1. Apple MacBook Pro 15-inch with Retina Display

    Apple MacBook Pro 15-inch with Retina Display

    Price as reviewed £1,799.00
    27 Jun 2012
    Our rating:
    9/10

    With a stunning 2,880 x 1,800 IPS ‘Retina’ screen, Apple’s thinnest 15in MacBook Pro is its best yet.

  2. Lenovo ThinkPad X220 side

    Lenovo ThinkPad X220

    Price as reviewed £829.99
    30 Mar 2012
    Our rating:
    9/10

    Lenovo’s 12in ThinkPad X220 is one of the best ultraportable laptops available, with a great keyboard, excellent IPS screen and extras including 3G.

  3. HP Pavilion DM4-2101

    HP Pavilion DM4-2101

    Price as reviewed £499.99
    3 Feb 2012
    Our rating:
    9/10

    The best-looking, longest-lasting laptop you can get for under £500?

  4. Lenovo ThinkPad X121e

    Lenovo ThinkPad X121e

    Price as reviewed £510.12
    18 Nov 2011
    Our rating:
    9/10

    This tank-like 11.6in ultraportable offers more features, versatility and sheer quality than you have any right to expect for its starting price of around £330.

  5. Samsung Series 7 Chronos 700Z5A

    Samsung Series 7 Chronos 700Z5A

    Price as reviewed £946.80
    10 Nov 2011
    Our rating:
    9/10

    Lighter than the 15in MacBook Pro yet packing better specs for nearly half the price, the metal-clad 700Z5A is an all-round champion.

  6. Medion Erazer X6813 (MD97762)

    Medion Erazer X6813 (MD97762)

    Price as reviewed £899.00
    5 Oct 2011
    Our rating:
    9/10

    This stunning gaming laptop offers a Full HD 15.6in screen, Core i7 CPU, 8GB of RAM, GTX 460M graphics and a Blu-ray drive for under £900!

  7. Samsung RV720

    Samsung RV720

    Price as reviewed £406.16
    23 Sep 2011
    Our rating:
    9/10

    Want a large laptop without the large outlay? Samsung’s cheap but cheerful 17.3in effort comes highly recommended.

  8. Apple MacBook Pro 15in (MC723B/A)

    Apple MacBook Pro 15in (MC723B/A)

    Price as reviewed £1,651.32
    4 Mar 2011
    Our rating:
    9/10

    Faster CPUs, more powerful graphics and Thunderbolt come together to make the MacBook Pro a compelling portable workstation.

  9. Samsung R590

    Samsung R590

    Price as reviewed £739.23
    30 Sep 2010
    Our rating:
    9/10

    Samsung's latest 15-inch laptop ticks all the right boxes.

  10. Dell Inspiron M101z

    Dell Inspiron M101z

    Price as reviewed £498.99
    19 Aug 2010
    Our rating:
    9/10

    Dell serves up outstanding design, features and five hours battery life in this 11.6-inch ultra-portable laptop.

  11. HP Pavilion dm4

    HP Pavilion dm4

    Price as reviewed £649.97
    29 Jul 2010
    Our rating:
    9/10

    This sub-2kg, 14-inch mobile workhorse could be a front-runner for laptop of the year.

  12. Samsung Q330

    Samsung Q330

    Price as reviewed £523.50
    26 Jul 2010
    Our rating:
    9/10

    Samsung produces yet another excellent and affordable 13.3-inch laptop.

  13. Asus UL30A

    Asus UL30A

    Price as reviewed £529.99
    21 Jun 2010
    Our rating:
    9/10

    Battery life of over 10 hours makes this 13.3in laptop a tempting proposition.

  14. Sony VAIO Z Series (VPC-Z11Z9E/B) - 13.1in Laptop

    Sony VAIO Z Series (VPC-Z11Z9E/B) - 13.1in Laptop

    Price as reviewed £2,399.00
    5 May 2010
    Our rating:
    9/10

    Sony throws the kitchen sink at this ultra-fast, ultra-portable laptop with power saving graphics switching.

  15. Sony VAIO Y Series (VPC-Y11M1E/S) - 13.3in Laptop

    Sony VAIO Y Series (VPC-Y11M1E/S) - 13.3in Laptop

    Price as reviewed £649.99
    30 Apr 2010
    Our rating:
    9/10

    This affordable and stylish 13.3in laptop lasts over eight hours on a single charge.