BlackBerry Q5 video review

Luke Johnson



Read the full BlackBerry Q5 review

The BlackBerry Q5 is the first BlackBerry 10 handset to target a mid-market price-point. At £320 on a PAYG basis, however, the physical QWERTY hosting handset always struggles to live up to this pricing, with a cheap, chunky design and low-key innards letting it down. At 10.8mm thick and 120g in weight the Q5 is by no means svelte. Its plastic body is more suited to an entry-level device and creeks and groans when put under even moderate amounts of pressure. The Q5 is not all doom-and-gloom though, far from it. It is a phone which plays to its strengths. The physical QWERTY is still the party piece and continues BlackBerry’s run of good form in this area. Although not quite as pleasing as the keyboard on the high-end BlackBerry Q10, the Q5’s offering is responsive and well-spaced, helping reduce accidental key strokes. This keyboard works brilliantly alongside the BB10 OS too, with multiple shortcuts available to help create a speedy, intuitive user experience. It is not the only input option though. A 3.1-inch 720p square touchscreen display also features. This display is detailed and sharp although could do with being a little brighter. The 1.2GHz dual-core processor at the heart of the Q5 is satisfactory but far from pushing the boundaries. Paired with 2GB of RAM it keeps things running along smoothly but shows its lack of legs when facing more strenuous tasks. BBM as always is a plus but BlackBerry World’s continuing lack of big name apps is a concern. There are a range of games on offer which all perform well but on a square 3.1-inch display fail to become particularly absorbing or engaging. The same can be said about video consumption. The Q5’s camera is a 5-megapixel offering and is a moderate performer. Pictures are acceptable but again a long way from some of the phone’s more illustrious rivals and focus times can become annoyingly slow and lethargic. A 2180mAh battery keeps the phone going all day with ease while a limited 8GB of internal storage can be expanded via microSD to 32GB. The BlackBerry Q5 should have been a phone to follow-on from the aging Curve range. In reality, though, it is an overpriced plastic option which will do the ailing Canadian manufacturer no favours at all.

More Mobile Phone Videos

└► Ha[X]aN ◄┘

May 14, 2013, 7:05 pm

good one price ?


May 15, 2013, 2:13 am


Nanda Linn Aung

May 15, 2013, 5:01 am

nice one.... if they sell less than 199$ outright, it might be a hit.


July 8, 2013, 9:09 am

Hmm.."stunningly timeless" Really? Are you quite sure? Maybe "squat, chunky, fragile and with suspect signal reception" would be another, equally valid way to describe it? And if having a fixed battery doesn't stop the iPhone 4 being both "stunning" and "timeless", or hinder its adoption by business, care to explain why it should be an issue for the Q5?

As for being "unbalanced" I'd argue that having the weight favour the lower part of a handset makes perfect sense. I'm not even sure I understand what you mean by "feels unbalanced".

Granted the price seems a bit steep at the moment and the main camera is very poor, but performance, screen, keyboard, battery life and webcam are all very good and its 4G-enabled and unlike the iP4/S/5 and Nexus 4 there's storage expansion.

As for the price, are you quite sure it's £320 on PAYG? CPW is offering it for £320 SIM-free, I can't see any PAYG offers at the moment from the major UK telecos or re-sellers. On contract it seems to be offer from just over £20 a month which seems a pretty reasonable price for a device like this.

Jason Peters

July 9, 2013, 8:06 am

I agree with what the Trusted Reviews team are saying about the Q5 but I'm still having concerns over areas that are somewhat "picky" would never be happen during any Apple product review.

The acknowledgements to it's market sector are very well referenced but not in the context that compromises have to be made in prooduction for it to reach a price-point for the market it's aimed at.

Comparing is a great reference point, but why? In a polite and quick from Ed, following my comments during the Z10 review I was told that refrencing a S4 or S3 although "well known" don't have the awareness - so why would readers know about a P6?

So why I love the review, I really do think in order for me to "trust" this website, I'd like to see a bit more honesty towards Apple and it's other products, we are all guilty of a little bias, but on a website that sells it'self as "Trusted" giving an honest opinion; I feel some products come in for that on here, while the Apple products "being stunningly timeless" don't.

I can see a growing frustration from many readers about the incongrunency in news and reviews.


July 20, 2013, 12:48 am

5 out of 10? The price shouldn't be included as a negative, because price always changes. PLUS why are you using e-bay? They will OVERPRICE anything they can, especially when its a new product.
I would give this phone a 7 out of 10, with the Q10 getting a 9.5 out of 10.

Anyhow I can see some bias going on here, but that is my opinion. The Q5 deserves a higher score.


August 2, 2013, 4:50 am

help me am goin to buy BBM Q5 today .. s


August 16, 2013, 12:24 am

I think this is the phone for me. Any Q5 users here around!?!?!? Well, i m planning to buy it next week, you guy'z opinion makes me feel to either buy it or not......HELP ME GUYZZZZ!!!!!!!!!


September 20, 2013, 9:08 am

Proble with Camera, facing problem with camera cant switch on, funny message that camera can't start. Service center want to keep phone for 1 months to send it to the manufacturer place. and its very common problem with most of the Q5 users. Pls think before buy.


September 20, 2013, 9:09 am

Please read my commets before buying abt camera problem with Q5


September 27, 2013, 4:14 pm

I've seen the phone as cheap at $300. Prices are coming down. Performance is really good for the pricepoint IMO.

Blackberry Q5

October 7, 2013, 10:50 pm

I am a Z10 user, a PlayBook user, and a Q5 user. I would much rather spend the $300.00 for the Q5, than the Q10. The Q5 is an unbelievable phone. Who gives a rat's behind about 50,000 flashlight apps, when you can have a phone, an OS, and the best keyboards and prediction around on a smart phone. I had all kinds of brands...and I ALWAYS come back to BlackBerry. They really do make an amazing product.

The problem that people have is this: Stop trying to compete with the Joneses because they use Apple, and learn what a good phone is...a lot of people who use the iphone don't know half of what the capabilities are of the device that they're buying anyhow. They do it to just keep up with the next person....truly sad. You don't know what you're missing by passing up on a BB10 phone....seriously. They are fast, have the best keyboards...virtual or tactile...removable batteries, expandable storage, great camera, mature and useful apps...and they have class!

david hugeson

November 27, 2013, 7:06 pm

i am a owner of the blackberry q5 i have it in red and it is a beautiful device packs all the great features and also has 2gb of ram as the s4 has it is good wekk round phone doesnt disappoint battery lasts 2 days for me heavy user good front camera for skype and bbm video and if you want to go the extra mile with apps you can even sideload which run smooth buy the blackberry q5 trust me user


March 24, 2014, 6:29 pm

How much louder would the "clicky" noise be for the keyboard on a Q5 than a Q10? Would it wake my wife in the middle of the night if I start typing?

comments powered by Disqus