Home / Product Round-ups / Mobile Phones / 12 Best Smartphones and Mobile Phones

12 Best Smartphones and Mobile Phones


g5 35

1 / 10

Reviewed by Max Parker

19 April 2016


Read full LG G5 review

Great in so many areas, but the LG G5's modular system misses the mark

Key features:

  • 5.3-inch, quad-HD resolution LCD screen
  • 16-megapixel, f/1.8 rear camera w/ a wider angle lens too
  • Fingerprint scanner on the back
  • Snapdragon 820 processor, 4GB RAM

LG has really tried to stand-out from the pack with the G5. It's new modular design means you can pull off the bottom and swap out the battery, but you'll also be able to add extra bits to the phone. The initial two are a DAC for improving the audio and a grip that gives you physical camera controls and an extra hit of battery. This system does damage the clean look of the phone and while LG claims it's metal, it doesn't feel as sturdy as the HTC 10.

On the inside though, it's a better story. The Snapdragon 820 CPU and 4GB RAM takes care of everything you throw at it, while the 32GB storage is assisted by a Micro SD card. Android 6.0.1 is onboard but it has LG's UX 5.0 on top. It's a little bit heavy, but it's an improvement over last year.

The two cameras on the back, yep two, are fantastic. One is a regular 16MP lens with an f/1.8 aperture and OIS, while the other is an 8MP wide-angle lens that's great for landscape shots. The battery should get you through the day and there's USB-C fast charging too.

Buy Now at Amazon.com from $444.99

At time of review the LG G5 was available for £529.

Our Score:



June 4, 2013, 7:18 pm

Samsung has a major flaw that they are trying to cover up. Their screens tend to develop a crack for no apparent reason rendering the phone useless. Has happened to me twice and a little search on the internet reveals it to be a problem with their entire galaxy line.

Benjamin Taylor

June 5, 2013, 2:41 pm

S3 at 3rd and S4 at 5th, somebody needs to lay off whiskey pmsl

Oshin Barua

June 6, 2013, 12:35 pm

We can expect that the lava mobile will come in this category very soon because it has launched very good smarts phone with latest features.

Emp Martinez

July 11, 2013, 6:12 am

I think Samsung galaxy s4 should be at number, Samsung mobile is best for me when it comes its features. Mark is right you must include Sony Xperia z.


July 16, 2013, 1:47 pm

Has anyone had problems with their Sumgung S4 camera, mine freezes and so does my galary.

Parikshit Srivastava

July 30, 2013, 7:21 am

I feel Samsung phones are over rated. Sony Xperia Z should be in top 3.

top mobile phones

August 2, 2013, 3:24 am

good info


August 17, 2013, 9:46 am

The bottom line is how many units of a model a company sell. Big HTC don't sell and that's why the company is struggling.

bad ass

August 27, 2013, 11:49 pm

yo yo yo this is bad ass's crue coming from me merking you

Ty Hub

September 24, 2013, 4:29 am

Lousy article! Not including Blackberry Z10 is not fair. The best messaging and keyboard for texting or what ever. If you use one, you will buy one! Guaranteed!!!


October 9, 2013, 5:37 am

wat about the Note 3????
its way better than the iphones and of course much better than the s4!!!


October 14, 2013, 10:28 am

This seems suspiciously like a traffic baiting article - I totally understand the needs for page views to boost revenue and I like the idea of this article buuuuuut it'd have been more interesting if this was a comparison based review rather than "look at this, read our existing reviews"


October 14, 2013, 1:10 pm

I wonder if the MotoX and the Lumia 1020 were considered... I have a nexus 4, but i have to admit that i really like Nokia. Bit sad we never got to see a Nokidroid. MotoX i think goes another way entirely, and seems that Motorola are realizing that software is as important (if not more so) than specs on higher end phones.


October 16, 2013, 9:08 am

How come Trustedreviews always goes to great lengths to exclude really interesting new technology in smartphones? Last year it was nokia 808 pureview and this year it is Lumia 1020.


October 16, 2013, 9:02 pm

The Nokia 808 Pureview was an innovative camera but we had two sent to us and both stopped working during testing so we couldn't actually review it, then it wasn't actually available anywhere. The Nokia 1020 is interesting and has its strengths however it's just not quite on par with the others in this list. Read our full review http://www.trustedreviews.com/...


October 17, 2013, 12:14 pm

You're right this list does not have a "winner" it's just the best phones we've reviewed in the last 12 months. Disagree with you re the HTC One though, it's still one of the best phones out there.


October 18, 2013, 11:12 am

Can you send us a picture when you do? Sounds awesome!

Peter Schmid

October 25, 2013, 7:19 pm

Hello Sam, same to me, my S4 had a hairline crack inside the screen two weeks
after purchasing and Samsung does not accept it as warranty case. I always had the phone in a cover, never sat on it and have the feeling to be left out in the rain because the phone is now completely useless because the display has gone as well. I suspect that the deficiency originated from a overheating of the battery.


October 26, 2013, 10:29 pm

Samsung phones are completely overrated and cheaply made. HTC, Sony, LG, Nokia and Apple over a Samsung any day.


October 26, 2013, 11:33 pm

I respect everyones pinion on various phones but to me the Sony Xperia Z is awesome best music player sound quality Just need a Bluetooth speaker you will notice how awesome it is in sound quality battery life is number one you have to see to beleive


October 30, 2013, 8:01 am

iPhone 5C does not really deserve to be in the list at all...How does it fit here...It is going to be scrapped very soon....


November 4, 2013, 1:35 am

You do not sound truthful Ryan, I maintain that Samsung is still best thing to happen to the smartphone business world. I own a Sony and an HTC, I rate Samsung ahead of both. The galaxy note 3 is the best phone on earth at the moment.


November 5, 2013, 3:30 pm

We've restructured these to be ordered by grade now. Any news on the aluminium SGN3?


November 6, 2013, 9:05 am

We'v removed it in the most recent update. It's a very good phone, but you're right to say it's not in top 10 right now.


November 7, 2013, 4:29 pm

IPhone the best

comments powered by Disqus