Bose QuietComfort 20i Deals

Andrew Williams

By Andrew Williams

Reviewed:

Friv Jogos

September 23, 2013, 10:17 am

This is what I've been looking for. Thank you!

Mark Thomas

September 25, 2013, 12:53 pm

Just read this article while wearing my QC20i's that I picked up on Monday on my way through Heathrow airport. I've been waiting for these for about 3 months since I saw the initial press release details. I travel by plane every week to my work and until now have been using in-ear headphones and didn't want the QC15 as I don't like big over-the-ear sets.

Intitial impressions

1) Fit is good, though they can feel loose compared to actual in ear sets, but they are supported by rubber branches to hold onto the upper part of the ear, with 3 different sizes. I've not had them fall out on me, but take a second or two extra to put in place.
2) Sound quality very good, though not top of the list excellent. Currently listening to ACDC and the sound is good, loud and clear.
3) Power brick, it's inconvenient, but a necessary evil. I wish they had give a few centimetres more length on the brick to phone side cable. Charge very good and lasts a long time.
4) Onto Noise cancelling and the whole point for which I bought these. BLOODY Marvellous. The amount of noise it cuts out is excellent. My journey Heathrow to Madrid was always a pain with the drone of engine noise cutting through into my ears. Now with these on and the active cancelling switched on, the whole world outside of what you are listening to disappears. It can be quite disconcerting to then switch off the cancelling and come back to the real world and start hearing all the noise again. I've also used them on a local Metro train and again cuts out all background noise. In an office though they do let a bit of chatter in from colleagues on nearby desks so are much more useful in constant sound situations and not chatty environments.
5) Looks, well with the brick hanging out of your pocket and the grey / black cable the look isn't great. Also the actual ear phones themselves are quite large as that is where the noise sensors are and give a bit of a Uhura look, but not to bad.

Overall I'm very impressed and would recommend to anyone like me who does a lot of travelling in planes/trains or automobiles.

Like the review above I would score them 8/10

Andrew_TR

September 25, 2013, 1:09 pm

Sounds like we agree then :) Hope you enjoy your QC20s

Mark Thomas

September 25, 2013, 2:41 pm

One other item I forgot to note above is that there is a slight problem if you are listening and charging at the same time, then there is a noise / feedback from the electricity charging that comes through the headphones. I've only tried this so far charging via USB to my Macbook so don't know if there is the same problem if you are charging via the mains power

Abu Nudnik

October 6, 2013, 1:27 am

Noise cancelling is always better in constant noise because the anti-noise has to be created to cancel out the waves.

Abu Nudnik

October 6, 2013, 1:27 am

$329???

Luis Eduardo Vélez Montoya

December 1, 2013, 11:56 pm

Hey @Mark Thomas: thanks for your comments. Were these any cheaper on the duty free section if the airport, compared to the retail price?

Mark Thomas

December 2, 2013, 2:01 pm

Hi Luis,

There were at that point £5 cheaper than Amazon. I was travelling London to Madrid, so don't know if they would be cheaper in different airports, e.g. somewhere in the states.

Cienna Tower

December 13, 2013, 5:26 pm

I found these headphones to be incredibly overpriced. The sound quality is thin and tinny and although the noise cancelling feature works great, it comes at the cost of convenience.. The cumbersome battery pack is the size of a lighter and has two connections points which I'm pretty sure over time will more than likely break. The charge lasts a good long time but who wants to charge a pair of headphones? I bought a pair of headphones from a competitor not 6 months before at half the cost with far better results. The noise cancelling is nowhere near as impressive as the bose but the sound quality is far superior. I'm now using the older headphones and keep the bose in their carrying case for days when I'll be hiking and want to block out the sound of traffic.

Ian Morgan

April 24, 2014, 1:20 pm

I bought mine from a Bose retailer at Dallas Airport. £ price according to my bank statement ended up being £206 and that included an extra pack of eartips in my size

frank

September 18, 2014, 6:53 am

share the name of the competitor!

Rene Väli

March 28, 2016, 5:54 am

Hey, I'm considering to buy these to use mainly in the office. The radio is playing and there's often loud conversation, which makes concentrating really difficult. Do the QC20i work as well for the office as they do for airplane noise and such? Also, could there be a new model coming out soon?

comments powered by Disqus