Home / Product Round-ups / Laptops / Best Laptop 2016: 13 of the best laptops right now

Best Laptop 2016: 13 of the best laptops right now


New MacBook 9

5 / 13

Reviewed by Andy Vandervell

12 May 2015

12-inch MacBook (2015)

Read full 12-inch MacBook (2015) review

Today's best deals

Ultra-thin and light 12-inch laptop

Key features:
  • 12-inch, 2,304 x 1,440 display
  • Force Touch trackpad
  • New "butterfly" keys
The 12-inch MacBook 2015 is up there with the Dell XPS 13 2015 as one of the best-looking laptops on the market. It’s ludicrously thin and light, coming in at just 13.1mm thick and 923g, clad in aluminium, and comes in grey, silver and gold colour schemes. Annoyingly, Apple’s got rid of all ports apart from the headphone jack and a new USB-C connection, which means you’ll have to buy an adaptor if you want to charge the MacBook and use a USB drive at the same time.
The 12-inch, 2,304 x 1,440 ‘Retina’ display is sharp and vivid, and surrounded by impressively thin bezels. This means that, despite the upgrade in screen size, the new MacBook uses the same-sized frame as the 11-inch MacBook Air.
Instead of the traditional “scissor” motion, the MacBook’s keys use what Apple calls a “butterfly” motion. This means the buttons offer less travel than before, which takes some getting used to. They’re also rather noisy. The keyboard itself runs from edge to edge, and the keys are large and individually backlit. More striking still is the new Force Touch trackpad, which doesn’t move, but uses haptic feedback to imitate motion. It also behaves differently depending on how much pressure you push down with, and we love it.  
Unfortunately, power and speed has been downgraded. The Intel Core M processor inside delivers similar performance to a MacBook Air of three or four years ago. Battery life stands at the nine-hour mark, which should still get you through most of the day.
Buy Now at Amazon.co.uk from £882.99 | Amazon.com from $1,079

At time of review the 12-inch MacBook (2015) was available for £1,049 / $1,299.

Our Score:


Best Deals for Apple MacBook (12-inch, 2015)


January 27, 2015, 12:33 am

what is the model in the image on the first page of this article?


January 27, 2015, 1:49 pm

what about samsung ativ (pro?) 12-inch ? a killer ultrabook am waiting for...


January 27, 2015, 11:22 pm

I think it's the LG Tab-Book Z160


February 9, 2015, 5:07 pm

no macbook air lol


February 9, 2015, 5:19 pm

"Best Laptop for Video Editing" -- was this category just an excuse to get an Apple laptop in the winners?


February 10, 2015, 9:58 am

They did say they did not recommend the Macbook Air because it's due to be replaced soon. And I agree it's probably worth waiting for the new one.


February 10, 2015, 10:07 am

I think the newly updated Dell Precision M3800 is also worth a spot here, either in the best 15-inch laptop or the best laptop for video editing category (or both). It can be configured with a 4K screen, an mSATA SSD + 2.5" magnetic drive (so you have a fast ssd + lots of space), comes with Nvidia Quadro graphics and some benchmarks show it to be even faster than the Macbook Pro in video editing tasks. The downside of course is that it's quite expensive. Still well worth a look if you're in the market for such a machine.


February 10, 2015, 10:09 am

The retina Macbook Pro is widely used by video editing professionals (perhaps more than any other laptop). And video editing is a clear laptop category (though maybe a bit niche, not mainstream). So no, I don't think it's "just an excuse"


February 10, 2015, 2:26 pm

Fair point as we liked the previous version. Will make a note to add it on the next update. :)

Our current review for reference: http://www.trustedreviews.com/...


February 13, 2015, 9:32 am

Thank you, fast_call, I shall investigate the Precision (but I bet it's a far from ideal LAP-top, it's probably a tank ;-) ). The omission of "Best Windows Laptop" from the Video Editing category makes me distrust TR - unless they can show me how to integrate a Mac into a Windows network so's to edit recordings made on Windows hard drives?


February 13, 2015, 10:01 am

You're welcome :)

It's not the tank you might think it to be. Here's a recent overview:


and here's the official dell announcement:


from the press release: "the world’s thinnest and lightest true 15-inch mobile workstation"... not sure about thinnest and lightest, but it's definitely not a tank. :)

Personally, I'm waiting for one with the yet-unreleased quad-core Intel Broadwell 5th gen Core i7, and I'll buy one

Joakim Larsen

March 13, 2015, 8:57 pm

I loved my MBP 15" 2013 Retina laptop for 10 months. I loved the performance, the software, the looks.

THEN... to my horror the screen started loosing its anti glare coating. And it continued. Today it has a big blank patch, around 20% of the screen size without coating right in the middle of the screen. It looks terrible and it is not covered by Apples one year warranty.

Many other users are having the same problem. Apple refuses to acknowledge the problem and calls it "cosmetic", explains that it is caused by finger grease and oils being transferred from the keyboard to the screen due to wrong handling and caused by wrong cleaning (even for people using Apples own microfiber cloth) and finally caused by carrying it in a bag - Apples top notch portable $3000 laptop.

Today members of the Apple Support Forums discussion thread and the Facebook group are gathering to prepare a lawsuit against Apple. Should you have the same problem, do not hesitate to join the discussions. You can contribute to the discussion thread on: https://discussions.apple.com/... and join the Facebook group: https://www.facebook.com/group...


April 1, 2015, 5:46 pm

You are wrong, the M3800 is 2 Kg.


April 1, 2015, 5:47 pm

There are a lot of better options for video editing than the MBP...


May 12, 2015, 11:52 am

any thought of the new hp spectra x360...is that out already ? stunning design, prime quality build, 360-degree foldable and touch screen, and great battery life too...forget apple laptops be it pro, macbook or air... this year is a battle between dell xps13 and spectra x360


September 22, 2015, 10:25 pm

I would stay away from hp. Bought an expensive top of the range hp laptop some years back. The screen kept going black in middle of using it. Spoke with customer service re this during the warranty period and, unlike my experience with previous computer company Dell, hp did not help me with the issue. I was just told to try this and that. When I contacted them with same and unresolved problem after the warranty period, I was told they would no longer help me unless I paid for service. I subsequently found out that hp were having issues with graphics chip - hp never once mentioned possible issue. I will never buy hp again!


September 25, 2015, 9:07 pm

I'd stay away from any of the Dell XPS's - way overpriced, and lack polish. I purchased the 2014 version. Camera is the worst - high def, but too bright and very washed out. Not way to fix it other to run special software in background. A real pain. Also disk drive is really slow, and though it has a 32GB SSD cache, it's only configured to use 16GB. The hardrive and SSD combination is super slow, seriously slow. (do a search to the issues surrounding this)

And Dell support - IS THE WORST!. I was on the phone for 45 minutes - just to get a windows disk (that, for this price, should be included). Another time, I was one over 45 minutes - and then simply hung up. Both times, the support rep. said "they were dealing with issues with their system". (and when I say 45 minutes, I'm talking a true - and timed - 45+ minutes)

Dom Reidman

October 12, 2015, 7:11 am

If I am reading the comments correctly...stay away from Apple, stay away from Dell and stay away from HP. Basically give up on using computers.

Dom Reidman

October 12, 2015, 7:15 am

that is a frightening story although it appears Apple is now replacing some of these screens under warranty. I was just starting to do my research on buying new MBP '15" but this is definitely giving me pause.

Update: Joakim it appears you need to email tcook@apple.com and send pictures of your screen. Most are getting their screens replaced now.


December 28, 2015, 12:37 pm

I love my thin and lightweight ultrabook Dell xps 13. It has a great classical design that will love every person, good battery (15 hours of autonomous operation) and 13.3-inch WLED-backlit display. Now my sister wants to buy it. Recently, I saw also good reviews about this model at the amazon and http://www.topreviews.best/mai... I agree with their opinion that it's one of the best.

Dead Words

January 14, 2016, 12:44 pm

There's a mistake on page 6. The Surface Pro 4 runs a Core M3 not a Core i3.


February 5, 2016, 6:17 pm

Why did you say for the MacBook Pro with Retina display 15-inch:

"Powerful 15-inch laptop that's great for video editing".
It only has a R9 M370X, which is similar to 950m. 950m is not video editing.
950m is just for mainstream and basic gaming on low resolutions.

Pradip J. Patil

February 17, 2016, 3:56 am

I found the laptop with the latest specification here, thank you

Pradip J. Patil

February 17, 2016, 3:57 am

I agree with you, I found the laptop with the latest specification here, thank you

Travis Matthews

February 28, 2016, 9:23 pm

Now grab an amazing discount on laptops only on BestTopRatedLaptops .com

comments powered by Disqus