Home » Computing » Software

Best Software

Find the best software for your needs from our reviews of the best utilities, office, reference, operating system software and more.

  1. Corel PaintShop Photo Pro X3

    Corel PaintShop Photo Pro X3

    Price as reviewed £49.16
    14 Feb 2010
    Our rating:
    9/10

    Corel PaintShop remains the best consumer alternative to Adobe Photoshop

  2. Microsoft Windows 7

    Microsoft Windows 7

    Price as reviewed £72.00
    22 Oct 2009
    Our rating:
    9/10

    It's time to nail the colours to the mast. Is Windows 7 any good? Read on to find out!

  3. Adobe Premiere Elements 8 and Photoshop Elements 8

    Adobe Premiere Elements 8 and Photoshop Elements 8

    Price as reviewed £112.00
    14 Oct 2009
    Our rating:
    9/10

    Version 8 of Adobe's Premiere and Photoshop Elements bundle is here, so is there even greater emphasis on the new user?

  4. Adobe Premiere Pro CS4

    Adobe Premiere Pro CS4

    Price as reviewed £676.04
    18 Jan 2009
    Our rating:
    9/10

    James takes a look at Adobe's workhorse video editor, Premiere Pro CS4.

  5. Corel VideoStudio Pro X2

    Corel VideoStudio Pro X2

    Price as reviewed £59.97
    13 Dec 2008
    Our rating:
    9/10

    Another great video editing package at a bargain price. Can Corel give Adobe a run for its money?

  6. Adobe Premiere Elements 7

    Adobe Premiere Elements 7

    Price as reviewed £69.20
    29 Nov 2008
    Our rating:
    9/10

    At last! Adobe Premiere Elements now supports AVCHD footage.

  7. Nuance Dragon NaturallySpeaking 10 Preferred Wireless

    Nuance Dragon NaturallySpeaking 10 Preferred Wireless

    Price as reviewed £172.98
    5 Sep 2008
    Our rating:
    9/10

    Nuance updates its NaturallySpeaking speech recognition software and Simon's on hand to test it.

  8. TrustWare BufferZone Pro

    TrustWare BufferZone Pro

    Price free/subscription
    31 Mar 2008
    Our rating:
    9/10

    The next step in protecting your PC.

  9. Nuance PDF Converter Professional 5

    Nuance PDF Converter Professional 5

    Price as reviewed £87.59
    25 Mar 2008
    Our rating:
    9/10

    Can Nuance's PDF Converter Pro 5 give Adobe's Acrobat a run for its money?

  10. BeInSync Professional

    BeInSync Professional

    Price free/subscription
    12 Mar 2008
    Our rating:
    9/10

    Be in sync with BeInSync.

  11. Microsoft Office For Mac 2008

    Microsoft Office For Mac 2008

    Price as reviewed £188.00
    5 Feb 2008
    Our rating:
    9/10

    Last year saw the refresh of Office for Windows PCs and now it's the turn of the Macs. Can Microsoft offer a decent rival to iWork or will it fall by the wayside?

  12. ALK CoPilot Live 7 for Windows Mobile

    ALK CoPilot Live 7 for Windows Mobile

    Price as reviewed £80.00
    1 Nov 2007
    Our rating:
    9/10

    Things move fast in the world of sat-nav. Does CoPilot 7 do enough to keep up?

  13. iWork '08

    iWork '08

    Price as reviewed £50.98
    27 Sep 2007
    Our rating:
    9/10

    Apparently spreadsheets don't have to be boring! Simon Williams gets jiggy with Apple's latest office suite.

  14. Corel Paint Shop Pro Photo X2

    Corel Paint Shop Pro Photo X2

    Price as reviewed £51.00
    23 Sep 2007
    Our rating:
    9/10

    Paint Shop Pro remains the leading home photo editing software. Take a look at the new version, launched this month.

  15. Adobe CS3 Production Premium

    Adobe CS3 Production Premium

    Price as reviewed £1,502.52
    3 Jul 2007
    Our rating:
    9/10

    We take a look at the latest version of the bundle of choice for video professionals.