Home / Product Round-ups / Printers / Best Printer 2016: 10 Best Printers You Can Buy

Best Printer 2016: 10 Best Printers You Can Buy

by

Epson Stylus Photo R3000

6 / 10

Reviewed by Simon Williams

16 May 2014

Epson Stylus Photo R3000

Read full Epson Stylus Photo R3000 review

Key features:

  • A3+ capacity
  • Colour LCD display
  • Direct wireless print
If you’re after top quality photographic prints and have enough cash to spend, go out and buy the Epson Stylus Photo R3000. It reproduces photos from small to A3 beautifully, especially on glossy paper and art media. Colours are natural, with plenty of detail in light and dark areas of images, while greyscale photos are brilliant too.
 
What’s more, it’s quiet, reasonably fast and costs no more than others of its type to run, at 2.7p for a black A4 text print and 9.4p for a text and colour graphics print.
 
Buy Now at Amazon.co.uk from £197 (newer model)


At time of review the Epson Stylus Photo R3000 was available for £699.

Our Score:

9

mrg9999

June 27, 2012, 4:21 am

Not very helpful. I would like to be able to seach based on type (laser / ink jet) and features like duplex as was teased in the intro. Next I find some of the reviews are over a year old.

tommylavie

March 18, 2013, 3:36 pm

My latest printer was a Canon Pixma MG8250 bought through Lefdal - a Dixon-owned company in Norway. I am not a heavy printer - but after 8months it just shut down and wouldn't work no more. I sent it in for service to Canon - and after waiting for 35days the message was that it couldn't be fixed. I was left with 3 choices - they could waste the printer at a cost of 450 NOK, or they could send it back to me for 700 NOK or repair it for 1680 NOK. They sad it had to be used wrongly. The printer had only been operated through wifi-printouts, so if Canon only produce printers that cannot do any prints, so yes - then the printer has been wrongly used. After a lot of forth and back-discussions - I did get the possibilities to get a new one.... this time I will try Epson XP850 and I hope this printer is built for printing...

Inbiz

April 8, 2013, 1:12 am

There might be some good info here, but I don't have the time to find it.
More filters are required i.e laser, duplex etc.

Evan

May 29, 2013, 12:19 pm

Try our search page http://www.trustedreviews.com/.... It might not have all the filters you are looking for but does allow you to search by price, time of review and brand.
Some reviews are a year old but that doesn't mean they're not valid. Printers have a long shelf life and typically manufacturers release new ones once a year or once every two years.

Jimmy Drew

June 6, 2013, 2:05 am

I am sorry but this seems to be a worthless review. I paid top dollar for a Canon Pro 100 and maybe after 100 prints it started just print in red. I did all the maint checks and finally called Canon. They offered to send me a refurbished one and I return this one that is only 5 Month's old or drive 45 miles to have it fixed. I drove the 45 miles and they told me the print head was defective. What??? 100 copies and the print head is defective. Why didn't Canon just send me a new print head? Remember I took it to a "Canon Repair Center" guess what, they didn't have a print head so I had to drive home and drive another 45 miles down to pick it up after 4 days. I love Canon but this really upsets me.

stromer

July 17, 2013, 2:08 pm

Evan - I agree entirely with mrg9999 and Inbiz.

Although I have in the past found Trusted Reviews invaluable when selecting cameras and audio separates, the vast numbers of printers combined with my inability to filter by function (laser, all-in-one, mono/colour, or even rating) means I am unable to use the site for selecting a printer.
Time for you to take this seriously, I think.

truewords

October 6, 2013, 7:33 pm

I would stay away from HP 3 printers all developed faults after 1.5 Years.
HP Printers are trash !!!!!

aom1702

October 15, 2013, 11:55 am

I hate HP - simply because their non-existant customer service support. They just bombard your computer with their software hoping to overwhelm you so that you dont dare to think about bothering them when things go wrong.
Why on earth, any company should have that many models of printer?

Is it rocket science that its going downhill?

si_

November 13, 2013, 8:01 am

I have had 2 HP 5520s in the last 9 months, the second a replacement under warranty due to poor photo printing. This one is actually worse but HP are no longer responding to me. Worse still is i find lots of similar comments out there and it appears HP are fully aware of the deficiencies of this printer. Unfortunately i read a review like this one which convinced me it was the one to buy!

rickpop

January 7, 2014, 6:42 pm

hi,since the late ninties i have used epson and have used them mostly for photos. i have just thrown away after seven years, a rx640, reset four times printed thousands of pics never used gen inks and as long as you use maybe once a week jets were no prob, scanner brill, also use the r800, seven years old, for best pics. invest in a ink potty and a bottle of head cleaner and your probs will be few. looking for a all in one again and it will be epson cheap ink, quality print and few probs. rickpop

ShameonHP

February 27, 2014, 9:01 pm

HP printers sucks! I just bouht a smiliar to this one, that got best in serveral test. What they forgot to mention was that it often stop working after just over a year. And this was what happened to me. Print system error. And that was that. A printer for 300$ stop working after 14 months. And no help or answer from HP what so ever! Their support sucks. So i word of warning, dont choose HP folks. They turn their back on you once you get into trouble with their products. I will NEVER buy another HP product EVER.

Joe Cool

March 1, 2014, 3:08 pm

I'll never buy HP again... ever. Expensive Junk.

Nev

March 21, 2014, 10:56 am

I agree with your comments regarding the quality of the new range of HP printers, i have just purchased a Photosmart 750 and it prints documents ok but all of the photographs are dark. This plus their very high cost phone line technical support that treats you like a complete idiot has insured that I never buy an HP printer again

100fishhooks

March 21, 2014, 9:23 pm

I am going to buy a new printer because my 5500 series HP has been nothing but trouble. Scanner is fine, but the printing functions are terrible. Uses ink like there is no tomorrow and the black ink cartridge is not recognized by the printer's brain 90 percent of the time. HP has no solutions, no customer service, and given the price of the printer, it just doesn't pay to try to have it fixed. HP has fleeced me on the number of black ink cartridges I've purchased and wasted before figuring out that the black ink problem is something that lots of people have with this 5500 series. I'm never buying another HP printer as long as I live. HP doesn't care about its customers.

Rod Krause

March 31, 2014, 6:02 pm

Good reviews of a few printers, but in my opinion, I've found Brother and Canon to be the best value for inkjet printing due to their individual ink tank systems and high capacity cartridges that can be refilled multiple times. Sometimes HP cartridges are not the best value for your money and while they are great quality, there may be something out there that works just as well for a lower cost. This seems to be the consensus in the comments about HP...

Here's a more general article you might find helpful when buying a new printer:

http://www.meninink.com/which-...

zax

April 24, 2014, 8:12 pm

Very true. Same bad experience i had with hp printers in my studio. Service is too bad. Printers worse. Whenever u replace a cartridge with original, it doesnt recognise that too after working for some hours. Since last 4 years i have discontinued using hp printers.

Joy Ward-Dockrey

May 2, 2014, 4:23 pm

I love my Epson too. Way better than HP

Kieran

May 3, 2014, 5:23 pm

In 21 years I haven't found a printer that "works". Plain and simple. The only printer that seemed to be OK was an old hp black-n-white inkjet printer from the early 2000's, even then it had its problems.

Gabor Maly

May 19, 2014, 8:13 pm

HP on the top of the list? You guys have never used an HP printer otherwise you would know they are notorious on black ink cartridge issues. I hope you are not getting paid too much from HP to write this review.

Tonio78370

May 28, 2014, 8:42 pm

Bought this printer about 4 weeks ago and really threw it out of the window this afternoon. All sites class this sh... top of the list and it's a complete disaster: messy driver, impossible wi-fi in short a genuine HP consumer product that no-one should buy. Google a bit and you'll see, buy something else if you don't want to lose 200€ as I did.

Dewi Gray

June 5, 2014, 1:21 pm

agreed, when i was in art college in 2003. I spanked about £400 on a HP720 photo printer. It was absolutely superb. We only stopped using it 18months ago and have since been through about 5 different printers. Non of them work properly. techniical problems, jamming etc. The biggest thing ive noticed is that as time has gone on the colour matching of all new printers is completely out. thinking about going back to medieval times and screen printing.

takemitsusan

July 12, 2014, 10:18 am

I am in the market to replace an HP 2210 I bought in 2000. That one worked! Still works but recently failed aligning cartridges and won't do copies until the cartridge is aligned. But 14 years, many moves, is good going I thought.

Chknman

July 23, 2014, 11:32 pm

HP is garbage. My last HP printer last just over its one year warranty.

Wendy Bevan

August 2, 2014, 8:53 pm

The best printer I have had was a Lexmark, it cost me £39.00 and lasted me eight years, then I bought a Kodak C310, which only lasted nineteen months, now my present one, a Kodak Hero 5.1, has just given up the ghost today, it was eighteen months old, thinking of buying a Cannon now, can anyone give me any advice please.

Owen

August 26, 2014, 8:48 pm

Wendy, had the same problem myself! Had Kodak and...never again! The best printer that I can see at the moment is without a doubt the 'Canon Pixma MX475' Look at the reviews and that should set you straight if its something for home printing.

comments powered by Disqus