Home / Product Round-ups / GPS & Sat Nav / Best Sat Nav 2016 Round-up

Best Sat Nav 2016 Round-up


Garmin nuvi 65 LM

7 / 10

Reviewed by James Morris

28 April 2014

Garmin nuvi 65 LM

Read full Garmin nuvi 65 LM review

Key features:

  • 6-inch screen
  • UK and Republic of Ireland maps with lifetime updates
  • Safety camera locations
Offering a good basic set of navigation features alongside a sizeable six-inch screen, the Garmin Nuvi 65 LM is a sub-£150 sat nav that offers great value for money. Taken from the new Essential range, it features a menu system that should be familiar to Garmin sat nav users.  It comes with free lifetime map updates and includes Lane Assist and Junction View to help out at complex motorway interchanges. Voice commands come out nice and clear and while map refreshes have their sluggish moments it won’t prevent you from getting to your destination.

Despite the lack of support for live traffic or voice activation this is still a great budget sat nav that covers all your basic needs. If you are looking for a similarly priced sat nav with a smaller screen, the TomTom GO 40 is a good alternative.

Buy Now at Amazon.co.uk from £79

At time of review the Garmin nuvi 65 LM was available for £139.99.

Our Score:



September 20, 2013, 1:39 pm

So where does it tell me which is the best to buy?


September 23, 2013, 9:36 am

Hello there, i am struggling to buy a good sat nav and after a loong reasearch i ended up to this one. I went to the store to buy it and i tried there to put in some postcodes. I put in my home postcode but it came up different address and my address was also there with wrong postcode. When i tried to put in house number it wouldn't accept it and was telling me that there is no such a hous number on thar road!! Anyone has any idea what is this about? Thanks


September 23, 2013, 11:30 am

Hi Elena
I have a similar issue with my house and it has to do with roads changing without central maps being updated. It will take a while but maps should catch up with the new postcode. In the meantime I have found an address and postcode that actually shows my house's location and I provide that to cab drivers or people coming to visit so they don;t get lost.


October 27, 2013, 1:18 am

I ordered the garmin hud unit from Amazon. I got it last Thursday. I've been testing it for the last few days. I like it. I am not as distracted as in the past, when I had to look down at my phone while driving. I had this thought of me maybe running into the back of a stopped 18 wheeler, perish the idea. If this unit can prevent something like that from happening it is a good investment.

Freddie Headey

December 5, 2013, 8:48 pm

It would be good if you had a link to a chart showing features/price/need for smartphone.
Also some reviews of the £60 -£120 one I think I've seen from Halfords/Currys & info on what is missing on them.


December 7, 2013, 8:27 pm

I am looking at both TomTom via 130 and Garmin Nuvi 52LM as both on special at Argos for 99.99 at the mo. Use in Europe aswell as Uk but not sure which one is best...please can anyone advise? cheers


December 7, 2013, 8:29 pm

have the same problem...which is best for general use? Argos specials for UK and Europe at 99.99...Garmin or TomTom???? can anyone help?? cheers

Garmin by all measures

December 21, 2013, 4:45 am

I compared a newly bought Tom Tom device to a Garmin that is at least 6 years old and although the Garmin had some missing roads, the Garmin was better in every fashion without a doubt. The Tom-Tom had poor instructions and confusing directions during driving which many times giving incorrect locations and changing directions during a drive without notification.


December 29, 2013, 11:48 am

Hi, Can anyone help My wife and I are setting of to drive to Thailand from the UK in March 2014 and I am looking for a sat nav to use on the way as anybody got any ideas


February 28, 2014, 10:03 am

I bought my garmin also about 6 years ago, and had the same problems you are attributing to tomtom!


July 9, 2014, 9:08 am

Driving from the UK to Thailand ?! O.o
Is it worth of being visited ?


August 25, 2014, 5:58 pm

Whatever you do, be sure to update the maps database just before you leave.
These devices are always 2 years behind in road changes.
Joe F

Terry Pearce

September 24, 2014, 3:28 pm

I just want a satnav that turns down my stereo so that I can hear the spoken instructions.
I have a Tomtom Start 25 but I would be happy to trade up.


November 15, 2014, 12:39 am

I've just returned my via 130 to Argos as it said it had no maps and would'nt update after 10 months. Days scanning tomtom website and as a former computer lecturer I was stumped!?! 4 year old battery and tech!


November 17, 2014, 7:17 pm

Looking for a sat nav with low bridges, narrow roads, weight restrictions etc. Been looking at NozaTec 7 inch truck. Anyone know anything about this make as I have not heard of them before and they seem to be so much cheaper


December 10, 2014, 12:05 pm

I looked at Noza Tec 7inch I would like to hear from anyone with knowledge of them


February 26, 2015, 8:05 am

hi how did it go driving to thailand would love to do it myself


October 12, 2015, 10:08 am

Received an offer from TOMTOM in email. 18 months LIVE SERVICES for the price of 12 months. Purchased on 30 September, 2015. Downloaded and ended up washing up my device. Lost all the data. Contacted customer services on 01 October and today it is 12 October. Still waiting for any solution or refund. My advice to people, TOMTOM has VERY POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE, NO PRODUCT SUPPORT, BEST AVOID AND STAY AWAY. THEY ARE QUICK TO TAKE MONEY BUT TOO LAZY TO DELIVER.


December 15, 2015, 11:54 am

AVOID TOMTOM. All the physical bits feel robust and well made. The first time I tried to update my map the device erased the existing map and spent many hours trying to download the updated map. In the end I called tomtom support, who talked me through the basics and made me spend many more hours trying to download the map. I have spent a week now with a useless tomtom. I have spent hours on the phone to their support jumping through their hoops, and days and nights trying to download the map. I have repeatedly asked where I can send it to have it replaced but support always insist "don't worry, by the end of today it will be working fine". On day 8, I have been told that the current issue is that the newer map is slightly bigger than the old erased map and will not fit on the device any more. I need to add a memory card. I have a spare card to hand so, I am now waiting for my latest download attempt. 24% downloaded, 2hr 33mins to go....


May 7, 2016, 9:28 pm

I have both units. The downfall of Tomtom is their safety camera database and the My Drive connection for upgrades. Their safety camera database only seems to carry fixed cameras in the UK, no mobile unit locations.The Garmin Nuvi allows me to download third party databases, which Tomtom will not, and also gives loud spoken camera zone warnings.

Tomtom customer service is awful. The latest upgrades have nasty habit of destroying your units abilities and Tomtom just don't give a damn.
I am now after 10 years with various Tomtom units a Garmin fan.

Mark Packham

May 16, 2016, 10:19 am

I have a 2 year old TomTom XXL classic with 2Gb of memory. It will not hold all of Western Europe so I have to use MapZones. Beware, with difficulty you may be able to load 2 zones into your satnav memory, but you are not allowed to plan a route that crosses over from one zone to another, this has to be done on a computer. Do you want to carry around a laptop on holiday?
For instance you cannot plan a route from the UK to anywhere in Germany, the UK is in the Western Zone, Germany in the Northern Zone.
I am about to go on a touring holiday based in southern Germany in the foothills of The Alps, sadly Switzerland, Austria and Italy are in the southern zone so full route planning will not be possible while I'm there.

comments powered by Disqus