Home / Product Round-ups / Monitors / 11 Best Monitors: The best 1080p, QHD and 4K panels

11 Best Monitors: The best 1080p, QHD and 4K panels

by

Samsung U32E850R

3 / 11

Reviewed by Edward Chester

30 July 2015

4K: Samsung U32E850R

Read full 4K: Samsung U32E850R review

Today's best deals

  • ebay

Huge 32-inch 4K monitor for reasonable price

Key Features:
  • 32-inch, 4K monitor with AMD Freesync
  • 10-bit PLS panel with 4ms response time
  • Height, pivot and tilt adjustment

No 32-inch 4K monitor is going to be cheap, but considering how much you could spend, the Samsung U32E850R is great value. And boy is it a great monitor for any occasion, be it work, entertainment or gaming.

While it only has a 60Hz refresh rate, AMD Freesync tech ensures smooth gaming sessions. The 9.57ms input lag is impressively low, too. Excellent colour accuracy, 98% sRGB coverage and a 0.09 nit black level are all pretty good. A contrast ratio of around 800:1 is nothing special, but it's good enough.

Combined with endless features and excellent stand design, it's a great option for switching to 4K.

Buy Now at Amazon.co.uk from £589 | Amazon.com from $986

At time of review the Samsung U32E850R was available for £899.99.

Our Score:

9

Best Deals for Samsung U32E850R

  • ebay

Rick N

November 28, 2014, 10:31 pm

Great review thanks, everyone should get IPS panel because it's very affordable now, LG 22MP55HQ is great value option, it's IPS and HDMI ready

vectorious

December 15, 2014, 9:54 pm

What about best 1920 x 1200 monitor, for those of us who liked it? Maybe Dell U2415?

Prem Desai

December 16, 2014, 9:09 am

Good roundup with different sorts of monitors. Thanks Andy ....

LgKiholmen

July 29, 2015, 10:11 pm

Running 4k 60hz on the 32 Dell IPS panel from my MBPR 15 for 6 months now and never looked back. The only issue is that 32 is to smal for 4k. Had the Phillips 40 for 3 weeks. Fantastic desktop area, 40 is perfekt for 4k, but the coulors where unacceptable compared to the 32 Dell. The first company comming up with 40 inch with the same crisp screen as the Dell will at least have one customer :-)

GeeTee

January 19, 2016, 12:32 pm

One thing that never seems to get mentioned in these articles, but in my view is really important is to pick a screen with international standard VESA mountings so you can buy and fit one of the many monitor arms on the market. A monitor arm gives you easy height, swivel, angle and tilt adjustment as well as saving the space on your desk that the bog standard monitor stand supplied with the screen would take up. All monitor arms have “VESA heads” i.e. the plate where the monitor screen attaches by screws to the monitor arm. VESA is an international standard https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/... to enable monitor arms and brackets to be....well.... standard!

Most screens up to 27" are either 75mm or 100mm VESA spacing- all standard monitor arms accommodate both these. Bigger TV’s have various other standard spacings designed for larger wall mounted brackets.

Most monitor screens do have it but there has been a bit of a spate of screens from Samsung, Asus and others without them recently so it pays to check.

Since I started using an arm I would never go back - they last for ever and are a fairly small investment - particularly important if you are a twin screen guy like me to get their relative positions nice.

agooddecision

February 15, 2016, 6:17 am

"The first company coming up with 40 inch with the same crisp screen as the Dell will at least have one customer :-)"

They will have at least two customers =)
But seven months later, we are still waiting. =(

Jean-François Gagnon

March 1, 2016, 5:03 pm

I share this view 100%.

pillybilly

March 12, 2016, 1:20 pm

"Windows users should probably avoid it – 5K doesn't work so nicely on Windows – but it's a great option as a second screen for any iMac."
A very thrusted review...
You are on my black list of stupid advertising sites...
Don't waste time on approving this, i will write how much stupid this site is on other sites.

Mark Stanbrook

April 6, 2016, 11:07 pm

I run 4k on a 28" screen. It's perfect, perhaps even a little large, for across-the-desk gaming. 32 or 40 inches would be far too large an angle subtended at that distance and conversely on a 28" screen the pixel density is higher making the image appear better. For CAD/CAM or something I can see more screen space being useful - though you can always use multiple monitors - I find a side monitor great for editing in Lightroom. But for your primary Gaming screen too big is a real thing, moving your eyes across to large an angle rapidly as one does becomes painful.

JRoyal

April 12, 2016, 11:32 am

Look at what NEC has, at least if color accuracy and contrast are important to you. Their H-IPS panels are pretty much the best out there.

LgKiholmen

April 15, 2016, 2:45 pm

Se are takling about two different things, I want desktop real estate, while you are not

Slam

May 9, 2016, 9:55 pm

Agreed, Macs are miles behind even mid range gaming pc's for graphics.

Luke

May 17, 2016, 9:39 am

It's talking about DPI scaling (known to be very bad in Windows - though may be better in 10, I am not sure)... it is not saying Windows can't handle rendering it.

polysix

June 6, 2016, 8:50 pm

"Since I started using an arm I would never go back - they last for ever and are a fairly small investment "

Agreed!

andyvan

June 6, 2016, 9:39 pm

Very handy they are, though a bit annoying in some offices when other people jog the table!

Henk Janssens

June 19, 2016, 12:23 pm

You don't know Windows 10 but still have something to say? Windows 10 is where it is best. Windows 10 does proper scaling. apple just multiplies.

Jordan

August 1, 2016, 11:08 am

This list is sorely missing the Dell U2515H. I picked up 2 for under £500 to use for hobbyist photo editing and general purpose. They offer amazing value; a real sweet spot for performance vs cost. Great ergonomics and 2560x1440 on a 25" monitor gives fantastic DPI without running into text size issues.

Tim Coleman

August 9, 2016, 11:08 pm

Thanks for the roundup. I'm looking for a 24in approx monitor, 4k not necessary. Primary use for editing so respectable colour accuracy desired. What are your recommendations for under 350GBP - cheaper the better! I've heard the ASUS PA248Q is good and the BenQ RL2460HT. Thanks.

BoBoBolinski

September 26, 2016, 3:50 am

That's why most pro image producers use Macs, they handle colour better than PCs. If your a kid who like games , get a PC, if you're an image pro, get a Mac.

RonRoyce

September 27, 2016, 5:01 pm

Really? Scaling on 10 is horrendous, when I tested a 4k display recently I tried the scaling option and text looked utterly horrid. It's even worse on the tablets and 10 got panned for it in every review I saw. So, unless you know something I don't...how are you scaling because Luke is right, the DPI scaling in 10 sucks.

RonRoyce

September 27, 2016, 5:06 pm

But IPS has a poor contrast ratio, typically 1,000:1. For desktop work that's not really a problem but there's nothing I like less than grey blacks in games.

TheoBenschop

October 19, 2016, 5:18 am

I hope it is allowed to totally disagree with you. You are saying what the Mac believers are always saying: 'the dull office slaves have Windows, and we, the socalled 'talentful' 'creative' ones, have a socalled 'perfect' expansive Mac.

But until sofar the socalled 'talentful' 'creative' ones with their socalled 'perfect' expansive Macs are of course never saying that the ones who are slave of one or the other socalled 'exiting' 'game' are kids who like those socalled 'exciting' 'games'.

Of course are most socalled 'talentful' 'creative' pro image producers using their socalled 'perfect' expansive Macs because they believe of course that those socalled 'perfect' expansive Macs 'handle' for instance 'colours' better than those dull PCs for the office slaves.

But most people are not worried of the expansive name of the things they buy, they buy something with any name on it that works for hopefully a long time, so that most people will not be so crazy to run to shops where they can buy the latest version of the socalled 'perfect' expansive Macs!

comments powered by Disqus