1. Samsung HMX-QF30

    Samsung HMX-QF30

    Price as reviewed £249.00
    16 Apr 2013
    Our rating:

    Good luck finding a better camcorder for less than this £250 beauty.

  2. JVC HD Everio GZ-EX515BEK

    JVC HD Everio GZ-EX515BEK

    Price as reviewed £262.00
    25 Feb 2013
    Our rating:

    The JVC Everio GZ-EX515BEK offers decent image quality and lots of features for a keen price.

  3. JVC Everio GZ-R315DE

    JVC Everio GZ-R315DE

    Price as reviewed £243.20
    9 Jun 2015
    Our rating:

    Limited manual controls but still a keenly priced, very rugged camcorder

  4. Canon LEGRIA HF R406

    Canon LEGRIA HF R406

    Price as reviewed £259.99
    15 May 2013
    Our rating:

    A great, low cost camcorder with a 32x optical zoom

  5. Panasonic HC-V500

    Panasonic HC-V500

    Price as reviewed £292.20
    18 Jun 2012
    Our rating:

    Panasonic's HC-V500 brings proper optical image stabilisation to the budget camcorder.

  6. JVC HD Everio GZ-E205

    JVC HD Everio GZ-E205

    Price as reviewed £229.99
    2 May 2012
    Our rating:

    JVC's HD Everio GZ-E205 packs decent image quality into a budget body.

  7. JVC HD Everio GZ-EX215

    JVC HD Everio GZ-EX215

    Price as reviewed £279.99
    29 Mar 2012
    Our rating:

    The HD Everio GZ-EX215 is another maverick camcorder offering from JVC, with some genuinely useful wireless capabilities.

  8. Canon LEGRIA HF R26

    Canon LEGRIA HF R26

    Price as reviewed £249.99
    1 Feb 2012
    Our rating:

    Canon's LEGRIA HF R26 offers decent features and image quality for the money.

  9. Panasonic HDC-SD40

    Panasonic HDC-SD40

    Price as reviewed £228.00
    3 Aug 2011
    Our rating:

    Panasonic's HDC-SD40 packs a wealth of features into a tiny chassis, for a reasonable price.

  10. Panasonic SDR-S50 flip-out display

    Panasonic SDR-S50

    Price as reviewed £199.95
    5 Feb 2010
    Our rating:

    If your budget can't stretch to HD, but you still want a well specified camcorder, this is definitely one to consider.

  11. Sanyo Xacti VPC-WH1 Waterproof Camcorder

    Sanyo Xacti VPC-WH1 Waterproof Camcorder

    Price as reviewed £412.66
    27 Jun 2009
    Our rating:

    The Sanyo Xacti VPC-WH1 camcorder is not only waterproof - it can also shoot in high definition.

  12. JVC Everio GZ-MS120

    JVC Everio GZ-MS120

    Price as reviewed £262.60
    28 Mar 2009
    Our rating:

    James checks out the dual memory JVC Everio GZ-MS120 - the company's latest 'YouTube ready' camcorder.

  13. Canon Legria HF R18

    Canon Legria HF R18

    Price as reviewed £349.99
    2 Feb 2011
    Our rating:

    Can Canon face off the competition for value again?

  14. Sony Handycam DCR-SX30E

    Sony Handycam DCR-SX30E

    Price as reviewed £229.00
    26 Jul 2009
    Our rating:

    The Sony Handycam DCR-SX30E camcorder is a relatively decent buy if you don't mind foregoing an HD resolution.