Home / Product Round-ups / Headphones / Best Noise-Cancelling Headphones 2016: 7 of the best right now

Best Noise-Cancelling Headphones 2016: 7 of the best right now

Andrew Williams

by

AKG N60 27

3 / 7

Reviewed by Michael Sawh

20 July 2015

AKG N60

Read full AKG N60 review

Key features:

  • On-ear design
  • Active noise-cancelling
  • Passive listening mode
The ultimate commuter headphones, the AKG N60 hit all the right notes. The noise-cancelling feature is impressive, and they‘re also compact and comfortable. Though they’ll be an expensive purchase for most, we think the price is fair when compared to close competitors.

Buy Now at Amazon.co.uk from £199 | Amazon.com from $279

At time of review the AKG N60 were available for £230.

Our Score:

9

Nick Jones

March 23, 2013, 6:19 am

I've used Bose headphones for over 10 years. I upgraded to the 15s as soon as they were available & Bose gave me a 50% price reduction for trading in my old 3s. They really are the very best when flying long haul which I often do. They provide a world of quiet solitude in which to work & sleep & are incredibly comfortable. The customer support is absolutely top notch. Highly recommended.

Person chap

October 11, 2015, 2:13 pm

really? My bose headband starting flaking and looks messy after 2 years of light use.
Also the noise cancel can't be turned off.
Also the headphones don't standby if u forget it switched on. Flat AAA battery has happened a few times.

Aaron Pritchett

December 11, 2015, 7:17 pm

IMO the NoiseHush i9's are the best bang for your buck. Comparable to my Bose Headphones but wayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy cheaper.

Tomi Stallard

March 5, 2016, 5:51 pm

Hello Aaron. Any idea where I can get the NoiseHush i9's in the UK online? They look awesome. Cheers.

william smith

May 6, 2016, 11:49 pm

My Audio Technica ANC9's (not reviewed) are excellent, and I believe level with the Boses's. I have used them for a 75 minute train commute for over a year (so probably worn them for 600+ hours), they still and work like new, and I would buy another pair tomorrow if they broke. If you can, buy them in America, where they are greatly cheaper than in the UK.

Mark Stanbrook

August 2, 2016, 8:22 pm

Not sure how you can rate the QC35's over the QC25's. The 25's sound better and can be used to view video. Even with Apt-X (and even the low latency version which the 35's do NOT have) the latency is too much for video, games etc. The lack of a cable isn't worth the extra money, worse sound and other limitations.

I love the 25's so much I even bought a second pair when I found I hadn't packed them for a flight earlier in the year!

And they can be found for £230 from mainstream retailers while the 35's hold firm at £290.

I note all these sets apart from the Plantronics are in the same price range. Have you had a chance to test the Sennheiser Momentum 2.0 on-ear cans? They're also around £250 (with the over-ear version rather more expensive). I think I've seen them on this site. Don't they make the top 5?

Mark Stanbrook

August 20, 2016, 3:30 pm

I just noticed that the preamble says the QC25's won't output unless cancellation is turned on. That's straight up wrong. With or without battery they work with it turned off as a normal pair of phones.

Also worth diverting the battery scare tactics... I haven't changed the AAA battery in mine in over a year and I've had them on for 30+ hours in cancelling mode on flights and several hundred hours of non-cancelling listening.

Marilyn6325

August 23, 2016, 7:46 am

I currently earn close to 6.000-8.000 dollars /a month online. For everybody ready to do simple computer-based jobs for 2h-5h /a day from your couch at home and make decent profit in the same time... Then this job opportunity is for you... UR1.CA/pm79v

fdg6575

comments powered by Disqus