Home / Product Round-ups / Mobile Phones / 12 Best Smartphones and Mobile Phones

12 Best Smartphones and Mobile Phones


9 / 10

Reviewed by Max Parker

15 March 2016

Samsung Galaxy S7

Read full Samsung Galaxy S7 review

A few simple tweaks make all the difference with the Samsung Galaxy S7

Key features

  • 5.1-inch quad-HD display
  • Exynos 8890 CPU, 4GB RAM
  • microSD slot, IP68 for water resistance, 32GB internal storage

We rarely give a phone full-marks here at TrustedReviews, but the Samsung Galaxy S7 deserves that accolade. The Korean company has taken the S6 and improved just about everything. The Exynos 8890 processor is ridiculouly fast and there's 4GB RAM for silky smooth multitasking, while the battery has had a much needed bump from 2,600 mAh to 3,000 mAh meaning it'll easily get you through the day.

The camera has been spruced up too. It's now a 12MP sensor (down from 16MP) but the pixels are bigger and the aperture has been widened to f/1.7 to let more light in. The result? Super detailed photos that don't get ruined by low-light surroundings.

It's a lovely looking phone and the addition of the slightly curved back makes it easier to pick up of a table and just generally hold for longer periods of time. Gorilla Glass 4 covers both the front and back, but it feels durable. It's IP68 rated for water-resistance too, so you can dunk it in 1m of water for 30 mins. Or y'know, take it in the bath.

TouchWiz has been toned down to the point where it isn't such a chore, though there is still a lot of preinstalled software that can't be deleted.

The Samsung Galaxy S7 is a fantastic phone, probably the best out there.

Buy Now at Amazon.com from $609

At time of review the Samsung Galaxy S7 was available for £569.

Our Score:



June 4, 2013, 7:18 pm

Samsung has a major flaw that they are trying to cover up. Their screens tend to develop a crack for no apparent reason rendering the phone useless. Has happened to me twice and a little search on the internet reveals it to be a problem with their entire galaxy line.

Benjamin Taylor

June 5, 2013, 2:41 pm

S3 at 3rd and S4 at 5th, somebody needs to lay off whiskey pmsl

Oshin Barua

June 6, 2013, 12:35 pm

We can expect that the lava mobile will come in this category very soon because it has launched very good smarts phone with latest features.

Emp Martinez

July 11, 2013, 6:12 am

I think Samsung galaxy s4 should be at number, Samsung mobile is best for me when it comes its features. Mark is right you must include Sony Xperia z.


July 16, 2013, 1:47 pm

Has anyone had problems with their Sumgung S4 camera, mine freezes and so does my galary.

Parikshit Srivastava

July 30, 2013, 7:21 am

I feel Samsung phones are over rated. Sony Xperia Z should be in top 3.

top mobile phones

August 2, 2013, 3:24 am

good info


August 17, 2013, 9:46 am

The bottom line is how many units of a model a company sell. Big HTC don't sell and that's why the company is struggling.

bad ass

August 27, 2013, 11:49 pm

yo yo yo this is bad ass's crue coming from me merking you

Ty Hub

September 24, 2013, 4:29 am

Lousy article! Not including Blackberry Z10 is not fair. The best messaging and keyboard for texting or what ever. If you use one, you will buy one! Guaranteed!!!


October 9, 2013, 5:37 am

wat about the Note 3????
its way better than the iphones and of course much better than the s4!!!


October 14, 2013, 10:28 am

This seems suspiciously like a traffic baiting article - I totally understand the needs for page views to boost revenue and I like the idea of this article buuuuuut it'd have been more interesting if this was a comparison based review rather than "look at this, read our existing reviews"


October 14, 2013, 1:10 pm

I wonder if the MotoX and the Lumia 1020 were considered... I have a nexus 4, but i have to admit that i really like Nokia. Bit sad we never got to see a Nokidroid. MotoX i think goes another way entirely, and seems that Motorola are realizing that software is as important (if not more so) than specs on higher end phones.


October 16, 2013, 9:08 am

How come Trustedreviews always goes to great lengths to exclude really interesting new technology in smartphones? Last year it was nokia 808 pureview and this year it is Lumia 1020.


October 16, 2013, 9:02 pm

The Nokia 808 Pureview was an innovative camera but we had two sent to us and both stopped working during testing so we couldn't actually review it, then it wasn't actually available anywhere. The Nokia 1020 is interesting and has its strengths however it's just not quite on par with the others in this list. Read our full review http://www.trustedreviews.com/...


October 17, 2013, 12:14 pm

You're right this list does not have a "winner" it's just the best phones we've reviewed in the last 12 months. Disagree with you re the HTC One though, it's still one of the best phones out there.


October 18, 2013, 11:12 am

Can you send us a picture when you do? Sounds awesome!

Peter Schmid

October 25, 2013, 7:19 pm

Hello Sam, same to me, my S4 had a hairline crack inside the screen two weeks
after purchasing and Samsung does not accept it as warranty case. I always had the phone in a cover, never sat on it and have the feeling to be left out in the rain because the phone is now completely useless because the display has gone as well. I suspect that the deficiency originated from a overheating of the battery.


October 26, 2013, 10:29 pm

Samsung phones are completely overrated and cheaply made. HTC, Sony, LG, Nokia and Apple over a Samsung any day.


October 26, 2013, 11:33 pm

I respect everyones pinion on various phones but to me the Sony Xperia Z is awesome best music player sound quality Just need a Bluetooth speaker you will notice how awesome it is in sound quality battery life is number one you have to see to beleive


October 30, 2013, 8:01 am

iPhone 5C does not really deserve to be in the list at all...How does it fit here...It is going to be scrapped very soon....


November 4, 2013, 1:35 am

You do not sound truthful Ryan, I maintain that Samsung is still best thing to happen to the smartphone business world. I own a Sony and an HTC, I rate Samsung ahead of both. The galaxy note 3 is the best phone on earth at the moment.


November 5, 2013, 3:30 pm

We've restructured these to be ordered by grade now. Any news on the aluminium SGN3?


November 6, 2013, 9:05 am

We'v removed it in the most recent update. It's a very good phone, but you're right to say it's not in top 10 right now.


November 7, 2013, 4:29 pm

IPhone the best

comments powered by Disqus