Home / Product Round-ups / Games / Best PS4 Games 2016

Best PS4 Games 2016


1 / 28

Reviewed by Brett Phipps

20 October 2016

Battlefield 1

Read full Battlefield 1 review

Developer: DICE

Electronic Arts has taken the explosive shooter franchise back to the filthy trenches of The Great War with Battlefield 1. In doing so, it has produced what is arguably the best game in the series for decades, boasting a truly emotional solo campaign and bombastic, long-lasting multiplayer.

The single-player campaign is a harrowing retelling of the infamous conflict through the eyes of brave young soldiers fighting in a war they have no place in. Unfortunately, it's over far too soon, a true testament of its quality that it left us begging for more.

Related: Gears of War 4 Review

Battlefield 1's multiplayer is equally as fantastic, providing you and millions of other players with vast, explosive battlefields to march, drive and fly across. The blockbuster action of previous titles is here to stay, and it's more pronounced than ever this time around.

Our Score:


No Fear

November 6, 2015, 6:48 pm

How the hell can you give GTAV a 10 out of 10 when this game is fucked up by placing gamers in bad sport lobbys.


November 8, 2015, 12:23 am

When you talk about Great games, it's pretty much GTA and Witcher 3 on PS4 right now... everything else feels underwhelming longer term.

I don't want to see anyone say Call of Duty, because that game is a joke when you compare it to actual great games.

Witcher 3 is nothing short of a masterpiece, sadly a lot of people won't even try it, because they're too wrapped up in this disgraceful era of run of the mill FPS games, to actually adapt and play RPGs.

One game I wish they'd release in EU/NA is Dragons Dogma Online... if it's anything like Dark Arisen on PS3, it will be a superb game.

we need more great RPGs on PS4 right now.

Andy M

December 28, 2015, 5:23 pm

I'm into both. I like the Witcher 3 and bought it because I knew it was known to be one of the most well developed and most rich games available, so thought it would be the best to use to explore the potential of the PS4. Saying that I also own Black Ops 3 and have all the COD series on PS3 so... I guess I'm just odd.


December 31, 2015, 10:08 pm

Why are you bashing on fps mutiplayers? You cant aim? Are you forever the christmas noob? People dont try rpg games because fps has a social aspect that single player rpg doesnt. Get out of your moms house and try socializing

Chris Facey

January 9, 2016, 11:56 am

Because the half witts that made it left out a campaign mode


January 27, 2016, 2:57 am

It could also be argued that some people don't need a social aspect to their games, bc their social life is separate from their gaming time.

Your RPG stereotype is a pretty by the numbers statement. It can also be said that FPS gamers sit in their mom's basement, smoke weed, and talk sh** to online strangers all day....but that would be generalizing all of them. Not fair, right...?

Dusty Donnay

July 4, 2016, 2:36 am

Socializing? Listening to a bunch of rugrats swear and disrespect you and everyone else is fun? I been there done that......Totally tired of online gaming........the limited conversation of 12 yr olds with teenage angst has worn me out for the decade!

Dusty Donnay

July 4, 2016, 2:40 am

GTA V is awesome! Bad sport lobby eh? Im sorry........ someone thought it might be more fun for others if you played with people more to your gaming style. The bad sport lobby isnt a problem.....its a solution! And it may be that someone ends up there who shouldnt be....for the most part.....its those who should be. Glad to have a referee.....too bad they're not tougher on the crap!


July 18, 2016, 2:43 pm

Just Cause 3 is broken on PS4. Massive slowdown that freezes the game. Do not buy it until a patch is made to fix it.

Simon Coope

July 27, 2016, 5:34 pm

I loved Just Cause 2, but played 3 for a few hours and part exchanged it, I wasn't impressed. Playing g the game hurt my eyes, 2 was better smoother and the water looked amazing compared to the crappy 3. But I'm seeing this with all console games of this generation, just doesn't do it for me like the last gen.

Simon Coope

July 27, 2016, 5:38 pm

Totally agree, its almost a chore deciding on what game to play, because unlike last gen, all these new titles are shit! If next Red dead redemption is crap I'm gunna smash it, and take up swimming 😥 If I had known before I bought my PS4 that next red dead wouldn't come out before another PS4 version console, I wouldn't have bought it, seriously. I'm just waiting and getting the same fucking games, skyrim, GTA sick of it buying the same bloody game, its like reading a book again but in a different font.

Simon Coope

July 27, 2016, 5:44 pm

Yeah it would be generalising, some live in their Grandma's basement too😁

Simon Coope

July 27, 2016, 5:47 pm

If it was set in the past say wild west or 1920 Chicago it would be better, but I drive around through modern streets, I don't want to come home and enter a world that looks same. Bring back John Marston or La Noir anyday played GTA to death on PS3.


August 9, 2016, 6:35 pm

dude I want to buy just cause 3, but manypeople are saying that performance issues. so should i buy this game or not ?

Patrick Philippot

September 30, 2016, 8:26 pm

could you stop arguing! both games have pros and cons, both games have their social love and hate, both games require skill sets that are needed to complete objectives and tasks, and both games have a fair share of bugs, community, social connectivity, and masterpieces.

comments powered by Disqus