Home » Gaming » Games » Beyond: Two Souls » Pictures

Beyond: Two Souls pictures

1 of 14 pictures

Beyond: Two Souls
Beyond: Two Souls

14 Pictures - Beyond: Two Souls

  • Beyond: Two Souls
  • Beyond: Two Souls
  • Beyond: Two Souls
  • Beyond: Two Souls
  • Beyond: Two Souls
  • Beyond: Two Souls
  • Beyond: Two Souls
  • Beyond: Two Souls
  • Beyond
  • Beyond
  • Beyond
  • Beyond
  • Beyond
  • Beyond


October 7, 2013, 5:42 pm

Not sure if I'll get this or arkham origins...


October 8, 2013, 4:50 am

Meow! What time will the embargo be lifted!?!?!
Is the game just average that'd be really disappointing.


October 8, 2013, 12:17 pm

arkham origins i'll say.

Tim Sutton

October 8, 2013, 7:48 pm

That's a MUCH higher score than all the other reviews I've seen.

Obviously entertainment is subjective, but everywhere else thinks the underlying graphical tech is amazing, but wasted on a dull, leaden and unrealistic script and an experience where you as the player have very little impact on proceedings whatsoever.

EDIT: I'm genuinely not trying to be 'that' guy, but if anyone only reads this review I seriously think they'll have unrealistic expectations of the quality of the game. For balances sake, here's the end of review summary from Ars Technica

"The Good

- Beautiful environmental design and character animation
- Ellen Page proves she can salvage bad material

The Bad

- Disjointed story that barely holds together through time-jumping structure
- No sense of agency or ability to meaningfully change the story
- A parade of overwrought, clichéd plot points straight out of high school creative writing class
- An utter lack of tension or anything resembling real drama
- Characters that can't hold together coherent motivations
- Insultingly easy quick time events
- Gameplay mostly boils down to "find the dot to continue the story"

The Ugly

- The fact that, somehow, David Cage took the lessons of Heavy Rain and created this

Verdict: Stay far, far away."

Matthew Bunton

October 9, 2013, 8:35 am

A typical PS3 exclusive game, technically impressive but, you spend more time watching it than actually playing it.

Stuart Andrews

October 9, 2013, 9:09 am

I knew writing the review that the scores were going to be all over the shop for this one, and I've done my best to be open about the major issue - the feeling that you're not always in control, and the rather artificial limits on what you can and can't do. For the first three or four hours I oscillated between really liking it and really not liking it, and I have to say that it's more of an 'experience' or 'drama' than an actual game. For me, though, and for plenty of other reviewers the experience works. I found the story held together - certainly much more so than with Heavy Rain or Fahrenheit - and I found it gripping, interesting and affecting. Some people don't and some people won't, just as some people don't and won't like an album or a movie. All I can give is my honest opinion, just as the guy from Ars has given his.

Tim Sutton

October 9, 2013, 10:43 am

I completely agree with you, entertainment is entirely subjective.

I didn't mean to insinuate I thought you were wrong in your opinion, I absolutely don't think that.

Its just that a 9/10 review score on TR on any product makes me think I can buy it without any worries whatsoever, and since this game is clearly extremely polarising I thought a balancing viewpoint might be helpful!

Stuart Andrews

October 9, 2013, 10:52 am

Thanks for the considered reply, Tim. It's always the difficulty with games, and I hate to post up a 'you might like it, you might not' verdict, partly because it smacks so much of fence sitting. What I always try to do is say "I like this, this is why I like it, and this is why you might not" (or the opposite), so at least it's clear where the negatives are.

I'll admit I spent a lot of time on this one worrying about the score, and whether to go with an 8 or a 9. In the end, I had to go with my gut verdict. Interestingly, other members of my family who aren't necessarily big gamers have really got caught up with this one. A lot of your response seems to relate to how closely you sympathize with Jodie and get into the story.


October 10, 2013, 8:41 pm

" I'm genuinely not trying to be 'that' guy, but if anyone only reads this review I seriously think they'll have unrealistic expectations of the quality of the game. For balances sake, here's the end of review summary from Ars Technica"

In contrast of saying that you still go ahead and post one of the worse reviews out there instead of something more balanced.

Please actually play the FULL game before you even try to give this game a review.

The story is in its disjointed state for a REASON. If you actually play the full game you will find out in the end. It is one of those "Oh my.. God.. is that why?" kind of moments.

"- The fact that, somehow, David Cage took the lessons of Heavy Rain and created this"

I do realize everyone has their own opinions, but ignorant stupid opinions made without any background or common sense is plaguing our internet community. Because one person deems it not what he wants to be, without TRYING to FINISHING the product they directly go to insult it and tell others to stay away from it. If you actually tried to see and play the story with an open mind, it would show you just how amazing it actually is.

I finished this game in 2 days 10~12 hours game play and was absolutely fascinated by the game/story by the end. The characters were absolutely easy to empathise with because of the chronological disorder the game play was set in. In the end you find out WHY the story is "disjointed" and it is there for a reason. Only if you actually tried it and finished it that is.

Joseph Blower

October 12, 2013, 8:14 am

Your mileage may vary, but for me, the game is transcendent.

It transcends both video games and movies to become something greater than either medium would ever be by themselves. I'm an avid gamer (I have 400+ Steam games, 400+ iOS games, and 100+ console games). Yet--to speak for myself--*I* found this game far more moving, thought-provoking, meaningful, and entertaining than many other games (including Super Mario Galaxy 1-2, Grand Theft Auto 4-5, The Last of Us, and others).

I can only compare it to Heavy Rain, The Walking Dead, or the Metal Gear Solid series: deep rich stories that have themes and messages that convey something of lasting meaning; something beyond the mindless (but fun) shooting and platforming of other titles.

I will remember this game for years to come. There are few works of fiction of any medium for which I can say the same.

If you like a rich deep story line and don't care about a lack of "agency" (it's always illusory in video games, anyway--there are always incredibly restrictive rules on game play), then this is *the* game of the seventh generation. The comparably minor errors in execution and direction can be ignored, when viewed in light of the whole.

Indeed, the question of whether this qualifies as a game is, like Dear Ester, a largely irrelevant and pedantic: It entertains. It provokes thought. It is emotionally moving. And it illustrates that games--like cinema or literature--can be taken seriously as a medium to both entertain and enlighten.

If judged solely as a film, or only as a game, I can understand the bad scores, but when you combine them, I think the effect is unparalleled and something we need to see more of. It seems to me that most reviewers of this game have profoundly and tragically missed the point.


October 12, 2013, 6:23 pm

beated the game in 2 days aswell. was about 12 hours. the story.. is just so amazing! the characters felt like theyr real. i know its more like a movie but you can make choices. i personaly would give it a 10/10 just from my own experience. and the endings are all great! after i beated the game it made me wonder maybe there are ghosts in the world xD (probably aren't but still.) anywaaaaays game was great loved it!


October 12, 2013, 8:52 pm

Retrospect: Do NOT stay far, far away. I've been more entertained in this game than with many other supposedly riveting games I've been told to play.
It is a disappointment when you even remotely try to compare it to Heavy Rain though.

My opinion is more on the lower-ratings side for this game, however it is still entertaining. So, things people should think about before buying:
-DO NOT go into this game with expectations based on the fact that Quantic Dream made it. Yes, they like to go outside the boundaries, but do not try to associate it with Heavy Rain like many (including myself) mistakenly have.
-It has a very rich story. But this means less gameplay and more story. If you want to watch an 11-hour movie, this is a great fit for you.
-It is not realistic. The plot gets a little extreme, but nothing horrendous. The graphics are beautiful, though.

Take every review you read before playing with a grain of salt, because the internet has proven that the experience received from this game varies GREATLY, and it's probably best to play it without any preconceived notions or expectations whatsoever. I know it's a little strange to say that, but then give my opinion on it anyway. I'm liking this discussion though... I hated the game at first because I was so frustrated and disappointed, but I'm liking the discussion it's brought up and I've found things that I can really appreciate within it.


October 18, 2013, 9:05 pm

I enjoyed the 'time-jumping' structure. A bit of a change as you actually had to piece things together yourself for a change. It was also nice to see how things linked together. I prefer it to getting every detail spoon fed to you like most games or films. This game required thinking to fully appreciate the story. Lack of tension...again I didn't feel that. Different for everyone though I guess

Cats Pajamas

November 25, 2013, 7:40 am

Never trust a game review from someone who says they "beated" it.


May 18, 2014, 9:06 pm

Seriously, this game underperformed and everyone knows it! In fact it was forgotten a month after it dropped. 9/10!? Really? For a game that was less than 12 hours?


May 18, 2014, 9:11 pm

Exactly! I find it funny how many people complain about that when it's not a Sony game or franchise, but have no issues whatsoever and call it "transcending" when it's a Sony game. Of course the grpahics can be much better when there is very little gameplay and even less enviornment to interact with. These "games" have a predetermined outcome based on the two or three choices you make so they can spend all their effort making an "interactive" cutscene.


May 18, 2014, 9:15 pm

His review was backed up by another review.

comments powered by Disqus