Home / Product Round-ups / TVs / Best TV 2017: Best 49, 55 and 65-inch+ TVs

Best TV 2017: Best 49, 55 and 65-inch+ TVs

by

Panasonic 65DX902

11 / 15

Reviewed by John Archer

19 April 2016

Panasonic TX-65DX902

Read full Panasonic TX-65DX902 review

Key features:

  • 65-inch LCD TV with direct LED lighting
  • Native 4K/UHD resolution
  • Ultra HD Premium certified
  • THX certified
  • Firefox Smart TV system
  • Manufacturer: Panasonic

The Panasonic TX-65DX902 was the brand’s flagship TV for 2016. It achieved such status thanks to the inclusion of a 4K/Ultra HD resolution and an unusually high level of support for the new high dynamic range picture format.

The TX-65DX902 has blistering brightness as well as well balanced, stunning colours which demonstrates itself in the darkest blacks and peak whites. In fact, such is the combination of brightness and black level response here that the TX-65DX902 puts the 'dynamic' in high dynamic range more aggressively than any other TV in 2016. It does take some careful setup of the adaptive backlight feature, or it really struggles when there's significant contrast on screen.

The dynamism of the colour also benefits the 3D, meaning that images look strong and stable. The Panasonic TX-65DX902 also has a soundstage that delivers much more bass and a far greater sense of dynamism and expansion in action scenes than is customary in the flat TV world.

Buy now at Currys.co.uk from £2,349

At the time of the review the Panasonic TX-65DX902 was available for £3,299

Our Score:

8

Matthew Bunton

December 4, 2015, 4:11 pm

My vote would go to the Curry's exclusive PANASONIC
VIERA TX-40CX700B+.

A fantastic 40" 4K tv. It has a Firefox interface which is quick and supports Netflix and Amazon in Ultra HD.

I mostly use mine as a 4K PC monitor as it supports 4K over HDMI 2.0 at 60hz and 444 chroma. I tried many monitors including the newer G-sync 144 hz models and nothing compares to the Panasonic's image quality and colours. Input lag is 25ms using Leo Bodner test, as I am not a competative gamer this is fast enough for me.

I have paired mine with 2 x Evga GTX 980 ti classified cards and at 4K 60fps gaming has a new lease of life. I now couldn't go back to anything less than 4k.

It is easily the best television/monitor I have ever owned and I managed to pick mine up for just over £500 with a 5 year Panasonic warranty.

Murray Snudge

December 31, 2015, 4:52 pm

Samsung UE48JU7500 - 'a severe amount of motion blur' and you score it 9/10?

kobraaaa

February 1, 2016, 1:35 am

Nobody talks about customer service or warranty's? What good as a phone, if it dies before the warranty is up and stuff like this : http://globalnews.ca/news/1... happens? Samsung has even paid cnet to do new reviews on products they already have done so on : http://www.businessinsider.... and then do stuff like this http://www.idownloadblog.co... and this http://www.businessinsider.... . Simply Google, Samsung Customer Service Reviews....The warranty of a TV and customer service, should matter as much, if not more, than the capabilities. I know from experience.

travel_lite

February 26, 2016, 3:13 pm

Excellent point.

An unbiased review of Customer Services is long overdue.

Shant Lola

February 29, 2016, 6:14 pm

I would concur with your appraisal. I recently picked up the Panasonic TX-60CX740E and has great picture quality. Previously had a Panasonic Plasma, but power surge destroyed it.

Before making the purchase, I compared it to several Samsung models including the JS7200, JU7500, and JS8500. In my opinion the Panny came on top. The picture quality is more accurate than the Samsung models and very little motion blur if any.

I would recommend the CX740 or another model in the same range.

joethedocII

April 20, 2016, 3:55 pm

I'm sorry, but WHAT "drop-down menu???"

Lee Martin

June 12, 2016, 2:59 pm

The one in light grey on the edge of the thin box

KidRed

September 17, 2016, 4:53 pm

The non-functioning drop down menu in light grey...

Marko Bolo

October 18, 2016, 10:53 pm

I love oled TVs

T Barry

October 31, 2016, 12:51 pm

Samsung will bring its QLED to the table in the very near future with a greater HDR presents to enhance the color spectrum within the 4K realm..

"Beauty is still in the eye of the beholder"..!

Kevin Crabtree

December 23, 2016, 11:46 am

If you want to dip your toes for not a lot of money try one of the new TV's from Hisense. I just bought a 50 inch 4K UHD from Amazon for £380. It is amazing compared to the 7 year old Samsung LCD it replaced. OK it may not last 7 years, but it has a 2 year warranty and some smart functionality. the Netflix & Amazon aps are fast and the 4k stuff is glorious. You will need fibre broadband to enjoy it though.

wolfmeister

January 10, 2017, 9:13 pm

i'm confused by "trusted" reviews (who i usually use). On the john lewis website is a long list of people giving their purchased KS7000 a resounding battering due to "unwatchable" motion judder & motion artefacts. How did that get thru this review?

wolfmeister

January 10, 2017, 9:17 pm

One answer. John Lewis. 5 years free and they have great customer service. I even got a new panel fitted to one of my previous TV's that was 4 years & 9 months into it's warranty. The only downside is, obviously they don't offer every tv, only what they stock.

Also a tip: buy apple macs also from them, often they give free 3 years warranty (but always 2 years) free, and this is an apple backed warranty; apple to the repairs & servicing exactly the same as applecare.

Marko Palijan

January 15, 2017, 2:02 pm

55Ks7000 bad back plastic cover.i got my money back! https://uploads.disquscdn.c...

comments powered by Disqus