BT Home Hub 4 pictures

1 of 11 pictures

BT Home Hub 4
BT Home Hub 4

11 Pictures - BT Home Hub 4

  • BT Home Hub 4
  • BT Home Hub 4
  • BT Home Hub 4
  • BT Home Hub 4
  • BT Home Hub 4
  • BT Home Hub 4
  • BT Home Hub 4
  • BT Home Hub 4
  • BT Home Hub 4
  • BT Home Hub 4
  • BT Home Hub 4

TerFar

August 9, 2013, 10:26 am

How do the pings compare? WiFi suffers poor ping compared to gigabit CAT6 and ping is often more important than raw speed.

ByeLaw

August 9, 2013, 10:31 am

You mean latency right?

Tom

August 20, 2013, 12:18 pm

I've been using this router for about a month now and I'm very impressed.I didn't experience any disconnections yet.I play a lot of games using PS3 and I have no lags or any other problems with it.I had quite a few routers before and I do recommend this one to anybody.The thing is I would never pay £109 for it.It is worth about £50

MikeX

August 24, 2013, 2:42 pm

Just be warned there are some issues with DLNA support with this router! The BT forums are full of reports on compatibility problems, which were not present with the HH3. I have experienced issues with this router related to both the wireless and wired DLNA support. The wired problems can be largely overcome by assigning a short name to the devices in the DHCP table of the HH4, especially when this already contains a name which includes the MAC address. The wireless issues can't be overcome and only using another Wi-Fi router seems to fix the issues.
I suggest any future reviews test for proper DLNA functions using a range of devices (Blu-ray players, music streamers etc.), using both the wired and wireless connections.

mike

August 28, 2013, 10:05 am

Very poor performance if you have any Apple products, constantly drops wifi connection, there is obviously a major conflict between the hub and Apple protocols. Have reverted to our old Netgear router and wifi has been completely stable since. if you have iPads or iPhones don't bother life is too short without additional hassles.

Ketchupcol

September 3, 2013, 7:53 am

I have had a nightmare with the Homehub 4. Totally agree with you mike; I was iPhone/ iPad/ iMac and they all drop the hh4 wireless , ALL the time.
I tried lots of things including splitting the 2.1 and the 5 ghz signals, but still have problems and timeout connections.
So frustrating as I was expecting all my Internet problems to be over paying a lot of money for bt infinity 2.

The router is the biggest let down. It's like having Jamie Oliver in the kitchen and Norman wisdom bringing you your food.

Going to go back to my old router for now .

Timbo

September 15, 2013, 10:07 am

I have used the Hub 3 version a, then went to version b and I must say the version b was very good. I had excellent wireless all over the 3 story house, but alas when my contract was over, and been with bt for 7 years I decided to go to o2. The switch over to o2 was fantastic and what excellent service too. But o2 sold out to sky so I thought I would return to bt. The biggest mistake of my life. Despite having spending 1 hour in a phone box trying to find somebody that cared at bt, I decided to sack them. In-between bt & sky the internet was terrible on the Hub 4, on one pc I could not get a connection, nor could I do so on my smart phone or the B&O TV. I had to email bt to inform them that the hub 4 was basically USLESS & not fit for purpose. I went to sky BB and the connection is faster than bt and all my wireless items now work a treat. I also emailed bt to take the hub away, seems they are not interested lol..

thegrahamp

October 29, 2013, 5:41 pm

So wish I had search reviews before changing from Sky to BT - the Sky router was slow but I've had no end of problems with the BT HH4 - not been able to download a film to my iPad since switching and running my iPhone on the 3G just so it works.
Looks like I'm going to have to buy another router.

climor

November 18, 2013, 2:44 pm

Already on my second BT HH4. Constantly drops out and restarts its self when it pleases.
Very disappointing with this Bad Boy! It certainly behaves like a bad boy. Perhaps I should just turn it off and put that Bad boy over there in the corner.

Nikie Lima

January 28, 2014, 7:10 am

It looks huge. I have a RavPower filehub and it's a small gadget that could perform as a WIFI hotspot and battery charger. Love it!

Xman

January 29, 2014, 10:34 am

It works when you have direct sight but fails and the connection to gadgets drop when the are obstacles - in my home specially behind 2 standing walls in a similar way to the tests from trusted reviews. Did try splitting the 2 and 5 networks but range is an issue on the 2.4ghz frequency. Considering a separate all in one router and if that fails then I think I will have to relocate the master socket.

Barry

February 3, 2014, 8:17 pm

Ipad 2 and bt hub 3 nightmare always drops signal, fed up with BT can't watch anything in hi def on ipad without wifi outing

TerFar

August 18, 2014, 9:19 am

Yes.

muskangul

October 22, 2016, 1:42 pm

Dear I am using BT Home Hub4 but it is showing 300MBps speed at 5GHz.
but my Home hub 5 shows 1300 at Home Hub5

comments powered by Disqus