Home / Product Round-ups / TVs / Best TV 2017: Best 49, 55 and 65-inch+ TVs

Best TV 2017: Best 49, 55 and 65-inch+ TVs

by

Panasonic TX-58DX802

7 / 14

Reviewed by John Archer

05 July 2016

Panasonic TX-58DX802

Read full Panasonic TX-58DX802 review

Today's best deals

  • Compare prices
  • ebay

Key features:

  • 58-inch LCD TV with edge LED lighting
  • Local dimming
  • Firefox TV OS
  • Native 4K resolution
  • HDR playback
  • Manufacturer: Panasonic
The 58-inch Panasonic TX-58DX802 sits towards the top of Panasonic’s 2016 TV range, and is nothing if not different. Its 4K/UHD, HDR-capable screen is mounted in a seriously striking easel-type stand. Rather than trying to fit speakers into its slim frame, it ships with an external sound bar.

Colours look absolutely beautiful for most of the time, with both HDR and SDR content. The wide colour gamuts we’re now routinely getting with HDR content are delivered with bags of impact. The addition of the soundbar helps to deliver one of the best out-of-the-box sound performances of any TV we've tested in the past year. It’s particularly strong at outputting bass that's far beyond the capability of the speakers built into typical mainstream flat-screen TVs.

With its striking design, seriously impressive sonics and mostly lovely UHD and HDR picture quality, the TX-58DX802 does more than enough to justify its £1,600 asking price.

Buy now at JohnLewis.com from £1,239

At the time of the review the Panasonic TX-58DX802 was available for £1,600

Our Score:

8

Best Deals for Panasonic TX-58DX802

  • Compare prices
  • ebay

Matthew Bunton

December 4, 2015, 4:11 pm

My vote would go to the Curry's exclusive PANASONIC
VIERA TX-40CX700B+.

A fantastic 40" 4K tv. It has a Firefox interface which is quick and supports Netflix and Amazon in Ultra HD.

I mostly use mine as a 4K PC monitor as it supports 4K over HDMI 2.0 at 60hz and 444 chroma. I tried many monitors including the newer G-sync 144 hz models and nothing compares to the Panasonic's image quality and colours. Input lag is 25ms using Leo Bodner test, as I am not a competative gamer this is fast enough for me.

I have paired mine with 2 x Evga GTX 980 ti classified cards and at 4K 60fps gaming has a new lease of life. I now couldn't go back to anything less than 4k.

It is easily the best television/monitor I have ever owned and I managed to pick mine up for just over £500 with a 5 year Panasonic warranty.

Murray Snudge

December 31, 2015, 4:52 pm

Samsung UE48JU7500 - 'a severe amount of motion blur' and you score it 9/10?

kobraaaa

February 1, 2016, 1:35 am

Nobody talks about customer service or warranty's? What good as a phone, if it dies before the warranty is up and stuff like this : http://globalnews.ca/news/1026... happens? Samsung has even paid cnet to do new reviews on products they already have done so on : http://www.businessinsider.com... and then do stuff like this http://www.idownloadblog.com/2... and this http://www.businessinsider.com... . Simply Google, Samsung Customer Service Reviews....The warranty of a TV and customer service, should matter as much, if not more, than the capabilities. I know from experience.

travel_lite

February 26, 2016, 3:13 pm

Excellent point.

An unbiased review of Customer Services is long overdue.

Shant Lola

February 29, 2016, 6:14 pm

I would concur with your appraisal. I recently picked up the Panasonic TX-60CX740E and has great picture quality. Previously had a Panasonic Plasma, but power surge destroyed it.

Before making the purchase, I compared it to several Samsung models including the JS7200, JU7500, and JS8500. In my opinion the Panny came on top. The picture quality is more accurate than the Samsung models and very little motion blur if any.

I would recommend the CX740 or another model in the same range.

joethedocII

April 20, 2016, 3:55 pm

I'm sorry, but WHAT "drop-down menu???"

Lee Martin

June 12, 2016, 2:59 pm

The one in light grey on the edge of the thin box

KidRed

September 17, 2016, 4:53 pm

The non-functioning drop down menu in light grey...

Marko Bolo

October 18, 2016, 10:53 pm

I love oled TVs

T Barry

October 31, 2016, 12:51 pm

Samsung will bring its QLED to the table in the very near future with a greater HDR presents to enhance the color spectrum within the 4K realm..

"Beauty is still in the eye of the beholder"..!

Kevin Crabtree

December 23, 2016, 11:46 am

If you want to dip your toes for not a lot of money try one of the new TV's from Hisense. I just bought a 50 inch 4K UHD from Amazon for £380. It is amazing compared to the 7 year old Samsung LCD it replaced. OK it may not last 7 years, but it has a 2 year warranty and some smart functionality. the Netflix & Amazon aps are fast and the 4k stuff is glorious. You will need fibre broadband to enjoy it though.

wolfmeister

January 10, 2017, 9:13 pm

i'm confused by "trusted" reviews (who i usually use). On the john lewis website is a long list of people giving their purchased KS7000 a resounding battering due to "unwatchable" motion judder & motion artefacts. How did that get thru this review?

wolfmeister

January 10, 2017, 9:17 pm

One answer. John Lewis. 5 years free and they have great customer service. I even got a new panel fitted to one of my previous TV's that was 4 years & 9 months into it's warranty. The only downside is, obviously they don't offer every tv, only what they stock.

Also a tip: buy apple macs also from them, often they give free 3 years warranty (but always 2 years) free, and this is an apple backed warranty; apple to the repairs & servicing exactly the same as applecare.

Marko Palijan

January 15, 2017, 2:02 pm

55Ks7000 bad back plastic cover.i got my money back! https://uploads.disquscdn.com/...

comments powered by Disqus