1. Samsung HMX-QF30

    Samsung HMX-QF30

    Price as reviewed £249.00
    16 Apr 2013
    Our rating:
    9/10

    Good luck finding a better camcorder for less than this £250 beauty.

  2. JVC HD Everio GZ-EX515BEK

    JVC HD Everio GZ-EX515BEK

    Price as reviewed £262.00
    25 Feb 2013
    Our rating:
    9/10

    The JVC Everio GZ-EX515BEK offers decent image quality and lots of features for a keen price.

  3. Canon LEGRIA HF R406

    Canon LEGRIA HF R406

    Price as reviewed £259.99
    15 May 2013
    Our rating:
    8/10

    A great, low cost camcorder with a 32x optical zoom

  4. Panasonic HC-V500

    Price as reviewed £292.20
    18 Jun 2012
    Our rating:
    8/10

    Panasonic's HC-V500 brings proper optical image stabilisation to the budget camcorder.

  5. JVC HD Everio GZ-E205

    JVC HD Everio GZ-E205

    Price as reviewed £229.99
    2 May 2012
    Our rating:
    8/10

    JVC's HD Everio GZ-E205 packs decent image quality into a budget body.

  6. JVC HD Everio GZ-EX215

    JVC HD Everio GZ-EX215

    Price as reviewed £279.99
    4 Apr 2012
    Our rating:
    8/10

    The HD Everio GZ-EX215 is another maverick camcorder offering from JVC, with some genuinely useful wireless capabilities.

  7. Canon LEGRIA HF R26

    Canon LEGRIA HF R26

    Price as reviewed £249.99
    1 Feb 2012
    Our rating:
    8/10

    Canon's LEGRIA HF R26 offers decent features and image quality for the money.

  8. Panasonic HDC-SD40

    Price as reviewed £228.00
    9 Nov 2011
    Our rating:
    8/10

    Panasonic's HDC-SD40 packs a wealth of features into a tiny chassis, for a reasonable price.

  9. Panasonic SDR-S50 flip-out display

    Panasonic SDR-S50

    Price as reviewed £199.95
    26 May 2011
    Our rating:
    8/10

    If your budget can't stretch to HD, but you still want a well specified camcorder, this is definitely one to consider.

  10. Sanyo Xacti VPC-WH1 Waterproof Camcorder

    Price as reviewed £412.66
    15 Sep 2014
    Our rating:
    8/10

    The Sanyo Xacti VPC-WH1 camcorder is not only waterproof - it can also shoot in high definition.

  11. JVC Everio GZ-MS120

    Price as reviewed £262.60
    26 May 2011
    Our rating:
    8/10

    James checks out the dual memory JVC Everio GZ-MS120 - the company's latest 'YouTube ready' camcorder.

  12. Casio Exilim TRYX EX-TR100

    Price as reviewed £249.95
    10 Aug 2011
    Our rating:
    7/10

    The Casio TRYX is a compact with a twist, but does it deliver the goods or is it a case of all style and no substance?

  13. Canon Legria HF R18

    Price as reviewed £349.99
    26 May 2011
    Our rating:
    7/10

    Can Canon face off the competition for value again?

  14. Sony Handycam DCR-SX30E

    Price as reviewed £229.00
    26 May 2011
    Our rating:
    7/10

    The Sony Handycam DCR-SX30E camcorder is a relatively decent buy if you don't mind foregoing an HD resolution.