Home / Product Round-ups / Mobile Phones / 12 Best Smartphones and Mobile Phones

12 Best Smartphones and Mobile Phones

by

7 / 12

Reviewed by Andy Vandervell

16 May 2015

iPhone 6S

Read full iPhone 6S review

A surprisingly good upgrade from the iPhone 6

Key Features
  • 4.7-inch, 326ppi LCD screen
  • 1.8GHz, Apple A9 processor with 2GB RAM
  • 12-megapixel rear camera, 5-megapixel front camera
  • 3D Touch pressure sensitive screen

Today's best iPhone 6S deal:

The most recent iPhones were 'S' phones, which means they share the same basic design as the previous version but add a bunch of new features. For the iPhone 6S, those features include higher resolution cameras and a neat new pressure sensitive screen technology dubbed 3D Touch.

3D Touch is the outstanding new feature of the iPhone 6S. It allows you to activate all sorts of features by pressing a little harder on the screen, and it can detect several levels of pressure. For example, press on a link and you can preview it without leaving the app you're in; press a little harder and it will open it in Safari – Apple calls this Peek and Pop.

There are numerous small, useful uses for this – a '3D Touch' on the Camera app icon, for example, gives you the option to take a selfie straight away, so you don't have to select the mode in the app. It's a great way to get to what you need a little faster.

Apple's also improved the cameras. The main camera is up to 12-megapixels (from 8-megapixels) and has improved contrast performance. It also shoots 4K video, though it lacks optical image stabilisation – a useful feature that improves photo quality in low light. The front camera is improved, too, and adds a clever feature that uses the screen as a flash when taking selfies.

It's another excellent phone overall, though we'd like to see wireless charging in the next iPhones Apple launches.

At time of review the iPhone 6S was available for £650.

Our Score:

9

sam

June 4, 2013, 7:18 pm

Samsung has a major flaw that they are trying to cover up. Their screens tend to develop a crack for no apparent reason rendering the phone useless. Has happened to me twice and a little search on the internet reveals it to be a problem with their entire galaxy line.

Benjamin Taylor

June 5, 2013, 2:41 pm

S3 at 3rd and S4 at 5th, somebody needs to lay off whiskey pmsl

Oshin Barua

June 6, 2013, 12:35 pm

We can expect that the lava mobile will come in this category very soon because it has launched very good smarts phone with latest features.

Emp Martinez

July 11, 2013, 6:12 am

I think Samsung galaxy s4 should be at number, Samsung mobile is best for me when it comes its features. Mark is right you must include Sony Xperia z.

Bella

July 16, 2013, 1:47 pm

Has anyone had problems with their Sumgung S4 camera, mine freezes and so does my galary.

Parikshit Srivastava

July 30, 2013, 7:21 am

I feel Samsung phones are over rated. Sony Xperia Z should be in top 3.

top mobile phones

August 2, 2013, 3:24 am

good info

Maish

August 17, 2013, 9:46 am

The bottom line is how many units of a model a company sell. Big HTC don't sell and that's why the company is struggling.

bad ass

August 27, 2013, 11:49 pm

yo yo yo this is bad ass's crue coming from me merking you

Ty Hub

September 24, 2013, 4:29 am

Lousy article! Not including Blackberry Z10 is not fair. The best messaging and keyboard for texting or what ever. If you use one, you will buy one! Guaranteed!!!

samsung!

October 9, 2013, 5:37 am

wat about the Note 3????
its way better than the iphones and of course much better than the s4!!!

mothergoose85

October 14, 2013, 10:28 am

This seems suspiciously like a traffic baiting article - I totally understand the needs for page views to boost revenue and I like the idea of this article buuuuuut it'd have been more interesting if this was a comparison based review rather than "look at this, read our existing reviews"

NotOverlyConvinced

October 14, 2013, 1:10 pm

I wonder if the MotoX and the Lumia 1020 were considered... I have a nexus 4, but i have to admit that i really like Nokia. Bit sad we never got to see a Nokidroid. MotoX i think goes another way entirely, and seems that Motorola are realizing that software is as important (if not more so) than specs on higher end phones.

uffe

October 16, 2013, 9:08 am

How come Trustedreviews always goes to great lengths to exclude really interesting new technology in smartphones? Last year it was nokia 808 pureview and this year it is Lumia 1020.

Evan

October 16, 2013, 9:02 pm

The Nokia 808 Pureview was an innovative camera but we had two sent to us and both stopped working during testing so we couldn't actually review it, then it wasn't actually available anywhere. The Nokia 1020 is interesting and has its strengths however it's just not quite on par with the others in this list. Read our full review http://www.trustedreviews.com/...

Evan

October 17, 2013, 12:14 pm

You're right this list does not have a "winner" it's just the best phones we've reviewed in the last 12 months. Disagree with you re the HTC One though, it's still one of the best phones out there.

Evan

October 18, 2013, 11:12 am

Can you send us a picture when you do? Sounds awesome!

Peter Schmid

October 25, 2013, 7:19 pm

Hello Sam, same to me, my S4 had a hairline crack inside the screen two weeks
after purchasing and Samsung does not accept it as warranty case. I always had the phone in a cover, never sat on it and have the feeling to be left out in the rain because the phone is now completely useless because the display has gone as well. I suspect that the deficiency originated from a overheating of the battery.

Ryan

October 26, 2013, 10:29 pm

Samsung phones are completely overrated and cheaply made. HTC, Sony, LG, Nokia and Apple over a Samsung any day.

junior

October 26, 2013, 11:33 pm

I respect everyones pinion on various phones but to me the Sony Xperia Z is awesome best music player sound quality Just need a Bluetooth speaker you will notice how awesome it is in sound quality battery life is number one you have to see to beleive

Ram

October 30, 2013, 8:01 am

iPhone 5C does not really deserve to be in the list at all...How does it fit here...It is going to be scrapped very soon....

Ben

November 4, 2013, 1:35 am

You do not sound truthful Ryan, I maintain that Samsung is still best thing to happen to the smartphone business world. I own a Sony and an HTC, I rate Samsung ahead of both. The galaxy note 3 is the best phone on earth at the moment.

Evan

November 5, 2013, 3:30 pm

We've restructured these to be ordered by grade now. Any news on the aluminium SGN3?

andyvan

November 6, 2013, 9:05 am

We'v removed it in the most recent update. It's a very good phone, but you're right to say it's not in top 10 right now.

Yunik

November 7, 2013, 4:29 pm

IPhone the best

comments powered by Disqus