Home » TVs & Audio » Surround Sound System

Best Surround Sound Systems

Find the best surround sound systems for your needs from our reviews of the best home theatre systems, plus surround sound speakers.

  1. Onkyo TX-NR5010

    Onkyo TX-NR5010

    Price as reviewed £3,000.00
    2 Jan 2013
    Our rating:
    10/10

    Onkyo’s fantastic flagship amp will blow you away.

  2. Tannyo Mercury V

    Tannoy Mercury V

    Price as reviewed £1,090.00
    10 Feb 2012
    Our rating:
    10/10

    Exclusive: Tannoy’s new full-size 5.1-channel system is a corker.

  3. Onkyo TX-NR609

    Onkyo TX-NR609

    Price as reviewed £499.00
    6 May 2011
    Our rating:
    10/10

    Onkyo makes its annual assault on our awards with yet another feature-packed AV receiver.

  4. Marantz SR7005 AV receiver

    Marantz SR7005 AV receiver

    Price as reviewed £1,149.95
    7 Jan 2011
    Our rating:
    10/10

    Marantz' flagship receiver model has Danny Philips literally bowing down in awe at its power and poise. Is this home cinema at its finest?

  5. Onkyo TX-SR608 front

    Onkyo TX-SR608

    Price as reviewed £349.00
    25 Aug 2010
    Our rating:
    10/10

    The TX-SR608 is a wonderfully feature-rich AV receiver with a great price.

  6. Panasonic DMR-BS850 Freesat Blu-ray & HDD Recorder

    Panasonic DMR-BS850 Freesat Blu-ray & HDD Recorder

    Price as reviewed £948.50
    17 May 2009
    Our rating:
    10/10

    With twin Freesat tuners, Blu-ray recording, a hard drive and more, the DMR-BS850 breaks new ground.

  7. DVDO iScan VP50Pro Video Processor

    DVDO iScan VP50Pro Video Processor

    Price as reviewed £2,250.00
    18 Nov 2008
    Our rating:
    10/10

    John checks out the DVDO iScan VP50PRO - a tasty THX Video certified and HDMI 1.3 enabled video processor.

  8. Onkyo TX-NR906 AV Receiver

    Onkyo TX-NR906 AV Receiver

    Price as reviewed £1,399.99
    10 Oct 2008
    Our rating:
    10/10

    We liked Onkyo's entry-level receiver but can its top of the range model keep up the good work?

  9. OPPO DV-983H DVD Player

    OPPO DV-983H DVD Player

    Price free/subscription
    29 May 2008
    Our rating:
    10/10

    It's pricey, but as far as DVD players go, OPPO's DV-983H is as good as it gets.

  10. Panasonic DMR-EX88 DVD/HDD Recorder

    Panasonic DMR-EX88 DVD/HDD Recorder

    Price as reviewed £379.00
    26 May 2008
    Our rating:
    10/10

    Panasonic continues to impress with its Freeview recorders, with this DVD/HDD combo unit matching its peers.

  11. Panasonic DMR-EX78 DVD/HDD Recorder

    Panasonic DMR-EX78 DVD/HDD Recorder

    Price as reviewed £295.39
    8 May 2008
    Our rating:
    10/10

    Panasonic knows a thing or two about digital recorders and the DMR-EX78 is a perfect example of this.

  12. Humax PVR-9200T Personal Video Recorder

    Humax PVR-9200T Personal Video Recorder

    Price as reviewed £159.89
    27 Mar 2008
    Our rating:
    10/10

    One of the best Freeview PVRs money can buy.

  13. Denon AVR-X1200W

    Denon AVR-X1200W

    Price as reviewed £299.00
    9 Feb 2016
    Our rating:
    9/10

    Denon's feature-packed AV receiver delivers killer performance at a bargain price

  14. Ruark Audio R2 Mk3

    Ruark Audio R2 Mk3

    Price as reviewed £399.99
    17 Dec 2015
    Our rating:
    9/10

    An incredibly versatile all-in-one music system that sounds as good as it looks

    Best price
    $588
  15. Samsung R5

    Samsung R5

    Price as reviewed £349.95
    1 Dec 2015
    Our rating:
    9/10

    Exclusive review of Samsung’s cylindrical multiroom speaker