1. Sony HDR-CX505VE

    Price as reviewed £769.00
    26 May 2011
    Our rating:
    9/10

    The HDR-CX505VE shoots great video, has Sony's usual sturdy build, and is fairly compact.

  2. JVC Everio GZ-HM400

    Price as reviewed £649.95
    26 May 2011
    Our rating:
    9/10

    The Everio GZ-HM400 camcorder is an impressive return to the high-end for JVC.

  3. Panasonic HDC-TM350

    Price as reviewed £999.00
    26 May 2011
    Our rating:
    9/10

    The limited edition Panasonic HDC-TM350 camcorder takes an already winning formula and makes it even better.

  4. Panasonic HDC-HS200

    Price as reviewed £699.00
    26 May 2011
    Our rating:
    9/10

    The Panasonic HDC-HS200 high definition camcorder can capture great-looking footage, and it's good value too.

  5. Sony Handycam HDR-FX1000E

    Price as reviewed £3,599.95
    15 Sep 2014
    Our rating:
    9/10

    Promising pro performance for less than its fully pro camcorders, how does Sony's HDR-FX1000E shape up?

    Best price
    $3942
  6. Panasonic HDC-TM300

    Price as reviewed £879.95
    16 Sep 2014
    Our rating:
    9/10

    The Panasonic HDC-HS300 looked like a hard act to beat, but the HDC-TM300 is an even more desirable camcorder.

  7. Sony Handycam HDR-XR520

    Price as reviewed £909.99
    26 May 2011
    Our rating:
    9/10

    If you want to shoot great video and not fiddle with settings too much, the Sony HDR-XR520 is up there with the best.

  8. Canon Legria HF S10

    Price as reviewed £1,299.00
    26 May 2011
    Our rating:
    9/10

    The Canon Legria HF S10 is pricey, but it's still a great camcorder.

  9. Panasonic HDC-HS300

    Price as reviewed £979.00
    26 May 2011
    Our rating:
    9/10

    James thinks the HDC-HS300 could be the camcorder release of the year. Find out why...

  10. Panasonic AG-HMC151E

    Price as reviewed £2,759.00
    5 Feb 2011
    Our rating:
    9/10

    The convenience and speed of working with SDHC memory cards is put to good use by Panasonic's AG-HMC151E pro camcorder.

  11. Canon HG20

    Price as reviewed £670.68
    26 May 2011
    Our rating:
    9/10

    With the option to record AVCHD video at 24Mbits/sec, Canon's HG20 puts in a great performance. Updated with video review.

  12. Panasonic HDC-SD100

    Price as reviewed £698.95
    26 May 2011
    Our rating:
    9/10

    Panasonic makes the move to a trio of CMOS sensors in its HDC-SD100 - and James likes the results. Now updated with Video Review.

  13. Panasonic HDC-HS100

    Price as reviewed £749.00
    5 Feb 2011
    Our rating:
    9/10

    James takes a closer look at Panasonic's hard disk-based HDC-HS100 camcorder.

  14. Canon HV30

    Price as reviewed £620.98
    5 Feb 2011
    Our rating:
    9/10

    Canon's tape-based HV20 was one of the best HDV camcorders around, so does its successor, the HV30, take things further?

  15. Canon HF10

    Price as reviewed £705.94
    5 Feb 2011
    Our rating:
    9/10

    The HF10 is Canon's first flash-based Full HD AVCHD camcorder and it looks set to make a big impression.