Home » Computing » Laptop

Best Ultraportable/Ultrabook reviews

  1. Lenovo IdeaPad U300s

    Lenovo IdeaPad U300s

    Price as reviewed £899.00
    13 Feb 2012
    Our rating:
    8/10

    If you can live with its lack of SD card reader and screen’s poor viewing angles, the IdeaPad U300s is a stylish and ergonomic Ultrabook, and our current 13in ‘budget’ favourite.

  2. Toshiba Satellite Z830

    Toshiba Satellite Z830

    Price as reviewed £899.00
    25 Jan 2012
    Our rating:
    8/10

    One of the lightest, best-connected and most affordable 13in Ultrabooks on the market.

  3. Asus Zenbook UX31

    Asus Zenbook UX31

    Price as reviewed £999.00
    20 Dec 2011
    Our rating:
    8/10

    Leading the Ultrabook charge, this stylish 13in laptop is sleek, accomplished and fast, while coming with all the accessories you might need for under £1,000.

  4. Acer Aspire S3

    Acer Aspire S3

    Price as reviewed £1,079.98
    16 Nov 2011
    Our rating:
    8/10

    With its attractive aluminium and magnesium-alloy chassis, nice ergonomics and good screen, the 13in S3 is an exciting entrant in the Ultrabook market.

  5. MacBook Air 13in

    MacBook Air 13in

    Price as reviewed £1,349.00
    15 Sep 2011
    Our rating:
    8/10

    The 2011 MacBook Air proves that while a beauty and power combo isn't cheap, it sure is nice.

  6. HP ZBook 14 G2

    HP ZBook 14 G2

    Price as reviewed £2,563.00
    1 Jun 2015
    Our rating:
    7/10

    This super-charged Ultrabook has a Core i7 processor and discrete AMD graphics

  7. Gigabyte U2442V

    Gigabyte U2442V

    Price as reviewed £999.99
    11 Sep 2013
    Our rating:
    7/10

    A surprisingly impressive 1.6kg ultrabook with dedicated Nvidia graphics good enough for gaming.

  8. Samsung Series 5 NP540U3C 10

    Samsung Series 5 NP540U3C

    Price as reviewed £649.00
    9 May 2013
    Our rating:
    7/10

    A smart, affordable 13-inch touchscreen ultrabook. What could be better?

  9. Toshiba Satellite U940

    Toshiba Satellite U940

    Price as reviewed £599.00
    30 Apr 2013
    Our rating:
    7/10

    Toshiba's mid-priced Ultrabook offers a decent amount of bang for your buck as well as a few distinctive design touches

  10. Acer Aspire V5-571 Touch

    Acer Aspire V5-571 Touch

    Price as reviewed £549.99
    16 Apr 2013
    Our rating:
    7/10

    Strong specs at a decent price make the V5 Touch a good option but it does come with comprimises.

  11. Gigabyte U2442N

    Gigabyte U2442N

    Price as reviewed £799.00
    14 Mar 2013
    Our rating:
    7/10

    An ultraportable gaming laptop that packs in the specs.

  12. Acer Aspire S5

    Acer Aspire S5

    Price as reviewed £949.99
    12 Sep 2012
    Our rating:
    7/10

    A super-thin, premium Ultrabook that hides its connections with an innovative motorised door.

  13. Lenovo IdeaPad U310 8

    Lenovo IdeaPad U310

    Price as reviewed £599.00
    16 Aug 2012
    Our rating:
    7/10

    A budget-friendly 13-inch Ultrabook that comes in blue and pink.

  14. Toshiba Portege Z930

    Toshiba Portege Z930

    Price as reviewed £980.00
    15 Aug 2012
    Our rating:
    7/10

    Toshiba takes back the title of lightest 13in laptop in the world with this Ultrabook.

  15. Dell Inspiron 14z (2011/2012)

    Dell Inspiron 14z (2011/2012)

    Price as reviewed £579.00
    1 Dec 2011
    Our rating:
    6/10

    The cheaper, chunkier cousin to the XPS 14z offers a brushed aluminium lid in two different colours and some decent specs without breaking the bank. But is it any good?