Home / Product Round-ups / Monitors / 13 Best Monitors in 2016: Best 4K Monitor & Gaming Monitors

13 Best Monitors in 2016: Best 4K Monitor & Gaming Monitors

Andy Vandervell

by

Asus ROG SWIFT PG27AQ

5 / 13

Reviewed by Edward Chester

13 November 2015

Asus ROG Swift PG27AQ

Read full Asus ROG Swift PG27AQ review

4K gaming monitor with Nvidia G-Sync

Key Features:
  • 27-inch, 4K monitor with IPS panel
  • 60Hz refresh rate with Nvidia G-Sync (Nvidia GPUs only)
  • DisplayPort and HDMI inputs, 2x USB 3.0

If you fancy doing your gaming at 4K then the Asus ROG Swift PG27AQ is the monitor for you. It uses Nvidia G-Sync technology to help smooth out tears and stutters, though this is only a 60Hz panel rather than than the 144Hz refresh rate preferred by pro gamers.

Besides this, the Swift is a rather good-looking monitor and the general image quality is right on the money. A 0.19 nit black level and 1,012:1 contrast ratio is good and it covers an impressive 99.2% of the sRGB colour space. Input lag of just 10ms is excellent for gaming, too.

The only serious problem here is having a PC powerful enough to run games well at a 4K resolution, and the hefty price of the monitor itself. Also, you must have an Nvidia GPU to use G-Sync.

Buy Now at Amazon.co.uk from £599.99

At time of review the Asus ROG Swift PG27AQ was available for £600.

Our Score:

8

Rick N

November 28, 2014, 10:31 pm

Great review thanks, everyone should get IPS panel because it's very affordable now, LG 22MP55HQ is great value option, it's IPS and HDMI ready

vectorious

December 15, 2014, 9:54 pm

What about best 1920 x 1200 monitor, for those of us who liked it? Maybe Dell U2415?

Prem Desai

December 16, 2014, 9:09 am

Good roundup with different sorts of monitors. Thanks Andy ....

LgKiholmen

July 29, 2015, 10:11 pm

Running 4k 60hz on the 32 Dell IPS panel from my MBPR 15 for 6 months now and never looked back. The only issue is that 32 is to smal for 4k. Had the Phillips 40 for 3 weeks. Fantastic desktop area, 40 is perfekt for 4k, but the coulors where unacceptable compared to the 32 Dell. The first company comming up with 40 inch with the same crisp screen as the Dell will at least have one customer :-)

GeeTee

January 19, 2016, 12:32 pm

One thing that never seems to get mentioned in these articles, but in my view is really important is to pick a screen with international standard VESA mountings so you can buy and fit one of the many monitor arms on the market. A monitor arm gives you easy height, swivel, angle and tilt adjustment as well as saving the space on your desk that the bog standard monitor stand supplied with the screen would take up. All monitor arms have “VESA heads” i.e. the plate where the monitor screen attaches by screws to the monitor arm. VESA is an international standard https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/... to enable monitor arms and brackets to be....well.... standard!

Most screens up to 27" are either 75mm or 100mm VESA spacing- all standard monitor arms accommodate both these. Bigger TV’s have various other standard spacings designed for larger wall mounted brackets.

Most monitor screens do have it but there has been a bit of a spate of screens from Samsung, Asus and others without them recently so it pays to check.

Since I started using an arm I would never go back - they last for ever and are a fairly small investment - particularly important if you are a twin screen guy like me to get their relative positions nice.

agooddecision

February 15, 2016, 6:17 am

"The first company coming up with 40 inch with the same crisp screen as the Dell will at least have one customer :-)"

They will have at least two customers =)
But seven months later, we are still waiting. =(

SixSixSix

February 29, 2016, 8:50 am

It's weird. Instead we have these brain dead 21:9 monitor with 1080p. I figure it is an intelligence test. Anybody leaving the store with one should be put on the Darwin Express..

Jean-François Gagnon

March 1, 2016, 5:03 pm

I share this view 100%.

pillybilly

March 12, 2016, 1:20 pm

"Windows users should probably avoid it – 5K doesn't work so nicely on Windows – but it's a great option as a second screen for any iMac."
A very thrusted review...
You are on my black list of stupid advertising sites...
Don't waste time on approving this, i will write how much stupid this site is on other sites.

Mark Stanbrook

April 6, 2016, 11:07 pm

I run 4k on a 28" screen. It's perfect, perhaps even a little large, for across-the-desk gaming. 32 or 40 inches would be far too large an angle subtended at that distance and conversely on a 28" screen the pixel density is higher making the image appear better. For CAD/CAM or something I can see more screen space being useful - though you can always use multiple monitors - I find a side monitor great for editing in Lightroom. But for your primary Gaming screen too big is a real thing, moving your eyes across to large an angle rapidly as one does becomes painful.

JRoyal

April 12, 2016, 11:32 am

Look at what NEC has, at least if color accuracy and contrast are important to you. Their H-IPS panels are pretty much the best out there.

LgKiholmen

April 15, 2016, 2:45 pm

Se are takling about two different things, I want desktop real estate, while you are not

comments powered by Disqus