Home / Product Round-ups / TVs / Best TV 2016: Best 49, 55 and 65-inch+ TVs

Best TV 2016: Best 49, 55 and 65-inch+ TVs

evan kypreos


Panasonic TX-50DX750

2 / 13

Reviewed by John Archer

29 March 2016

Panasonic TX-50DX750

Read full Panasonic TX-50DX750 review

Key features:

  • Native 4K resolution
  • Firefox OS smart system
  • HDR playback
  • Wide colour phosphors and ultra-bright pane

Carefully set up, the TX-50DX750 can deliver superb standard dynamic range 4K pictures. It’s capable of making HDR look jaw-droppingly good and the Firefox operating system remains excellent. The catch is that some backlight issues are apparent in dark HDR scenes. Still, there's no doubt this is a true next-generation TV, which is impressive given its approachable £1,300 price.

Buy Now at Currys from £879

At time of review the Panasonic TX-50DX750 was available for £1,300.

Our Score:


Matthew Bunton

December 4, 2015, 4:11 pm

My vote would go to the Curry's exclusive PANASONIC

A fantastic 40" 4K tv. It has a Firefox interface which is quick and supports Netflix and Amazon in Ultra HD.

I mostly use mine as a 4K PC monitor as it supports 4K over HDMI 2.0 at 60hz and 444 chroma. I tried many monitors including the newer G-sync 144 hz models and nothing compares to the Panasonic's image quality and colours. Input lag is 25ms using Leo Bodner test, as I am not a competative gamer this is fast enough for me.

I have paired mine with 2 x Evga GTX 980 ti classified cards and at 4K 60fps gaming has a new lease of life. I now couldn't go back to anything less than 4k.

It is easily the best television/monitor I have ever owned and I managed to pick mine up for just over £500 with a 5 year Panasonic warranty.

Murray Snudge

December 31, 2015, 4:52 pm

Samsung UE48JU7500 - 'a severe amount of motion blur' and you score it 9/10?


February 1, 2016, 1:35 am

Nobody talks about customer service or warranty's? What good as a phone, if it dies before the warranty is up and stuff like this : http://globalnews.ca/news/1026... happens? Samsung has even paid cnet to do new reviews on products they already have done so on : http://www.businessinsider.com... and then do stuff like this http://www.idownloadblog.com/2... and this http://www.businessinsider.com... . Simply Google, Samsung Customer Service Reviews....The warranty of a TV and customer service, should matter as much, if not more, than the capabilities. I know from experience.


February 26, 2016, 3:13 pm

Excellent point.

An unbiased review of Customer Services is long overdue.

Shant Lola

February 29, 2016, 6:14 pm

I would concur with your appraisal. I recently picked up the Panasonic TX-60CX740E and has great picture quality. Previously had a Panasonic Plasma, but power surge destroyed it.

Before making the purchase, I compared it to several Samsung models including the JS7200, JU7500, and JS8500. In my opinion the Panny came on top. The picture quality is more accurate than the Samsung models and very little motion blur if any.

I would recommend the CX740 or another model in the same range.


April 20, 2016, 3:55 pm

I'm sorry, but WHAT "drop-down menu???"

Lee Martin

June 12, 2016, 2:59 pm

The one in light grey on the edge of the thin box


September 5, 2016, 11:50 am

If your list doesn't contain at least one B&O then it's not a list I've got much time for.


September 17, 2016, 4:53 pm

The non-functioning drop down menu in light grey...

Marko Bolo

October 18, 2016, 10:53 pm

I love oled TVs

comments powered by Disqus