Home » Round-ups » Tablets » Best Tablet 2015: 10 best tablets you can buy

Best Tablet 2015: 10 best tablets you can buy


Samsung Galaxy Tab S 10.5
Jump to:

6 of 10

Samsung Galaxy Tab S 10.5

Originally reviewed by Andy Vandervell 28 July 2014

Key features:

  • 10.5 inch AMOLED display
  • microSD slot
  • Octa-core processor

The bigger brother to the Galaxy Tab S 8.4, this 10.5-inch has simply the best screen of any tablet. The high-resolution, AMOLED display is perfect for watching movies on the go. You'll be able to watch plenty of them too. The 14-hour battery life means you'll have juice to spare on any but the longest flights.

The Galaxy Tab S 10.5 doesn't have the most premium design but it does have the benefit of being very thin and light. In fact it's almost the same weight as the iPad Air, but comes with a slightly bigger screen.

Unfortunately Samsung's Magazine UI is a little annoying. It doesn't offer the depth of features on apps that you get from normal Android widgets. We wouldn't mind so much if we could  turn it off. Just like on the 8.4-inch version the fingerprint scanner is pointless, but that doesn't stop the Tab S being the best 10-inch Android tablet by some way.   

Price: £349

Our Score


Michael Hankinson

November 12, 2014, 3:18 pm

Just bought a Hudl2 - best decision I've made in a long time, especially as I was able to use voucher thingies that I didn't know I had - and knocked £60 off the price. Only took 30 minutes to set up all my apps. mail etc. No need to deal with iTunes and all the other rubbish that Apple insists you MUST use. I can now consign my old iPad to the dustbin. I have an Apple MacBook Pro and a new Mac Pro and find Apple a really difficult company to deal with - especially with OS changes (first Mavericks and now Yosemite) which means some of my software doesn't work properly. I'm no lover of Tesco, but I have to hand it to them - at the price the Hudl2 is a winner in my book.


February 21, 2015, 2:30 am

Surface pro 3 is great and I agree is the best hybrid tablet. I also find myself agreeing that the 8.4 galaxy s tab is the best android and in my opinion best tablet all round.


February 21, 2015, 8:46 am

iPad Air 2 for the Win


February 21, 2015, 8:47 am

you dont have to use itunes and i seriously doubt you put an ipad in the dustbin

Matthew Bunton

February 21, 2015, 4:16 pm

So you own an Ipad, Mac Pro and a MacBook Pro but your complaining about their software. It doesn't really make a lot of sense mate.

Michael Hankinson

February 21, 2015, 7:32 pm

I started using Logic when it ran on a PC, Apple then changed it to a Mac only version - so I was stuck with Apple - like it or not and left PC. We then had the dreadful OS upgrade to Mavericks - which if you search the various forums, you'll see caused enormous problems for many music producers.(I think it may also have affected graphics software as well) It took more than six months for the various bug fixes to be released, during which time we all suffered. Many rants online about this, and not only from me !

As for the iPad - it still worked well until an OS upgrade which wouldn't run on version 1 so much of the software could not be updated or if it was a new release, could not be loaded at all. Luckily my grandson dropped it on the floor and the screen cracked and it wasn't worth fixing.

Finally I had an MacBook Pro which I used for mobile recordings, again running Logic - it has had less than 100 hours of use for classical recordings only. The screen suddenly showed only every alternate pixel. I sent it in the be fixed in Cambridge, and was told that it was not repairable - the very words were - "throw it in the dustbin, this is a manufacturing fault and the factory recall is no longer valid, it's too old a machine".

Is Apple product a great investment ? I think not. I'm still stuck with Apple because I use Logic - which is a great programme - but I've now purchased Cubase which runs on Mac AND PC so I guess my next purchase will be a high spec PC. My complaint about Apple is about upgrades that are released without thorough compatability testing and the fact that a perfectly serviceable machine is not fixable because of an integrated video card fault.

As Apple produce Logic surely they should have made sure the Mavericks upgrade was reasonably trouble free ?


February 21, 2015, 7:53 pm

You sound like an unlucky fella, I have had a Mac mini, MacBook black, MacBook aluminium, iMac 21 a MacBook air and 3 iPads without any real issues

Michael Hankinson

February 21, 2015, 8:09 pm

Yep - I guess I've been really unlucky. I loved my Mac Pro until this final problem - but the Mavericks release from Apple was real dog and cost me (and many others) a huge amount of lost time, I don't dare move to their latest offering in case I have more problems and I know quite a few other composers feel likewise. I also think Logic is a great programme - fantastic value for money - much cheaper than Cubase and loaded with better plugins than any alternative. I just feel let down by Apple - after all I've spent a heck of a lot of money on their products over the years - G4 - G5 - iPad - MacBook Pro - MacPro - wow, I could have bought a car instead.


February 23, 2015, 1:31 pm

how old was your MacBook?

Michael Hankinson

February 23, 2015, 4:13 pm

I honestly don't remember. I bought it in South Africa probably around 2004 ? - actually I bought two of them to record concerts with my orchestra - The Johannesburg Philharmonic for Classic FM South Africa. They were used for our symphony seasons - five weeks, four times a year - this one was kept as a spare in case of a breakdown so was hardly used at all. The company that looked at it in Cambridge said they could re-do the soldering of the mother board (a float process or something) which they'd done on other similar models, but couldn't recommend it as it might only last six months - so they said it was scrap. They told me it was a common problem with this particular series of Macbooks - that they had been recalled but that was quite a long time ago and I was too late. I just think a device of this price, with so little use should last longer !


April 28, 2015, 5:18 am

What size micro sd can a ipad air take? .... hdmi?...


April 28, 2015, 3:03 pm

who cares


April 28, 2015, 9:09 pm

People who want functionality, people who are't moronic sheep ;) Ipad air?! pmsl! they're rubbish.


April 28, 2015, 11:37 pm

Ah the minority u mean


June 12, 2015, 6:27 pm

I think there just might be an error in the copy, surely there isn't an Ipad Air 3 yet?
"iPad mini 2 – Size: 7.9-inch | Price: £239 – A tablet that just about trumps the newer iPad Air 3 because it's very similar but much cheaper" "


June 18, 2015, 8:28 pm

I purchased my Shield last October; they agreed to replace it in March. I took it on a 6 week trip and, well, I'm glad I took my Macbook with me! The Shield performed fine when it performed however, I suspect, it was badly affected by poor internet speeds. Now it's just started powering itself down! I am going to ask for a refund.

PS I am not a gamer but a general user and consider myself pretty knowledgeable.

Dracozar Gaming

August 10, 2015, 11:39 am

Your sense of "not-being-stupid" is gone, I believe.


August 10, 2015, 12:31 pm



October 13, 2015, 2:47 am

It is stupid to try and compare such disparate devices. No-one who is looking at a Surface device is also considering an iPad because the two things have almost zero cross-over. The iPad is a toy for people with too much money, a Surface is a PC for people who need to get things done on the go.

An iPad can only complicate your life, because it is an extra device, not one that can replace any existing device you have. At the end of the day it is just an oversized phone that can't make calls (similar internals, same OS). You'd be better off plugging your iPhone into a monitor (assuming that is even possible).

OTOH, a Surface can simplify your life by being both a tablet and a laptop. When I replaced my Surface Pro 2 with a more serious laptop (Dell M3800), I ended up having to get a tablet for all the things the laptop wasn't well suited to.


October 13, 2015, 2:49 am

Right, much better to give Apple $200 for more storage than give SanDisk $20 for the same result. It must be nice to have more money than you know what to do with.


October 13, 2015, 3:00 am

Then obviously you don't use them for much. Like Michael, I do a lot of high-end work on Macs and we've been through similar issues on the video side of things. e.g. Mavericks dropped support for Apple's own Animation codec in Quicktime. I imagine they did it because not many people use it any more but we have a library of around 6Tb of stock footage and more than half of that was encoded with the Animation codec, which means it no longer previews in Finder, it just gives you a generic Quicktime icon. That would be fine if everything was well named but because we used to be able to preview, we just kept the stock names they came with - iStockxxxxxxxx720p.mov, etc. It's an absolute freakin' nightmare that adds critical amounts of time to a lot of jobs and would take hundreds of man hours to remedy.

I also find After Effects and Photoshop far less stable on OS X than they are on my Windows laptop at home. In fact, I reckon my laptop is at least as fast, possibly faster, than the 8 month old MacPro I use at work, even though it only cost one-quarter as much. And because of the absurd design, IT had to buy break-out boxes for our video capture cards and the machines now have to sit on our desks as they won' tfit into the brackets the old machines did. That means we now have cables snaking all over our desks and every USB socket on the machine is taken by the basic set-up. Luckily our Dell monitors have a couple of USB sockets we can use. They also get ridiculously hot.


October 13, 2015, 8:48 am

who cares


October 13, 2015, 9:36 am

dont you ever tell me what i do or dont do mkay funboy


October 13, 2015, 9:37 am

once again shut up with your assumptions of me mkay funboy

comments powered by Disqus