In an ideal world we would update them regularly but when you've over 5,000 reviews, that's a lot of updating.

Charlie

April 8, 2010, 2:59 pm

@Ed. I do not blame you for not updating the price, I just wanted to make it apparent for readers that the price situation has changed to ensure that it did not discourage them from buying the camera. I was not criticising Trusted Reviews, I just wanted to illustrate how the situation has changed since the review. As with the viewfinder, it is up to opinion whether it is too small.

Mwamba

January 3, 2011, 4:08 pm

I also found this review rather harsh on the 1000D (maybe because I bought one before I read the reviews). I would like to read the reviews on the Nikon, Pentax and Olympus equivalents as well, just to see the slant. I purchased my 1000D Bundle for ZAR4200 (South African Rands) converts to about £400. This includes the "dreadful" 18-55mm lens, 4Gb memory card as well as a camera bag the can accomodate an additional lens. This review made me feel like I had been ripped off though I really do enjoy the 1000d and its features.

joseph airis 1

January 8, 2011, 9:56 am

Canon 1000D. Perfect! Love it!! Can't go wrong with this one. It now really all depends on who is the photographer.

suzukiboy

May 13, 2012, 12:05 pm

This is only my second slr (digital) along with a Sony A290, purchased from Canon and has latest firmware installed, no issues and for the price paid a bargain (£290 inc 2 x lens), great pics and love the handling, finish is fine for me as careful with my gear. Selling the Sony as imho the Canon is far better and I achieve better results despite the lower resolution. Perhaps the updates have addressed some of the issues as I experience no exposure problems whatsoever, still learning settings parameters and feature set acceptable for my use. Print up to a4 and all good, overall a great camera for the price paid and now eyeing up a 550d!!

mahendra sharma

September 30, 2013, 7:17 am

CANON EOS 1000D IS A GOOD CAMERA. BUT FOUCS PROBLUM IN LOW LIGHT BECUSE FOUCS LIGHT IS NOT BRIGHT,,,,,,,,,

Md.Habib Ullah

October 5, 2013, 5:35 am

i want to buy a SLR camera but my price range is maximum BDT 30,000 which model is better for me?

Ashraf Ali

January 25, 2014, 10:42 am

i have a problem in canon camera 1000d (E99 bettery error

Allottia Paynes

December 23, 2015, 9:01 am

I can't make any phone calls with this model, is it faulty?

comments powered by Disqus